We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shady hotel, horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Londres
Ranked #435 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Grab a drink amid the late Ottoman elegance downstairs, but don't expect any of the warmer aspects of decay to follow you upstairs. Nevermind the peeling wallpaper, cramped space, smell of sewage, or leaky shower, we were awoken every single night at 4 in the morning by slamming doors--draw your own conclusions about who'd be coming in and out, and checking in and out at such an hour on a nightly basis. I caution anyone and everyone from spending the night here. The concierge was somewhat responsive to our complaints, but the few euros he took off the price hardly compensated for lost sleep and overall creepiness.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kleps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments.

I want to apologise for any disturbance we may have occasioned. Please be assured that your valuable comments will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement. We look forward to having a second opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel has plenty of fading grandeur, and is a nice place to stay. My wife and I stayed in a perfectly reasonable room for 70 euro's a night, and were more than happy. The hotel is a block away from Istiklal Cadessi, so is very convenient, and the Tunel and hence Sultan Ahmet are close.
Breakfast was OK, but not particularly great, and the neighbourhood is noisy (from people having fun), but we were staying there the week of Ramadan, so there were probably more parties than usual.
I understand other guests have fussed about the lack of air-con, which seems a bit unnecessary: the fan in the room works well, and mutes the noise.
The hotel has a grand view of the Golden Horn from it's top floor, and you can have a very peaceful drink or 2 watching water taxis go back and forth.
I thought this hotel was really a pretty good deal, and would be happy to return. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Overall, I found staying rather charming, and I would recommend it to others. At the price, I really think it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhuzmeli, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Grand Hotel de Londres and your nice comments on Tripadvisor.

We are happy that you were pleased with our services. We hope to see you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.

Warmest regards,

Mehmet Hüzmeli
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Dating to a similar period to the nearby Pera Palace, this hotel has avoided being updated into international-style blandness. Apparently rooms are being gradually renovated, but we stayed in the cheaper, untouched section. Some elements are truly a bit wonky (make sure your door has a lock), your minifridge may not work, there is no air-con (electric fans are available) and the bathrooms are miniscule, but adequate, yet the atmosphere of faded elegance makes up for any shortcomings. The roof-top terrace has great views and breezes! The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is very well situated - close to Isticlal Caddesi, and a short walk to the top of the Tunel. I will certainly go back when next in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Front rooms appear to be the renovated ones, and have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fragglek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhuzmeli, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comments.

Your constructive comments have been already shared with the team with the aim to improve our services.

As you said we gradually renovate the old rooms and your comments will help us target better all those aspects we need to improve during this process.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Mehmet Hüzmeli
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I  have referred to Tripadvisor many times in selecting hotels but I am now having doubts about the reliability of reviews. I am amazed that any one can give this hotel anything other than a very bad review.

I checked in and then checked out again 10 minutes later.

Read the reviews that rate this hotel as "Terrible" they have it described accurately.

Beware!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

From the moment I arrived until the moment I left, the service was impeccable. Starting with the reception at the airport and continuing with the hotel reception. Just imagine, I left a wake up call, and not only was it right on time, but it was followed up by another from the operator and a last one from the hotel manager. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel staff -- all of them -- were the most friendly and helpful of any hotel I've every stayed. After a bad experience at Eklektik Guest House in Istanbul, it was refreshing to come here and interact with the staff.

The lobby and bar have a great ambiance, plus you're in walking distance of many cafes.

The room prices are also unbeatable. Some of the rooms are a bit shabby, but definitely not uncomfortable. We had a problem with the heater and staff immediately accommodated us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHappyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The hotel is very good. During our stay, infra-structure (I highlight the shower) and cleanliness were flawless.

Location is good, but it is bad; on the one hand, being in center Beyoglu is very useful to move around the city, and, in addition, it is close to great restaurants; on the other, the hotel is at a busy street, and traffic noise goes on when you are supposed to be relaxing.

Other bad bits is the breakfast, which could be larger and more varied, and the wireless internet, which is unstable and slow.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pedblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#325 of 1,181 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Beyoglu
Maroon Hotel Pera
Maroon Hotel Pera
#555 of 1,181 in Istanbul
19 reviews
Beyoglu
Mr. Cas Hotels
Mr. Cas Hotels
#413 of 1,181 in Istanbul
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Balance Hotel Taksim
Balance Hotel Taksim
#477 of 1,181 in Istanbul
46 reviews
Beyoglu
Sanat Hotel Pera
Sanat Hotel Pera
#375 of 1,181 in Istanbul
46 reviews
Beyoglu
Corinne Hotel
Corinne Hotel
#186 of 1,181 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Londres

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. No:53 | Tepebasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80050, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#293 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £34 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de Londres 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Buyuk Londra is one of the few establishments managing to survive from that era to our time. Passing through many renovations, the hotel still graciously reflects the atmosphere of the 1900's. With some of its rooms overlooking the Golden Horn and a lively bar, Hotel Buyuk Londra is the meeting point of many people – local and foreign- looking for something different and special... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel de Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buyuk Londra Istanbul
Buyuk Londra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing