We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at Tashkonak”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #68 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for four nights at this hotel, and would go back should we return to Istanbul. Whilst the room was small it was pleasant, the breakfasts were good, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good in that it was close to sights and to transport. The only point I would make is that the hotel has been moved from it's original site - it is now about 100 metres away but whilst there are directions, it could be confusing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sardi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel Tashkonak is situated just near the Blue Mosque, so location wise, it is fabulous. A five minute walk puts you on public transport. There is a myriad of local restaurants to choose from nearby for meals. All the main tourist attractions are within easy walking distance, again making it an ideal place to stay. There are quite a few local stores nearby where you can purchase nibbles and drinks, and the hotel provides an lovely roof top area with fantastic views of the Marmara Sea. Hotel staff are very obliging and provide accurate information when asked. Rooms are clean and reasonably large by Istanbul standards. Excellent wifi provision was a bonus.

Room Tip: With a mosque across the road, perhaps a room overlooking the garden may offer some insulation again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location is great: about 15-min walk to Aya Sofiya and Blue Mosque, about 40-min walk to Grand Bazaar. There are lots of places to eat nearby and we even managed to find a couple of places that were not too touristy. The taxi ride from the airport was about 40 liras.

Rooms are clean and very nice. We were on the ground floor, so we had no view except for the inside garden, and we had to keep curtains closed since people smoked out there.

Breakfast is good: some hot items (eggs, sausage), cheese, different olives, nice selection of cold appetizers (eggplants, etc.). Coffee, tea, juices, limited selection of fruits (oranges/apples). Terrace overlooks the sea and the roofs, beautiful view. Kitchen staff is very friendly, quick and efficient, always replenishing all foods as soon as it was necessary.

Front staff was also efficient and friendly. When we lost 200 liras in the hall, they tracked us down with security camera and returned the money to us, which we really appreciated, thank you!

Main issues for us were: loud (thin walls), bad internet connection and occasionally lukewarm showers. As to the sounds, we heard everything from our neighbors's room. They were not even loud, but because the walls are so thin and not soundproof, we could not sleep if they were awake. The sound is so loud that you can follow your neighbors' conversations, hear them blowing their noses or flushing the toilets. Needless to say, talking children, banging of the doors on the floors, staff cleaning rooms are even worse. Really loud. That might be an issue with many hotels in the old buildings in this neighborhood though.

Another issue was internet connection. It is free, but it worked in the room only on the first day and partially on the second and third days. Often we had to go to the lobby to get connection. Staff told us that it helps to disconnect completely/reconnect, but it did not help. They had to call their technician, which fixed it, but then next day we lost again.

Another issue is the water temperature in the shower. It was pretty inconsistent, one time it was just lukewarm water. Probably not a big deal if you are visiting in summer, but problematic in winter.

We got a great discount for this hotel (got it through one of the hotel discount sites), the location was superb, so we thought it was a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vg2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Tashkonak is adorable from the outside right in one of the cutest streets of Istanbul, a few minutes from the blue mosque and bang in the middle of the historic quarter of Istanbul. We had decided for this trip we wld avoid chain hotels and stay only at authentic 'experience' hotels. Tashkonak delivered on this in every way. Authentic rooms and decor (it's 3 old houses that have been renovated and connected) lovely authentic Turkish breakfast and kind helpful staff who try to recommend the best places to eat and see in the city. Loved it! It was a bit pricy so a word of caution - if u r the 5 star hotel type this is not the place for u - in a way it's much more than that... If u r looking to experience Istanbul and feel like a part of it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nekshaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights at the hotel, we enjoyed our stay here, and looked forward to returning after our tour of Turkey, It was one of the few places I went to were I could have a nice cup of tea ,the rooms were a bit small, but since we spent our days discovering Istanbul and went back to the hotel to sleep, it was alright. The staff is very friendly an helpful, and you can have breakfast on the terrace with a view of the Bosphorous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ndaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the hotel. The hotel rate included a pick up from the airport. The room was small but well furnished.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast was adequate if not exciting.
Fantastic location for sightseeing with good restaurants nearby.
Overall an excellent stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Be warned that the local mosque calls the faithful to pray at dawn. They use loudspeakers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is small, friendly and a great value. Free airport pick is available when you book from hotel's website plus discount when you pay in cash.The rooms are small and very basic but comfortable and spotless. The bathroom has only a shower stall - no tub. There is also no elevator. This hotel is close to most major attractions. Within walking distance to the major sights in Sultanahmet. Breakfast is good - lots of choices. Very quiet location. Nice artwork throughout the hotel is a plus!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#61 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#149 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,803 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing