We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Londres
Ranked #460 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you're looking for a prime location, great breakfast and roof top bar with great views of the Bhospherous at a good rate then the Grand Hotel De Londres is hard to beat.

Despite noisy nights from nearby Gezi Park protests and being subjected to tear gas the hospitality from the reception and bar service made us feel so very welcome to Istanbul !

The hotel is really comfortable and packed with loads of interesting memorabilia and the roof top bar has views to die for. The hotel is just a short walk from Taksim Square where all the bus tours start from or a 20 min walk over the sea to the old town or just 10 if take the funicular.

At night the immediate area of Beyolou comes alive and the Hotel is just so convenient for bars and restaurants and a lovely continental breakfast awaits you each morning.

It was grand !

Room Tip: The 50 euro rooms can be noisy at times due to construction work but they are clean, have functional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with our roof top bar, hotel location, breakfast and the helpfulness of our staff. I will gladly share your positive ramarks with our team.

We hope that your visit to Istanbul was memorable and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hotel de Londres.

Best Regards,

Nur Huzmeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights in May. We chose the cheapest room at 50 euros a night, so wasn't expecting anything luxurious. Requested a double room but received a twin, although that may have been all that was available. We pushed the beds together but they were different heights!
Bedroom was basic but perfectly functional, and the bathroom was small and a little on the tired side, but perfectly acceptable. Breakfast was decent, and the hotel also has a nice roof terrace where you can go for drinks.
Location-wise, it's perfect, just off the Istiklal Caddesi in Beyoglu and close to all the restaurants, bars and the action.
However, this comes at a price - our room was unbearably noisy. On Friday and Saturday night, it felt like there was a night club next door. We covered the window with a quilt to try and dampen the noise, and stuffed cotton wool in our ears, although this only helped marginally. On Sunday night, there was no music but instead the sounds of bins being emptied, until 4am!
It's a shame as the hotel itself is fun, "faded splendour" but nice, good bar etc. Unfortunately, the fact we couldn't get enough sleep any of the nights really ruined it for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very grateful that you took the time to comment your stay at Grand Hotel De Londres. We are pleased to hear that you found our location to be ideal for your needs and you enjoyed our roof terrace and breakfast.

On the other hand, we are sorry about the noise issues you had. Due to our central location, some rooms can be adversely affected by noise and quieter rooms can be requested at the time of booking. We shall be taking up these matters internally so as to make the best use of your valuable remarks.

We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome you again during your next trip in Istanbul.

Best Regards,

Nur Huzmeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The golden horn views are good, the location is good, the bar and entrance are atmospheric.But it could be a lot better. I prefer cheaper but more authentic, or more expensive but very comfortable. Somehow this is slightly in between. The room was nice and big, the deco hideous: 'Louis Farouk' with dusty frilly stuff everywhere, must have been redone relatively recently . The breakfast was uninspiring to say the least, a coffee machine and trays with forlorn vegetables and cheese slices languishing under the neon light. More to the point, it was in a bunker, absurd as they have an enormous roof terrace with splendid view of the city. The man at the desk was helpful in a detached sort of way, losing his aplomb only when it came to ringing, unsuccessfully, for the reluctant bell-boy. The plumbing is above average, which is a rarity in Istanbul; still a long way away from a power shower, and with those inexplicable shifts from hot to cold that have one cursing and trying to fine tune the dial to find that elusive 35 degree centigrade. But it is more than a dribble, which is a lot for water-poor istanbul. connections are good, and the area is fun. But not really the 'old-world' experience i'd hoped.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauficrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on your past stay at Grand Hotel de Londres. We are sorry to read that your experience did not reach your expectations.

Concerning the breakfast, we are sorry that we can’t serve it at the roof terrace due to the changes of weather. But we are working on this issue and hope to serve the breakfast at our roof terrace in summer time.

We want you to know that your concerns are taken very seriously and we are taking measures to correct the problems.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Nur Hüzmeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I spent six nights in Istanbul to celebrate my 40th birthday with friends who joined us from around Europe. We stayed at the Grand Hotel de Londres and absolutely loved it.

It is a bit run down in places. We had one of the older rooms that was nothing to write home about, but some of our friends opted to splash out a bit extra for the newly renovated rooms and these were pretty good. There is definitely an air of faded grandeur about the whole place, which we felt lent it an air of authenticity reminiscent of what we imagined Istanbul to be like back in the day.The bar just off the main lobby is worth a visit in itself, even if you don't stay at the hotel.

The location of the hotel was excellent for our purposes, close to all the restaurants, bars and nightlife, and a stone's throw from one of Istanbul's main shopping streets. If you're in the city to see the tourist sights (Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Grand Bazaar etc.) you may prefer to stay in Sultanahmet, but really all of the above are easily reachable by taxi or tram, or even on foot (about 1 hour walk) from the hotel, and we were happy to be in Beyoglu among the action.

The owner and his staff were friendly and helpful, and accommodated every request we had. When we were leaving I remembered half way to the airport that I'd left my laptop behind the reception desk. A quick call later and one of the waiters had jumped in a cab to get it to me at the airport still in time to catch my flight! It's this sort of personal service that really makes a place stand out in my view, and we thoroughly appreciated it.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are the ones that have been renovated and have the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJRPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guests,

The whole team joins me to thank you very much for your exquisite comments and for sharing your experience at Grand Hotel De Londres on Tripadvisor.

We are always very happy to welcome guests for a special occasion and to be part of good memories left!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for another visit again soon and wish you all the best for your 40th birthday!

Best Regards,

Nur Huzmeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

If you prefer to stay in a modern hotel, then you might not like this splendid hotel, which is full of character. If you don't mind that it can take several minutes to get any hot water, that the light over the basin doesn't work, and can tolerate the noise of traffic and late night drinkers, then you will love this place. You will feel as though you have just stepped off the Orient Express into old-fashioned luxury. You will find friendly and helpful staff, a good breakfast (with a wonderful toaster which was surely borrowed from some museum), and a good location in the Beyoglu shopping district. Stay at the Hilton some other time. Experience the essence of Istanbul and give this hotel a try!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front, especially if you are staying at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled that you liked our hotel and thought the staff were friendly and helpful.

We are however very sorry that you encountered a few problems during your stay. Due to the central location, it can be quite noisy on weekends. We are aware some of problems you encountered and they are being dealt with.

Thank you for your kind observations and recomended us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Mehmet Hüzmeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The staff were very friendly and I enjoyed the atmosphere & decor of the hotel. There is a terrace bar with wonderful views across the city at the top of the building. The location is very central and a 10min or so walk from Taksim Square. The hotel offered very good value for money & I would stay here again if returning to Istanbul for a city break.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and complementing our hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Istanbul.

Best Regards,
Mehmet Hüzmeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

That being said, get a room here before this hotel is completely renovated - I suggest the Orient Express Room (view of the Golden Horn, balcony, plus AC - I hear the cheap rooms don't have AC). The nearby Pera Palace was once in the same catagory as the Grand Hotel de Londres, now that's been renovated and the rooms are quite expensive - I'd be staying there if I had the money. Walking into the Grand Hotel you are greeted by a sweeping flight of red-carpeted stairs...mirrors, gold leaf, heavy velvet curtains and crystal chandeliers are everywhere - it's like checking into a hotel in a spy thriller - be warned, Agatha Christie wrote about the now vanished Tokatalian Hotel in several works (including Murder on the Orient Express) not this place or the Pera Palace. Our room was huge, bathroom had recently been renovated - took a little time for the hot water to come up - and we had a view of the Golden Horn. The rooftop terrace is the best part of the hotel - hipster hangout for young well-heeled Stamboulis - if this was New York you wouldn't be allowed up there unless you greased some bouncers palm or were accompanying some supermodel and her entourage (again, if they renovate, and it's only a matter of time, the rooftop terrace will be practically impossible to crash). The noise in the district is something to consider - the pedestrianized Istiklal Caddesi is right behind it and it's a nonstop party, a veritable carnival of up-all-nighters, but at least you will be steps away from the restaurants and the shops. Overall, the staff was cool, the rooms were clean, and we always had fresh towels. I'd definitely recommend staying here if you are into a historical hotel - albeit one that has seen better days, but the glamor is still there, even if it's a bit faded. Make sure you check out the parrot in the grand salon!

Room Tip: Orient Express Room all the way - splurge before this hotel gets outrageously expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Versus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet H, Manager at Grand Hotel de Londres, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and complementing our hotel. It is amazing to know that you had an enjoyable time with us.

I will share your kind comments with the rest of the team.

We gradually renovate the old rooms and we make a sincere effort to keep our prices reasonable.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best Regards,

Mehmet Hüzmeli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#362 of 1,163 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Beyoglu
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#556 of 1,163 in Istanbul
55 reviews
Beyoglu
Troya Hotel
Troya Hotel
#258 of 1,163 in Istanbul
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#177 of 1,163 in Istanbul
190 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#508 of 1,163 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Antique Hotel
Galata Antique Hotel
#505 of 1,163 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Londres

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. No:53 | Tepebasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80050, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#311 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £33 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de Londres 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Buyuk Londra is one of the few establishments managing to survive from that era to our time. Passing through many renovations, the hotel still graciously reflects the atmosphere of the 1900's. With some of its rooms overlooking the Golden Horn and a lively bar, Hotel Buyuk Londra is the meeting point of many people – local and foreign- looking for something different and special... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel de Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buyuk Londra Istanbul
Buyuk Londra Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing