We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even the sea gulls looked happy”
Review of Hotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Baron
Ranked #640 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel look newly restored, but that does not matter if the service is poor. We got a nice room with a great view of the sea, but after that everything went downhill. The air condition
did not make the room chilly, and stopped in the middle of the night. There is a swimming pool, but even as a guest you have to pay 30 Turkish lira to use it! The Internet only worked in some places, and quite bad even there. The breakfast room is at the top floor, but there is no place to sit outside in the fresh air. The sea gulls where gathered outside the breakfast windows, looking at you with their tiny eyes begging for something to eat. And being honest, they could have got almost everything they served for breakfast because it was almost uneatable. It was plate after plate with what looked like left overs from the lunch/dinner the day before. Cold dry chips and macaroni, wrinkled hot dogs and old mayonnaise with peas and carrots. The waiters looked tired and unhappy, no wonder with all that miserable food on the table. When we checked out the man at the reception hardly bothered to say goodbye.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Koben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were due to stay here for two nights, but found our booking had been cancelled without notifying us because the card used to pre authorise the booking failed ( card had been stolen and cancelled ). We arrived late at night after a long day to be told that the hotel was full and we no longer had a room. In fairness they did agree to find us a nearby hotel for the same price and help us to get settled. When we came back the next day the room was spacious and comfortable. After a bit of a sleep in we were a bit late to breakfast and what remained was luke warm and unsatisfying- but the view was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weatherlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It 's located 2 streets under the main road of the Beyazit area of Istanbul, in a narrow street. It says that it is a 4 stars hotel. It is fully renovated, with new furniture and new bathroom, but the rooms are too small and narrow for a 4 stars hotel. As I came with a group, I don 't know the cost of the room, as there isn 't any note at the door of the price. The hotel has a very good breakfast (this is really of a 4 stars hotel) served at the seventh floor with a nice view of the Marmara Sea. The hotel has an indoor pool, a sauna, a hamam and a gym. When I asked for the sauna, I was told that I have to pay 12 $ so as to use it and I considered it rediculous, as I have never paid such services in hotels... The hotel was very clean and there was a water machine in the corridor, so I was taking water from there (Instanbul 's water is not drinkable) and didn 't pay for bottles all the time. The beds were OK, but there was enough noise from the corridor when there were people who don 't understand that other pepole want to sleep, as the noise isolation of the rooms is bad. The TV was playing satellite programs from Balkan countries (except Greece!), but no Turkish channel or international!!! The area of the hotel is full of shops and there are a lot of people during the day, but in the night only a few are around and some people (not me) can be a bit afraid, especially women. The main street of Beyazit, which is near, is much better, and there you can find a lot of restaurants and other shops, open till late in the night. Very near to the hotel and on this main street of Beyazit you can take the tram to go to attractions as Ayia Sofia, The Blue Cami, the Top Kapi Palace, the Galata Bridge, the Agyptian Market and the Harbour. Ayia Sofia is a 15 minutes walk from the hotel (2 tram stops). Also very near to the hotel is the Old University. At one tram stop distance (Cemberlitas, in front of the Constantine Column) is the Cemberlitas Hamam, which is a traditional Hamam and for me the visit there was a great experience. It takes about 1 hour and a half to make the basic series with a 15 minutes treatment by an expertised man (the cost is about 28 Euros, the Greeks pay 4 Euros less). The women are treated by women. I show also 2 other Hamams around. For people who are interested in shopping, very near to the hotel (opposite to the Beyazit tram stop) is the Kapali Carsi (or the Grand Bazaar) with 4.000 shops, where you have to be prepared to bargain, as the prices are not matching the value of the things and bargaining is a custom in Turkey, like all Eastern countries. So the position of the hotel is quite good, and the hotel is OK, but surely it is not a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ST64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Baron Hotel is just 10 minutes away from Grand Bazaar. Also it is about 5 minutes walk away from the Beyazit Tram station so going to the other tourist spots is not problem at all. The hotel is location is very quiet and safe at night. There are a lot of shops around. The rooms are clean. The bathroom is small but adequate. The hotel's bell boy is very helpful although I had a hard time explaining some things to one of the receptionists are he is not fluent in english.
The breakfast buffet is really really good with lots of food to choose from. I do not like the juice though. It tasted bland. But the others were cooked well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Игорь Р
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank Maja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelus9913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Beyazid Hotel
#663 of 1,175 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Beyazıt
Antik Hotel Istanbul
Antik Hotel Istanbul
#449 of 1,175 in Istanbul
495 reviews
Beyazıt
Assos Hotel Istanbul
Assos Hotel Istanbul
#679 of 1,175 in Istanbul
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Samir Hotel Deluxe
Samir Hotel Deluxe
#343 of 1,175 in Istanbul
31 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#17 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baron

Address: Mimar Kemalettin Mah. Buyuk Tulumba Sok. No.4 | Beyazit, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyazıt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #640 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £49 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing