We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub hotel review”
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #32 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“Sub hotel review”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Initially I would like to stress on the welcoming attitude of the staff  which made us feel at ease and provided all the information and guidance to someone who is traveling and unfamiliar with the city 

We came across this hotel from the reviews posted yet one thing made us hesitant was that some people stressed that the location is not good but as we came familiarized with the location it was in the center of everything where you would have access to taxis and cheaper means of transportation such as the metro and tram and more convince way we found that there is a mountain train that takes you immediately to istiklal street where all the action is happening 

The food was simple yet elegant, they offer a dish of the day for breakfast (which was a new dish everyday) including also good coffee and tea and a selection of jam, honey, pomegranate syrup and small salad 

Rooms were clean and made daily

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    103
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
256
52
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I spent in this lovely hotel 4days in May. Great service, close to the center, amazing bathroom, very very comfy bed :) I was very satisfied. The rooms are not to big but its enough for a couple. The best thing about this hotel is, that there is beautiful mosque within 2min walk so u can wake up hearing the call for prayer and u can go to pray there anytime too ;) For me it was a big plus...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noorika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring both sides of Istanbul. Just 2 mins walk from the tram to Hagia Sofia/Grand Bazaar or Kabataş (ferry to Princes' Islands) and 5-10 mins walk (up hill) to Tunel/Beyoglu/Cihangir (shopping & nightlife). The staff were very friendly and attentive, the rooms clean, modern & fresh. Breakfast was also excellent. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Sub Hotel is a lovely quiet place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Perfect breakfasts;-) You will definitely appreciate the stylish design of lobby and rooms. Good location allows easily to reach the most of historical places. The tram station is just a few minutes to walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The sub hotel was a pleasant experience from the moment we arrived at 1am from the airport. The staff are so friendly and are always going that extra mile to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. The location is great as it's close to the tram stop to get to the old town but also close to some amazing bars and restaurants just off istiklal cadessi, all walking distance home. The Turkish breakfast is amazing and very filling. My only negative comment is the noise in the alley at night, but I did get used to it eventually and slept through it. It wouldn't stop me staying there again though. The rooms are clean and beds are very comfortable. Thank you sub hotel for helping to make our time in Istanbul so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvillani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

“We absolutely adored this hotel. First of all the location is great, the tram station is very close, and by walking all the main attractions are maximum 30 min. The best Turkish baklavas are 3 minutes from the hotel, as well as some great restaurants! Decoration is very different from all the regular hotels, which gives it a special charm! Whenever you come back you will be offered with Turkish tea. Breakfast was tasty, variant and plentiful. Rooms are very clean and with high quality beds, they are also very nicely decorated, modern but with some traditional Turkish details. And the most important and the best feature of this hotel are the people. They are very helpful, friendly, thoughtful, and they are the main reason we would choose this hotel again, and again.”

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Superb location, could take a 15-20 min walk to many of the local attractions of Istanbul, or a short train-trasit if you prefer.
Design of the SuB is amazing. Sitting and relaxing on the Harbour Bed-includes anti-stress properties- at the end of day is simply magical!
Wonderful breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel. Hopefully we will be back. And lastly I have to tell you; The staff is on par or above any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#34 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#73 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#153 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#14 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#50 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Property: SuB Karakoy
Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing