We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny room but this hotel was perfect”
Review of Hanedan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanedan Hotel
Ranked #372 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed 2 night at Hanedan hotel and 4 nights at the opposite hotel, Peninsula. 2nd floor at Hanedan and ground floor at Peninsula, size of room at Peninsula was bigger than Hanedan, but both of them were just great for us. Staffs are super friendly, breakfast is also very nice, we thought breakfast at Hanedan is little better than Peninsula, so even we stayed at Peninsula, we went to Hanedan for breakfast. Wifi worked well, they cleaned our room everyday, thank you very much guys, we will get back to your place again on July.

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd floor seems brighter than 2nd floor at Hanedan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddoodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a great small hotel. My husband and I stayed for two weeks, one in December 2012 and the other in January 2013. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The rooms were super small but we managed to fit our luggage. Bedsheets were a bit old but that was not a problem. The included breakfast was too basic, but fresh. I specifically enjoyed the homemade jam they served! The staff, specially the two receptionist, were extremely helpful! I enjoyed discussing Islamic Turkish architecture with them! The location of the hotel is very good. Its only disadvantage was that it did not have an elevator. But, this is a tiny hotel, the absence of an elevator is expected. I recommend this hotel for singles, couples and families of maximum 4 members (because of the small family rooms)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hidayah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I travelled with my wife and two other couples to Istanbul and we choose this hotel because of the reviews I saw here and everything added up: the more than helpful and nice staff, the location (close to everything in Sultanahmet and if needed, by tram to Beyoglu and Galata), the rooms (small but with everything needed, perhaps a little bit hot but then there's the A/C), the breakfast (excellent, from the cheese rolls to the fruits, not forgetting the cheese and yoghurt), the safety, the cleanliness, the airport transport, all and all make Hanedan a perfect choice for those that do not wish to spend a reasonable amount and wish to stay close to the main tourist locations. Thanks to Mashallaj and Gekzin (?) and all the other staff which helped us to have an incredible time in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quirguiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I picked Hanedan hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and we couldn't have been happier. They arranged our pick up from the airport so we didn't have to worry about that. Istanbul seem very chaotic when you first arrive so I would recommend that you book their pick up service. The price for this service is also very reasonable.We checked in with Mashallah and it was a breeze. Our room and the whole property was always neat, clean and tidy. Service and staff were very attentive and friendly, and the beds were comfy. But don't forget that you are staying in a city where the calls to prayer can be heard everywhere - very loudly, so be smart and pack a good pair of ear plugs. Regardless of where you stay, in a country filled with mosques, you better be prepared. The windows in our room did muffle the sound a lot, though, so that's a big plus too.
The views from the terrace are to die for! Enjoy your breakfast before going on tours and delight your eyes with those sights. Btw, breakfast was very nice, with fresh fruits, pastries, breads, cheeses, olives, juice, etc etc
We loved that Hanedan is right next door to our favorite restaurant in Sultanahmet, the Cafe Rumist, so all in all, we were perfectly happy with our choice of hotel. We would go back.

Room Tip: The Hittite room has a nice layout and makes the best of the space available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hotel is located in the centre of the heart of Istanbul and Blue mosque, Aya Sufya, is just 5 mins walking.

There's a guy named Mashallah who is too hospitable, very friendly and will do everything out of his reach for you.

Just loved it and next time I'm gonna be staying at the same hotel...

Regards
Ahmad Ali

Room Tip: Pre-book the rooms atleast 10 days before as mostly all rooms are booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Hanedan Hotel for 6 nights. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and attractive. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet were delicious consisting of vegetables, fresh bread, hard boiled eggs, juices and served on the terrace overlooking the city. The hotel was extremely secure, as a courtesy they stored our luggage for 9 days while we traveled throughout Turkey. Masallah Sonmez (day) and Sezgin Baydag (night) provided us with accurate information on where to eat, how to go and when to go to the sights of Istanbul. I can't say enough about their service. They were great. Both spoke English well. They were a valuable resource. They order taxi cabs for us and always told us what it would cost and talked to the taxi driver at the pickup. I would recommend the Hanedan Hotel to anyone looking affordable clean accommodations with a personal touch.

Room Tip: They do not take credit cards. Cash only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landrover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

When someone asks me of a good example of great independent budget accommodations, Hanedan is at the top of my list. I did a lot of walking in Sultanahmet & appreciate the 'pretty' cul-de-sac. Rooms were clean and attractive. Staff was knowledgeable & helpful. Breakfast buffet was ample, well-presented, and offered with fantastic views. I wouldn't call it lavish (the buffet at the Four Seasons probably cost more than both B&B at Hanedan. I travel very light & like to split locations in large cities. First night was off İstiklal in the Londra Palace, which I also recommend. That cost more, had a threadbare room, no breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank _Nancy_Nancy_Nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#248 of 1,171 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#272 of 1,171 in Istanbul
620 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sebnem
Hotel Sebnem
#254 of 1,171 in Istanbul
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#492 of 1,171 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,171 in Istanbul
717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ocean's 7 Hotel
Ocean's 7 Hotel
#584 of 1,171 in Istanbul
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanedan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanedan Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi. Adliye Sok. No 3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#124 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanedan Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - the heart of historic Istanbul and the most convenient location for exploring all that the city has to offer . We are located on a quiet side street and have all of the amenities one may require including Private Bathroom, Air-con, Private Safe, Hairdryer, Direct dialphone, 24 hr Reception, free wireless, Laptop etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hanedan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanedan Hotel Istanbul
Hanedan Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing