We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Hotel, good familial atmosphere”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #72 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Very good location in Sultanameth, quiet (except the call at 5 for the call for the prayer (but the same anywhere else in sultanameth). SUCH NICE PEOPLE (very nice, helpful, professionnal and thrust).
the breakfast is awesome! just great! good food, a lot of choice. I have been in a 5 stars hotel a week later for my job, and to be honnest I enjoyed better Tashkonak breakfast on the terrace withe view on the sea.
Very nice familial hotel with a good atmosphere. The bedrooms are a little bit too small, but it was not a problem for us, because we spent all the day visiting.
Good value, I recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eloise_870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed 4 nights at the Tashkonak Hotel in Istanbul - our first visit to that fascinating city. Well, I can recommend it unreservedly. It is small, friendly and clean. The staff are most friendly and welcoming, and will go out of their way to help.

It's in a great location - in the "old" city - right where you want to be to visit the Mosques and historical sites. It's down amongst a quaint maze of cobbled streets - containing a wide range of small shops and restaurants.

Your day starts wonderfully, with breakfast being served on the rooftop - with marvellous views of the Bosphorous. I can't think of a better way to eat breakfast!

I would certainly stay there again when visiting Istanbul again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freesoul09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Located within an easy walk to the main historic sites of Istanbul, the hotel is comfortable, nicely appointed, and has excellent service. The staff is ready to help at a moments notice but not overbearing. The desk clerk even helped us modify our sightseeing plans to be more efficient. The daily breakfast on the rooftop is delicious, and the setting is very peaceful with views of the Sea of Marmara beyond the surrounding rooftops. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oishiisan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We selected the hotel due to previous feedback on this site and it didn't disappoint. The staff were friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is ideally situated for all the main sites in the old city - 5mins walk to the Blue Mosque and all easily accessible on foot, as well as a tram stop if you wish to venture further afield. We also found plenty of good restaurants nearby. Wouldn't recommend the hotel if you have trouble with stairs - breakfast is on the roof terrace and some people may struggle. If you have time during your stay would recommend a boat trip on the Bosphorous & also Dolmabache & Beylerbei Palace as well as Chora Church are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaz1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Great place. Great people. Very hospitable. Very nice and convenient location. A mosque within 5 feet of the building was very nice. There is a very personal touch in this place. One of the very nice ladies even sat down with me for an hour to plan our day. the breakfast terrace is breathtaking, the staff is trustworthy, I cannot say enough about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halaljello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We discovered the hotel on the internet after much searching. We were tempted by the roof top terrace overlooking Blue Mosque and the sea, by the twin room overlooking the garden and by the reasonable price... but in fact we got that and a whole lot more. The real secret to the Tashkonak are the staff. From the moment we arrived we felt at home and relaxed. Hayati welcomed us into the garden for tea and gave us a detailed introduction to the city. Ali and Ramazan welcomed us back each evening with the offer of Apple tea and a chat about our day. We were last to breakfast but never hurried to finish up and on leaving for an early flight before breakfast I was offered a packed breakfast.

The hotel is in a quiet little backstreet in Sultanamet a few minutes walk from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque, small shops sell the essentials at the top of the road and restaurants and the rest of the city is just a short walk away.

The rooms were clean tidy and with lovely old style furniture and Kilim rugs no chintz in sight!

We would highly recommend a stay to anyone who likes friendly and helpful staff , great location and well managed hotel in the coolest city!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIGHTON-KEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed at the Tash Konak for five nights in August 2009 and loved it. The location is fantastic (a real neighborhood), the rooms clean, cutely decorated and well maintained, and the staff super friendly ... going out of their way to help.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stagapit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#78 of 1,160 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,160 in Istanbul
712 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#67 of 1,160 in Istanbul
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#55 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,767 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#150 of 1,160 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing