We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go again!”

Sakip Sabanci Museum
Ranked #24 of 1,042 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must go again!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our visit was far too abbreviated, and we must go again! The restaurant upstairs is absolutely wonderful, as well!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    103
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful gem”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was one of the highlights of my visit to Istanbul. I enjoyed the 1001 Faces of Orientalism exhibition, in particular the section discussing travel in Istanbul and the Simplon-Orient Express. The museum grounds are beautiful, as is the mansion portion of the art museum where the living rooms of Sakip Sabanci are open to the public. For the mansion portion of the museum, I would highly suggest taking advantage of the free iPad rental, which takes you on an interactive tour of the exhibits and artwork/calligraphy on display.

If you have time, I would highly recommend having lunch or dinner at the Museum restaurant, muzedechanga. This beautiful cafe features sweeping views of the Bosphorus as well as delicious, Turkish fusion specialities. Like the Changa branch closer to the city center, you can purchase attractively packaged lokum at this cafe.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank uaflyer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not worth the trip”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

the museum architecture is fine but if you don;t like institutional art I wouldn't recommend going there. You better go to the galleries and alternative art spaces around beyoglu, taksim, cihangir and even kadikoy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank amor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Classy and Amazing”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Its not just a simple museum, its a big complex consists of museum, restaurant, bar, gift shop and etc... and all of these are placed in a WONDERFUL garden.
Everything is so classy. The museum is in three floors and many exhibitions are holding there so it would be good to check their website before going.

Tips:
- Don't forget your camera (the garden is AMAZING).
- Go there on Wednesday ;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank S14v45h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A very classy place”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Mr. Sabancı 's gorgeous former residence was transformed into a lovely small museum that houses one of a kind collections of calligraphy, fans, paintings of Turkish painters, and Korans. Everything has been very tastefully arranged. The location is just incredible. It is well worth the visit. We drove to Kanlica, on the Asian side and parked our rental car there; had the famous Kanlica yogurt; then took the five minute ride on the Kanlica-Emirgan leg of the City's ferry service at 10:50 that cost 3 lira - this way we avoided the awful traffic congestion on the bridge as well as the road along the European side of the Bosporus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CPLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakip Sabanci Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sakip Sabanci Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing