We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tashkonak? We loved it!”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #83 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2009

First and foremost the manager (Savas), and his staff deserve a special mention, they practically become your family in Istanbul. They are great fun, very friendly and genuinely care about the hotel guests. They are also very professional and totally efficient.

Everything is clean and fresh and the whole hotel is tastefully decorated. The rooms are lovely, breakfast is fabulous and tea in the garden an especially nice touch. Fast internet access is available in the lobby. We just loved it and would not dream of staying anywhere else if we go back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyc2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
There are newer reviews for Tashkonak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2009

This hotel is an excellent choice for staying in Istanbul. The location is amazing - 10 mins to tons of sites and also the Sultanhamet tram. The breakfast in the morning was great and the view for breakfast was unbeatable. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. The guys at the front desk were always available for help, and had great tips for seeing the city. The rooms are pleasant, a tad small, but overall great. We stayed there 5 nights and I would definitely stay there again. Next time I would try and get a room overlooking the garden - the street noise is a little loud at times - but certainly nothing that would deter me from staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyguy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My wife , daughter and I spent three nights in mid October for our second stay at this hotel. The hotel is ideally located near most of the major tourist sites in Istanbul. The room was small but clean and comfortable with a good shower and plenty of hot water. Breakfast is very well supplied and served buffet style with fine views of the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Miramar. The staff is friendly and helpful including the manager, a British expatriate who has all the information you need about Istanbul. We especially enjoyed the bosky courtyard where you can relax with a cup of tea and plan your evening sightseeing or perhaps contemplate how those crafty taxi drivers managed to fleece you of your Turkish lira. The hotel may lack some five star frills but is an excellent value and is recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dogwalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We booked an 8 night stay well in advance, requesting a double room overlooking the garden, as did our friends who arrived at the same time . On arrival at 9pm we were allocated a double on the third floor which was extremely small with no clothes storage space so it would have been impossible to unpack and walk around in the room. Our friends we given a twin room on the ground floor but overlooking the street, not the garden. They got to reception first to complain! They were re-allocated a twin room on the third floor overlooking the garden, with which they were content for their 6 night stay. The only rooom still available to us was the one they had vacated, so we opted for it. It was not quiet. Although not a lot of traffic passes down this street, the refuse truck at 5 a.m with its orange flashing light and lots of noise was not welcome. The sound of the call to prayer from the adjacent mosque did wake us, but this was not a problem - it is a fact of life in a Muslim city.
Next morning we were told we would be given a different room (a twin) overlooking the garden which we accepted. We were asked to pack our things and the hotel staff moved our bags to the new room while we were out for the day. We were also told that we should not have been given the first room for an 8 night stay - it was far too small. All this could have been avoided with a little pre-planning, but it seems that rooms are allocated on arrival, not in advance.
From then on, things changed, and we could not have been happier. A bottle of Cava and a dish of fruit were left in our room by way of apology for the room fiasco -a nice touch.
Breakfast was a cut above other hotels we have stayed at in the Sultanahmet area and the staff were extremely helpful! Inan and Ali on reception were absolutely superb - always willing to offer a word of advice when asked. It was they who made this a nice stay in the long run. The manager was a bit anonymous but did come out to the car they had arranged (included in the room rate) to take us to the airport. This, again, was a nice touch.
After a poor start we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would recommend it. It is well-located in terms of access to the mosques and museums, and has several good restaurants close by. There is also a good laundry just around the corner, which we used as the hotel does not offer laundry facilities.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Provarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashkonak, Hotel Manager at Tashkonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel. We would like to apologise again for initially allocating one of our smaller rooms to you. Rooms are always allocated, subject to availability, as soon as we receive a booking according to length of stay or as requested.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights early October and are pleased that we did! The staff are what makes this hotel what it is with all the little extras like cutting fresh grapes off the vine in the courtyard and serving them to us whilst we had tea and then encouraging us to take them to our room to enjoy later!
The rooms are small and we had a cot in ours so even more so (book the tripple if you have children its much bigger) but beautifully decorated and spotless. The roof top terrace has great views and breakfast had a great selection of traditional Turkish and European food.
During our stay the staff went out of their way to find play grounds for us and even gave us directions to a shopping mall on a raining day. There is also free internet in the lobby for guests. One down side, the hotel is accross the road from a Mosque and our room faced it - so we all got up at 6am. When booking ask for a courtyard room!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I was in istanbul from Sept 25 to Oct 4. I had a hard time deciding which hotel to stay at. I wanted to be in Sultanahmet. A Turkish friend recommended this hotel and after reading the reviews on here I decided to book. The staff are great, friendly and helpful. I basically got exactly what I was expecting. I have no complaints but chances are I will stay somewhere else next time. I saw a few other hotels that did have nicer views and probably a little nicer rooms. I know I will pay for it, but I would like to experience something different next time. But this is a very nice hotel and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

My husband and I spent 10 days in Istanbul on vacation this fall. We stayed at the Hotel Tashkonak and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy the Old City of Istanbul on a smart budget. The hotel staff is so friendly, warm and helpful. Their warmth made our stay feel like we were at home in their beautiful, interesting city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DD-Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#67 of 1,161 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,161 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,161 in Istanbul
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#142 of 1,161 in Istanbul
484 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#59 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#22 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £24 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing