We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel With Warm Hospitality”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We stayed here for two nights and really loved it. The hotel staff is amazing, so sincere and nice and willing to help out with whatever we needed. Rooms are cozy and comfortable. Great breakfast on balcony with fantastic view. After a long day of walking around in Istanbul, this hotel was so nice to come "home" to, especially when the staff greets you with a cup of hot apple tea.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
There are newer reviews for Tashkonak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2010

Warm and Helpful Staff, Great Location, and Great Value
We stayed for 4 nights at first and loved the place that we booked for two more after a short trip to Capadocia. The staff made the hotel extra special. They treated us like friends, and they went above and beyond with their service. The location was superb -- just a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque in Sultanahmet, and a few more to most everything else. We had two different rooms, which, although not large, were beautiful and nicely comfortable for two people, and of great value. In fact, our stay included a buffet breakfast with a large variety of food to choose from. Definitely recommended for value travellers out there, or those who prefer a warm and friendly family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenfromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Couple from Göteborg
This hotel lives up to the description on its website. The pickup service from the airport was excellent and the staff were waitng to greet us when we arrived at the hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable and overlooked the pleasant terraced garden.
The breakfast room is at the top of the hotel and has a breathtaking view. It is a buffet with plenty to choose from. All the historical sites are just a short walk from the hotel. The manager was always on hand to answer our questions on where to go and where to eat. It really did feel more like staying in a home than a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anbrogio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed here as a couple 3 years ago and were impressed. We visited this time with our family and the staff and hotel lived up to our expectations.
The location is great at the rear of the Blue Mosque; all the main sites are easily accessible with a local tram stop that takes you easily to the Grand Bazaar, to the ferry point at Eminuno (ferries to the Asian side), or across the Golden Horn.
The hotel organises an airport pickup from both Istanbul airports.
Communication with the hotel by email was easy and efficient, this was important as our plans changed but our revised needs were willingly met.
The hotel is based in old buildings and some internal staircases will have to be climbed, but the view from the rooftop conservatory where breakfast is served and light evening meals can be taken is superb.
We suspect that rooms 107, 207 and 307 are the most spacious, but these rooms are to the rear and the call to prayer from the Blue Mosque is loud, if that might be a problem perhaps a room at the front may be quieter.
The hotel Staff are very helpful, provide sound advice if required and are all keen to ensure visitors enjoy their stay.
On balance a great little hotel, very Turkish, moderately priced, very comfortable, great location, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

From the minute we arrived we felt like we were greeted by family. Our triple room, although small, was cosy, clean and comfortable and became a welcoming respite from the cold, snowy conditions we experienced while there. Great location, in walking distance to many sites and around the corner virtually from the Blue Mosque and Ayaophya. The staff were considerate and caring. The terrace overlooking the Bosphorus provided a wonderful glimpse of wider Istanbul. Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful, and included in our price. Also included was pick up from airport (because we stayed more than 3 nights) and a discount for paying in cash, and free wifi which made an already great package even better. It is quietly tucked away but close to everything. It is well within walking distance to the Grand Bazaar, Spice Markets, Fish Markets and everything Istanbul has to offer. We thoroughly loved it and recommended it to two more friends who are visiting Istanbul this year. The lovely garden outside our window provided a magical view after a night of snow. Perfect.!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozbeffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

The Tashkonak is a decent budget hotel - clean, serviceable and warm with a plentiful breakfast buffet. However I felt the experience of staying there did not quite match the level of many reveiws. The room we stayed in was incredibly small, a single sized room masquerading as a double, with barely any room to walk around the bed. The clothes cupboard was tiny, so hardly any room to hang clothes if staying for more than 2 or 3 nights, and there was no extra storage which meant we were constantly falling over one of our suitcases on the floor. Whilst the desk staff were polite and helpful, this felt mainly superficial, with the objective being to relieve people of as much money as possible rather than directing them to what was actually being requested. The hotel reception also seemed to serve more as a front living room for the social lives of the desk staff rather than as a place where visitors could relax. I could not access my email on the computer, provided for that purpose, as the settings wouldn't permit it.
So overall I would say that Tashkonak is a good budget option, but not on the same level as a similarly priced B&B at home. Istanbul prices are still cheap in some areas, but beware Sultanahmet prices which are vastly inflated with a coffe out, for example, costing more than at home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashkonak, Hotel Manager at Tashkonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2010

We would like to take this opportunity to make a few comments about your review and your experiences while staying with us.
The Tashkonak is a family-run hotel and as such, the hotel itself is run like a home where everyone is welcome and treated as family members. The reception area is meant to be used as a ‘living room’ by guests and staff. In the summer, there are the terraces, the upper terrace with a wonderful view of the Marmara Sea. Guests sit and chat with each other or members of staff while they enjoy a complimentary afternoon tea. There is a dvd player in the breakfast room where guests and sit and watch a film or listen to music in the evening, or enjoy our evening set menu. During the winter months there is an open fire which make the room feel cozy and warm. Tashkonak is a place, just like home, where you can relax and talk. Of course, despite the relaxed and friendly atmosphere, Tashkonak is basically a hotel and does offer guests opportunities to book tours and restaurants as well as giving them ideas for days out that they can make by themselves. Sometimes it is possible that a question can be misunderstood and the wrong answer given. Usually, when a guest has problems accessing emails, one of the staff will be happy to assist in solving the problem which is normally caused by the different keyboard used here.
Finally, if a guest informs us that they are not happy with their room, then where possible we will try to move them to a different room. We do try to locate larger rooms to guests who are staying with us for more than 3 days but it is not always possible if the hotel is full. Our standard rooms are the same size as the other small hotels in the area.
We try to make our guests’ stay in Istanbul as comfortable and relaxed as possible, so that they feel they are staying in a family home and not just in a hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

From the moment I arrived, I was greeted with the most warm hospitality. I felt like I was a guest in someone's home, yet with the privacy and amenities of hotel. The staff was professional, helpful, and kind. The hotel was in the perfect location- within walking distance to the sights, yet tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Istanbul. The breakfast buffet every morning had enough choices for every palette. You cannot get a better value in Istanbul. The rooms were clean and cozy. I will recommend this hotel to anyone that I know traveling to Istanbul, and I hope to have the chance to come back and visit...soon!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeddawiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#147 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#23 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing