We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel - pity breakfast is no longer served on the roof terrace.e”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful hotel - pity breakfast is no longer served on the roof terrace.e”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Tashkonak is a wonderful hotel where we have stayed many times. It is perfectly located in an old quarter of Sutanahmet ,in walking distance of many historical sights. The staff are very hospitable and helpful. It is just a pity that one can no longer have breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the Sea of Marmara with the Blue Mosque behind, as this was one of the very best features of this particular hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nickmcadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    446
    75
    7
    6
See reviews for
375
522
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lausanne
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was my fourth stay at the Tashkonak and I would definitely return. The location is in Sultanahmet, the historical centre of Istanbul, a stone's throw away from Agia Sophia and the Blue Mosque.The rooms are spacious, clean and have all the ameneties. Breakfast is plentyful. The staff are very helpful and kind. They suggested intineraries and were in general most helpful. Also provided is a pick up service from Atatürk Airport. Definitely great value and highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Thanks go to this hotel and the awesome staff for making our trip so easy! The room was perfect considering the price point-- 2 twins with good wifi, extra blankets and a powerful AC. Clean and simple. We heard no noise other than the sea birds and the calls to prayer. The staff are very helpful and kind (and multilingual). The breakfast was the best part, though!! Delicious!!

Location can't be beat!! But it is a little hard to find. If you're coming from IST and want to take public transportation, you will need 2 red tokens from the automated machines (4 TL a piece ~ $2 currently) Grab the red line train to the end of the line at Askaray. Switch to a blue tram toward Kabatas and get off at Sultanahmet. This is the heart of old town. If you are facing the Blue Mosque, the hotel is tucked on a quiet street to the left and behind the mosque. Streets are winding so it's best to ask directions from there, but any of the local shop owners are very friendly and more than willing to help (esp if you promise to come back and look at his carpets to sell haha). Bring a map to show them.

Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiova, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I spent 4 days in Istanbul at the end of June 2014 with 4 other friends and we were guests at Tashkonak. Everything was great an we plan to get back. They sent somebody to wait for us at the airport, we arrived at the hotel and we checked in in like 20 min. While waiting everybody was very kind to us, they offered us coffee and helped with information we needed. The rooms were cleaned everyday and they took care for us to have fresh water in the fridge every morning. We also enjoyed to have our breakfast every morning in the garden and then having our coffee on the roof terrace. What I can say for sure is that every time I will go to Istanbul Tashkonak is my choice for a hotel. Thank you guys for our time there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Tashkonak from the 17th of July.We arrived in the morning around 10.30 am,expecting to check in asap as we had a long flight.We were informed that the check in timing was 2 pm ,this was never communicated to us during our correspondences via email.We were also dismayed by the fact that they refused to offer us breakfast though we reached the hotel at 10.30,let alone breakfast,they did not bother to offer even a glass of water/tea until asked for.We were made to wait for close to one hour before we could check in.The rooms are neat and tidy but pretty small especially the bathroom was match box sized.They were aesthetically done up.
Another issue was with the refrigerator,it was out of order.It started functioning after complaining twice the next day.After all this we were skeptical about our stay.The breakfast spread was good.However the subsequent days were ok after considering the first day's experience.The major advantage of this hotel is its proximity to all the major tourist attractions,all of them are walkable,even the Sultanahmet tram station.
Over all we had an average experience,Nothing in particular to highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kjniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Tashkonak Hotel at the beginning and end of a 3-week trip to Turkey, 4-5 nights each time. The rooms we had both times were very nice. Service was outstanding: The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful in providing directions, helping arrange transportation, and giving information generally. The location is great--a quiet neighborhood a short walk from the Hippodrome, Aya Sofya, Topkapi Palace, restaurants, and other sites of interest in the Sultanahmet neighborhood (including a bazaar that's smaller and more pleasant than the Grand Bazaar). Not far from the Grand Bazaar and Suleymanieh Mosque or Eminonu and the ferry docks either. We had a great time and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter: the hotel is across the street from a mosque. Rooms above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Small rooms, but very helpful staff. Ideal for first time visitors such as us, with most tourist destinations close at hand. Breakfasts were OK. Evidently a place greatly favoured by German visitors at the time of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#69 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,156 in Istanbul
710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#74 of 1,156 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#132 of 1,156 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#97 of 1,156 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing