We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like visiting family....”
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #61 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I've been in this hotel for 3 nights, more or less a last minute decision - but the best I've ever made. Its a nice hidden, rustic hotel. Everything is small and seems like a family business - what I like the most. Staff was friendly and helpful 24/7. I liked my room with its bathroom. Most I cared was hot shower and a heater, because I traveled in January. The breakfast was awesome. A little bit of everything - on the hotel roof top terrace with a beautiful view on Bosporus and Sea of Marmara and the other side with a view to the Blue Mosque (depends on where you sit). I had to check out at 5am in the morning and they even asked if I want some tea and a sandwich made because breakfast starts not before 7.30am. Its in walking distance of everything (well at least to Sultanahmet) and has a lot of good Turkish restaurants in the neighborhood. Next time I definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastwind78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

nice hotel surrounding with a quiet and nice surrounding.. a walking distance to historical sites.. our 8 days staying shouldn't have end so fast...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taza_Marlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Great location. Great staff. Nice rooms and building that combine the right mix of traditional elements with modern amenities. Daily free breakfast that is worth at least $10/person on a rooftop that overlooks the old city leading down to the Bosphorus. Amazing views of the sunrise. If we are ever in Istanbul again, we will stay here. No reason to look any other place. And the price, around $50/night, is just outstanding. Can't say enough about this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank istanbulnotconstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one week in December. I used the airport transfer service, which was excellent with free water and snacks after the plane journey. The hotel staff were all efficient and helpful. The room (107) was an impressive size for a city hotel, the bathroom was also a good size (albeit that the shower cubicle is a corner one so ever so slightly on the small side - although that does depend on how big the person is!). The decor was cosy rather than chic, it could probably do with a lick of paint at some point, but the room was spotlessly clean on arrival and cleaned every day without fail. There is free internet available, which is handy. The location is very good, close to all of the main sights, but equally on a quiet street so there were no issues with noise (even when the room is at street level) and I slept very well there. The breakfast was perfectly nice. Overall, the hotel is incredible value for money, it is not the most chic (if that is what you are looking for), but it is very comfortable, cosy and with good staff. If you do want something slightly more upmarket then I would recommend the Tashkonak Suites. As the hot water was not working properly one day we were given a key to use the bathroom in one of the suites. They are spacious, with flat screen TVs, a little kitchenette and, best of all, lovely big bathrooms with a bath and effectively a double size shower. In my view a suite would be well worth the extra few Euros if you can stretch your budget that far.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The staff, value for money and location are all excellent. It's very clean the rooms are nice and the breakfast is great. The staff will do anything to help you out. Lovely place.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katinkastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

First of all, we stayed for more than six days, so we were able to take advance of the free airport pick up and return, which was a lovely perq. The location couldn't be better, close in proximity to many of the main sights but also nicely tucked away. Great view of the Marmora Sea from the rooftop restaurant, where we enjoyed taking breakfast every morning. The outdoor courtyard on the ground floor is also a nice spot to enjoy a tea or a beer (assuming you've purchased some for the room fridge). The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed at Hotel Tashkonak on a recent trip to Istanbul. We were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel-- good location, friendly service, breakfast on the rooftop and good suggestions about the city. You will enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saradennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,181 in Istanbul
718 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#64 of 1,181 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#78 of 1,181 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,181 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#166 of 1,181 in Istanbul
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing