We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Accommodations on a Budget”
Review of Hanedan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanedan Hotel
Ranked #394 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I found Hanedan Hotel thanks to a search for budget hotels in Istanbul - but nothing about it feels "budget." The decor in my room was beautiful, the complementary Turkish breakfast was delicious, and the front-desk staff were kind enough to chat with me for hours about the history and culture of Turkey. Honestly, I was pretty astonished - I'd never get this level of service at a "budget" hotel back in the States. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

The front desk at this hotel has the friendliest staff I have ever met. They go to great lengths to make sure that the guests have comfortable and happy stay.
Thanks to both the guys at front desk.
The breakfast is also very good. Although the breakfast lady could not speak English, she was very nice and accommodating (she made me a breakfast even though I was half an hour earlier).
The location is also great. All the historical places are walking distance.
The view from the terrace is amazing. I advise spending couple of hours early morning (at least one day) just enjoying the view.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timdascl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at Hanedan for 10 nights over the Christmas period 2013. We were centrally located for all the major historic points and not far from the tram to allow us access to a wider location.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful on every occasion. Booking restaurants, trips, taxis, hammans and just general advice.

Our rooms was spotless, and on the first night when our bathroom light bulb blew it was replaced in minutes. Our bed was made and bathroom tided daily. We had a safe in our room which there was no charge for too.

Breakfast was lovely, if a little repetitive if you are staying more than a few nights, but that is just a personal opinion. Nothing wrong with what is provided.

Only downside was the location wasn't great for a drink or a meal of an evening. We weren't looking for rowdy clubs or major nightlife, however it felt a little souless. It could have been as it was the Christmas period and things were less busy with tourists. However it would be perfectly fine for a long weekend or a few days. We noticed it more as were there for 10days.

OVERALL - Worth booking and staying, if we return to Istanbul in the future we wouldn't hesitate in staying again.

Room Tip: Ionian - which was our room, was overlooked by a dining room of another hotel, wouldn't be my fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

hanedan is very near the main tourist sites of istanbul. it's only a short stroll to the blue mosque, hagia sophia, topkapi palace. it's a further 15 min walk to the grand bazaar if you don't fancy taking the tram. i got a big room with a four poster bed with ensuite. the minor irritating factor is the automatic lights that come on in the corridor when movement is detected, the lights go off after a few seconds and it becomes pitch black and makes it difficult to open the door with the key. solution is to wave the hand to get the lights to come on again. breakfast is provided on the roof top, a simple affair. price is also reasonable so it makes hanedan a compelling choice for a guesthouse in a good location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank philiplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hanedan. The welcome and hospitality were outstanding in this clean and well maintained building. From here, walk up the hill to the Sancta Sophia (Hagia Sophia), Blue Mosque and the Basilica cistern. Catch a tram one stop to the burnt pillar (Cemberlitas) and the grand bazaar, or take the tram down to the Bosphorus where you can can catch a ferry and have one of the famous fish sandwiches! The Hanedan is in a fantastic location, with terrific staff at a reasonable price. We also enjoyed meeting other people staying there, who were friendly and urbane.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blissbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hanedan is a clean and well located hotel with comfortable beds and pillows. Staff is very friendly. Terrace looks over water, behind you is Agie Sophie and off to the side is the Blue Mosque. Breakfast is good. Coffee is weak. Very easy to get around from hotel. Rooms in front have the outside lights shine through, but it is manageable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Scdwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Ok so you cannot beat the location, 5 minutes walk from the main square in the old city and the tram that takes you everywhere else. This is a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay. The breakfasts are great. The staff is friendly and helpful for the most part - but have a sense of humour when talking with the front office staff, the occasional "off coloured" remark may come your way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#224 of 1,159 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#262 of 1,159 in Istanbul
617 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#140 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#509 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,776 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anadolu Hotel
Anadolu Hotel
#403 of 1,159 in Istanbul
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanedan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanedan Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi. Adliye Sok. No 3, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £20 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanedan Hotel is located in Sultanahmet - the heart of historic Istanbul and the most convenient location for exploring all that the city has to offer . We are located on a quiet side street and have all of the amenities one may require including Private Bathroom, Air-con, Private Safe, Hairdryer, Direct dialphone, 24 hr Reception, free wireless, Laptop etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hanedan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanedan Hotel Istanbul
Hanedan Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing