We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss to visit it!...”

Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.16*
and up
A Fully Guided Afternoon Tour of Istanbul's Sights
Ranked #17 of 1,042 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
istanbul
Level Contributor
6,668 reviews
3,405 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10,056 helpful votes
“Do not miss to visit it!...”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This small but very good Mosque is located in a quiet neighbourhood of the touristic center,so easy to locate it.With its single minaret,it looks very exciting specially during the night with the illumination.Pls do arrange a visit to this one and do not miss it as it is worth to see it.Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank junior1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    226
    57
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sweet little mosque”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you don't like crowds do visit this one. I liked the interior and exterior. It's not far from main attractions so it's not even inconvenient to visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanimir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
320 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Beautifull & peaceful!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was the first place we visited on our day tour of the Old City & it was the only place that was quiet & where one could gaze at the beauty of the architecture without crowds of people. This little church was built just before Aya Sophia & was originally covered with gold mosaics, like its big cousin! These were removed by the Ottomans but the graceful lines of the dome & marble columns still make it a place of great beauty. Well worth a visit & a chance to relax far from the madding crowd in the garden.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
361 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Small but priceless”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Any travel book will tell you about Aya Sofia, the huge byzantine church that was converted to a mosque and is now a museum. Good travel books will probably drop a few lines about the existence of this much smaller church from the same period that now operates as a mosque.

Little Ayasofia (küçük ayasofia) is a much smaller temple but its interior is better conserved - you can look at the inscriptions in Greek. The church has an octogonal plan with beautiful columns and wall paintings, and a gallery that provides a great view from a different angle.

It is interesting to see how the mirhab (the central piece where the faithful offer their prayers) had been built. Since the church was built without Mecca in mind and the mirhab has to be oriented towards Mecca, the solution was to place it off center.

Little Ayasofia (küçük ayasofia) is located in the Sultanahmed region but removed from the main attractions around its larger sister. No tour buses seem to stop there so you can enjoy a quiet visit. The blocks around the church are a nice place to walk and relax, away from the stressful movement of tourists and street vendors elsewhere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank R_TheReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Little Ayasofya is a Little Gem!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just stumbled upon this as it was quite close to our hotel and it really is a little gem. Just like the last reviewer, I agree a very calm place and hardly any other tourists. You can really take your time, it is fantastic!

Then, just outside is a little courtyard with a few shops. We loved the hand printing shop - but right next door is a very special jewellery shop. It has the most unusual beautiful handmade jewellery and is not expensive. I bought the most precious ring there and everybody I have shown it to says it the most beautiful ring they have ever seen. I wish I had bought gifts for everyone there. He hand cuts and makes items out of mother of pearl shells - you have to go there and see. But even if you dont go see all the little shops, Little Ayasofya is a real gem!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus) also viewed

 

Been to Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing