We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub Hotel Istanbul”
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #34 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kyiv
1 review
“Sub Hotel Istanbul”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Sub Hotel is a lovely quiet place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Perfect breakfasts;-) You will definitely appreciate the stylish design of lobby and rooms. Good location allows easily to reach the most of historical places. The tram station is just a few minutes to walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    103
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
255
52
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The sub hotel was a pleasant experience from the moment we arrived at 1am from the airport. The staff are so friendly and are always going that extra mile to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. The location is great as it's close to the tram stop to get to the old town but also close to some amazing bars and restaurants just off istiklal cadessi, all walking distance home. The Turkish breakfast is amazing and very filling. My only negative comment is the noise in the alley at night, but I did get used to it eventually and slept through it. It wouldn't stop me staying there again though. The rooms are clean and beds are very comfortable. Thank you sub hotel for helping to make our time in Istanbul so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvillani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

“We absolutely adored this hotel. First of all the location is great, the tram station is very close, and by walking all the main attractions are maximum 30 min. The best Turkish baklavas are 3 minutes from the hotel, as well as some great restaurants! Decoration is very different from all the regular hotels, which gives it a special charm! Whenever you come back you will be offered with Turkish tea. Breakfast was tasty, variant and plentiful. Rooms are very clean and with high quality beds, they are also very nicely decorated, modern but with some traditional Turkish details. And the most important and the best feature of this hotel are the people. They are very helpful, friendly, thoughtful, and they are the main reason we would choose this hotel again, and again.”

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Superb location, could take a 15-20 min walk to many of the local attractions of Istanbul, or a short train-trasit if you prefer.
Design of the SuB is amazing. Sitting and relaxing on the Harbour Bed-includes anti-stress properties- at the end of day is simply magical!
Wonderful breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel. Hopefully we will be back. And lastly I have to tell you; The staff is on par or above any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Location is perfect, close to everything.
The only thing is if you are noise sensitive (like me) you might have to use earplugs like i did.
I asked 3 days before checking in to get a quite room, meaning no street side and they said no problem, when arrival we got a street side room while hotel was full, but the view was cute ;)
Overall we really liked the SUB, it's a cool place with a good vibe and definitely has is identity in a good way, and it's very clean!!!!
Rooms are on the small side but for the price in Istanbul you not gonna get a big suite in this area.
All the staff is super nice and helpful.
we will definitely stay again if coming back to Turkey on a low budget trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miksyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We just visited this little quaint hotel tucked away in Karakoy. It is centrally located within walking distance of trams and cafes tucked a street away. The hotel rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated with that you would need. The staff is amazing and may I mention Efeozki. He is extremely helpful and goes out of his way to make your stay memorable always smiling. Do not miss out on the delicious breakfast that the staff whips up for you with a cheerful smile. They arrange tours for you and make suggestions. There is not enough they can do for you. We needed a late check out and even though they were completely full they were able to arrange that extra 2 hour we needed before departing to the airport. We will definitely return and recommend this hotel to everyone. They serve free turkish tea and coffee all day long.
Glad we found this place!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at a different hotel before that was quite appaling and wanted to leave so we started looking for somewhere in the area. Thank god we came across Portus Hotel.
Had an absolutely lovely time there!! Everything was perfect and staff was very attentive and helpful. Area is great and one can walk anywhere. Breakfast has everything you could ask for and will fill you up for more or less the rest of the day. We would both go there again any time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#33 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#74 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#165 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#9 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#48 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Property: SuB Karakoy
Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing