We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Tashkonak Hotel at the beginning and end of a 3-week trip to Turkey, 4-5 nights each time. The rooms we had both times were very nice. Service was outstanding: The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful in providing directions, helping arrange transportation, and giving information generally. The location is great--a quiet neighborhood a short walk from the Hippodrome, Aya Sofya, Topkapi Palace, restaurants, and other sites of interest in the Sultanahmet neighborhood (including a bazaar that's smaller and more pleasant than the Grand Bazaar). Not far from the Grand Bazaar and Suleymanieh Mosque or Eminonu and the ferry docks either. We had a great time and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter: the hotel is across the street from a mosque. Rooms above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    441
    75
    7
    5
See reviews for
374
517
100
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Small rooms, but very helpful staff. Ideal for first time visitors such as us, with most tourist destinations close at hand. Breakfasts were OK. Evidently a place greatly favoured by German visitors at the time of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at the Tashkonak Hotel for the second time this June, and the staff was as friendly and helpful as I remembered them from 2009. Some rooms have lovely Ottoman painting on the ceiling, and all have TV and phones and AC. The breakfast buffet was very good, and seemed to have more dishes than I remembered from my first visit. The rooms were very clean , and the showers have been updated since my last visit.
I was a bit disappointed to find that breakfast is no longer served on the rooftop terrace, but in a new breakfast room on. the first floor which displaces the former garden, which had been a lovely shady place to hang out. Oh, well- if you can afford to rent the rooftop suite which displaces the previous breakfast area, you will not be disappointed. My friends stayed there, and it's marvelous!

Room Tip: Choose a room on. the garden side if you like quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank traveler32964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely hotel in central location with delightful staff who were always polite, helpful and willing to go the extra step to make sure that travelers were comfortable and well taken care of. Excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TP_SS_Resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Tashkonak is a smallish hotel, but the rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in traditional 19th Century Ottoman style. It has a charming atmosphere and the staff are all very helpful, but you need to be fit in order to negotiate the many stairs

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michaeldlightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiayi County, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently stayed there with out 2 girls. The staff was very friendly. We had arrived very early as our plane landed at 5:30am and we were at the hotel at 6am. The front desk, immediately took care of our luggage, gave us travel advise and maps, and offered us free breakfast for the whole family. After a short walk, the hotel is in a great location and is 5min walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. We came back and was allowed a very early check in. I don't know what more you can ask of an hotel. It is great. The breakfast is great, staff is fantastic and the location cannot be beaten. Great value for money. I would recommend it to any one who is thinking of staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsu125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

It was a wonderful experience the hotel was very quite and very compact. I really appreciate the staff and its central location. It's very close to sultanahmet tram station and a lot of site seeing around it. Best of luck

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Majid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#160 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#37 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing