We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming little hotel close to the sites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tashkonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tashkonak Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Charming little hotel close to the sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

The Tashkonak is a friendly little place that strives to provide the service of a much more expensive hotel. It is located just an easy couple of minutes (3-4 if you don't stop to shop the little stores along the way) walk to the Blue Mosque and another 2-3 to the tram stop in Old Istanbul. The staff was always eager to help and assist in all matters. The room was comfortable, always clean and tidy and the size was fine for us as we were in Istanbul to be out in the city and not in the Hotel. However, it did include a couch sitting area in the room if we had wanted to stay in. The roof top breakfast area had a nice view of the Bosporus and the breakfast, included, was a simple continental buffet type with more than enough choices for us. We had an early flight back and they offered to make us a breakfast and deliver it before the kitchen opened.
If you pay in cash you get an 8% discount on the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    441
    75
    7
    5
See reviews for
374
517
100
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

This is a small hotel based in the old quarter. It is difficult to find at first and I was glad we used the hotel's transfer service to get us there quickly. The transfer service can be organised by emailing the hotel with your flight details and costs 25 Euros one way. The hotel is very well run, the staff on reception are very friendly and helpful and they will help you to carry bags to rooms - useful as there is a winding staircase and I didn't see a lift. We had a double bedded standard room which was functional and spacious - there was a TV with a couple of English channels and a fridge. The shower was excellent. Breakfast as others have mentioned was very good - the breakfast room is at the top of the hotel and has a lovely view over the sea. There's a good choice of bread, ham, cheese, olives, cake and different teas, coffee and juices. There is a mosque located near the hotel, so you will get woken by the call to prayer; although initially a shock to the system, I enjoyed the sense of being immersed in the culture. The hotel offers free internet access and they also offer free tea (no milk) in the mid-afternoon. The hotel is located about a brisk 10-minute walk from the Blue Mosque and other sites in the old quarter. I have no qualms about recommending this hotel as I think it's very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I've been in this hotel for 3 nights, more or less a last minute decision - but the best I've ever made. Its a nice hidden, rustic hotel. Everything is small and seems like a family business - what I like the most. Staff was friendly and helpful 24/7. I liked my room with its bathroom. Most I cared was hot shower and a heater, because I traveled in January. The breakfast was awesome. A little bit of everything - on the hotel roof top terrace with a beautiful view on Bosporus and Sea of Marmara and the other side with a view to the Blue Mosque (depends on where you sit). I had to check out at 5am in the morning and they even asked if I want some tea and a sandwich made because breakfast starts not before 7.30am. Its in walking distance of everything (well at least to Sultanahmet) and has a lot of good Turkish restaurants in the neighborhood. Next time I definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastwind78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

nice hotel surrounding with a quiet and nice surrounding.. a walking distance to historical sites.. our 8 days staying shouldn't have end so fast...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taza_Marlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Great location. Great staff. Nice rooms and building that combine the right mix of traditional elements with modern amenities. Daily free breakfast that is worth at least $10/person on a rooftop that overlooks the old city leading down to the Bosphorus. Amazing views of the sunrise. If we are ever in Istanbul again, we will stay here. No reason to look any other place. And the price, around $50/night, is just outstanding. Can't say enough about this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank istanbulnotconstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one week in December. I used the airport transfer service, which was excellent with free water and snacks after the plane journey. The hotel staff were all efficient and helpful. The room (107) was an impressive size for a city hotel, the bathroom was also a good size (albeit that the shower cubicle is a corner one so ever so slightly on the small side - although that does depend on how big the person is!). The decor was cosy rather than chic, it could probably do with a lick of paint at some point, but the room was spotlessly clean on arrival and cleaned every day without fail. There is free internet available, which is handy. The location is very good, close to all of the main sights, but equally on a quiet street so there were no issues with noise (even when the room is at street level) and I slept very well there. The breakfast was perfectly nice. Overall, the hotel is incredible value for money, it is not the most chic (if that is what you are looking for), but it is very comfortable, cosy and with good staff. If you do want something slightly more upmarket then I would recommend the Tashkonak Suites. As the hot water was not working properly one day we were given a key to use the bathroom in one of the suites. They are spacious, with flat screen TVs, a little kitchenette and, best of all, lovely big bathrooms with a bath and effectively a double size shower. In my view a suite would be well worth the extra few Euros if you can stretch your budget that far.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

The staff, value for money and location are all excellent. It's very clean the rooms are nice and the breakfast is great. The staff will do anything to help you out. Lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katinkastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#161 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#35 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashkonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashkonak Hotel

Property: Tashkonak Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Tomurcuk Sok. No. 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tashkonak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tashkonak Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - Old City. Our hotel 5/10 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Tashkonak has tastefully restored 33 guestrooms with contemporary decor in rich colours, hardwood floors and wooden Ottoman-style furniture. There are 2 Sea view Suite room on top floor with panoramic view and accessible terrace balcony. All rooms equipped with satellite LCD television, Air Conditioner with self controller, High speed free wireless Internet access (Free WI-FI), Safe Box, central heating, direct-dial telephones and minibar, Wardrobe, Towels, Bed Linen, Slippers. Bathrooms include showers, 24 hour hot water, hair dryers and local toiletries such as shampoo & soap. The hotel serve free buffet breakfast in the covered hotel garden on lobby floor from 07:30 to 10:30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tashkonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashkonak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing