We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No right to be open during renovations”
Review of Sunay Hotel

Sunay Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunay Hotel
Ranked #1,095 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Check reviews carefully.Get personal recommendation.This hotel seemed OK but building work ruined stay Very dangerous condition of stairs piles of rubble dust and noise!!!!!!Management very unconcerned said 'we are making 5 star hotel I said 'now it is not even 1 star' They are not accepting any more bookings after Aug 5 but my stay from july 28 till aug 3 was a disaster Cost me 90 dollars a night and they would not give any discount!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The hotel is located next to a main road and the traffic and trams are very noisy throughout the night.

Our air conditioning was broken in one room. One of our windows wouldn't lock so we couldn't shut the room noise out at night.

The front door to the room would not close without a large level of force - that made the glass shelf doors outside shudder. When locked there was still a lot of give in the door when pushed hard - it didn't seem very secure.

Some rooms that other people in our party had, had electrical wires coming out of the walls. Apparently the single rooms are also very small.

The bathroom door was on runners. It had no lock - but worse than this it would regularly come off the runner. Finally, it wouldn't close properly, there was always a crack. The sofas, cushions, textiles were all quite nice, but the basic stuff was ignored, like a vent for previous airconditioning was sort of hanging off the wall. Anything above head hight shouldn't be examined too carefully.

We didn't have any major issues with its cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunflower186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

50 yards from Haselfi stop on the tram, a 15 minute tram ride to Sultanhamet for the main sights. But the promised air conditioning did not work, the place was noisy and dusty on a very main road, the service was poor and unobliging and the food terrible. There is a limited range of other places to eat and drink within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This hotel was terrible. We stayed on two seperate nights as part of a tour package. The first night was stifling hot and the A/C didnt work and street noise stopped us from opening the window. The second night our room smelled like an ash tray and the A/C didn't work or even have a grill over it, the barthroom was also filthy. The only thing good was at least the sheets were clean. The restaurant was terrible also, probably the worst food we ate in turkey. It is also a good 15 minute tram ride to the tourist hub of Sultanahmet where the blue mosque etc are.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3FLOFLOFLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An eurosun.de Traveller
Reviewed 19 January 2009
Google Translation

Thank An eurosun.de Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#761 of 1,159 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,078 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#76 of 1,159 in Istanbul
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#66 of 1,159 in Istanbul
505 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#108 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,635 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#63 of 1,159 in Istanbul
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunay Hotel

Address: Muratpasa Millet Cad No 30 | Aksaray, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,095 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 267

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing