We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, helpful, clean - excellent view and location”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #68 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We visited Istanbul for 8 days and stayed in Tashkonak hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - especailly Hayati -
most of them have good knowledge of english (which is not common in turkey)
the rooms were always clean, and have the essentials, with private bath and small fridge for each room.
above all, the view form the terrace is wonderful.
th breakfast is excellent and very well served. You will have a superb mornign with a peaceful view of the bosphouros.
It is 5 minute walk from sultanahmet. you can visit all the old town walking (topkapi palace, ayasofya, blue mosque, arcgheologic museum, turkish and islamic art museum) and it is also close to the tram station, which takes you to anywhere you like (taksim/istiklal st; eminonu for ferry boat rides to princes islands and bosphour tours, and also to bus station (and then miniaturk - bus47) and spice bazaar from eminonu; topkapi statin for panorama 1453; zeytinburnu station then metro for turkuazoo -largest aquarium in europe; kabatas station for dolmabahce; beyazit station for grand bazaar)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malak_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

This hotel made our trip to Istanbul perfect. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. They made us feel totally welcome during our whole stay - including when we arrived at 4am! The free pick-up and drop-off to the airport provided by the hotel were very handy. The hotel is less than a 5-10min walk from the Blue Mosque and other main sites in the Old Town. Definitely recommend visting the Little Aya Sophya, which is close to the hotel. Breakfast was on the roof terrace with a beautiful view of the Bhosphorus - wonderful way to start each day!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NayLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed at the place 7 days and was very good the breakfast was a great saver and really good i'm recommending them to other friends and family that's going to stay in Istanbul, Turkey and i'll be staying with them again when I come back to Visit

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlsf415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Just returned from three wonderful days in Istanbul where we stayed in the Tashkonak hotel. The hotel is well located, in walking distance of all the famous must see attractions. Our room was spacious enough for a city visit. Most important it was clean, as was the entire hotel. The staff was friendly and understood what good hostmanship means.
The view from the terras is breathtaking and makes you stay at the breakfast ltable longer than you intended. We can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We had a great week at the Tashkonak Hotel in Istanbul - the location is wonderful, just minutes walk away from the main historical sights. The best thing was the quality of the staff. They were helpful, attentive (but not pushy), sensitive and we felt well looked after. They knew a lot about the city, where to go, and how to get around. They will help you book whatever you want - Do go and see the Whirling Dervishes at the cultural centre!!!. There is free afternoon tea every day, free wireless (plus free access to a computer and printer) and tasteful features and fittings. A great breakfast too. One of our party left her mobile phone, and the hotel sent a text to her son and posted the phone back really quickly. We would all go back there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My wife, friends and I stayed at Tashkonak in September 2010 during the FIBA World basketball championships. The hotel was very well located (less than 10 min from Blue Mosque), clean, with small but functional rooms. The service was excellent and very friendly - the front desk staff in particular was always ready to help with advice, directions, etc.

We had a wonderful stay with Tashkonak and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kizack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed here for the final three nights of our trip to Turkey and had a great time. The rooms were small but efficient. My room had a king size bed and looked out over the inside terrace so it was very quiet at night. It was clean and had a spacious bathroom. The staff are wonderful - every restaurant they suggested was enjoyed by all.

The breakfast was delicious and the view amazing. I really enjoyed coming back from a busy day to enjoy a cup of tea on the terrace.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OptimusEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#61 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#149 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,803 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing