We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool”
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #37 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Small hotels can be hit and miss but this one was definitely a hit. We found it very easily after catching a metro/tram into town from the airport at night. When we arrived we were invited to sit down for coffee and tea while the very friendly staff helped us with our belongings and checked us in. They introduced the local area on a map and gave us restaurant advice before helping bring our bags to our rooms.
Rooms are a tad on the small side but very comfortable and well equiped. They even had an ipod dock equipped clock radio so i could charge my phone and play my own music. hotel is clean throughout. breakfast was very nice.
We stayed for 4 days and the hotel's convenient location and facilities enabled us to thoroughly relax and enjoy our trip.
Only gripe, which was kind of our fault, was that my partner couldn't sleep well on the first night because of a noisy outside environment, but we later found out that it was because we didn't shut our window...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

As we had intensive time to visit the historic and touristic sites of the the city,we searched for a hotel in a suitable district which is qualified international standards.
Every thing was great. friendly staff were ready to support us. the Hotel design was talented. Also breakfast was suitable but not enough attractive.
The main problem was noisy neighborhood that the staff remind it was because of a traffic problem of Taqsim Sq. in those days. a problem was in the room toilet and they changed our room kindly in the same floor.
In our last day we reached to Istanbul modern design bienial very easy , as it was close to our hotel.
We prefer stay in this hotel in our future trip to istanbul.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I arrived to this hotel at night, coming from Izmir and had stayed in a huge hotel there. I knew this wasn't a big hotel but maybe we were expecting something a little larger. So we arrived, after being wondering around and asking people on the street how to get there. When we were in front of the hotel trying to cross the very busy street, the guy who was at reception came out to help us and greeted us warmly. He gave us some tips about where to have dinner that night. Our room seemed very small compared to the one we left in Izmir, we felt a little disappointed. Next morning when we had breakfast we began to appreciate being in this small but charming hotel. Breakfast was delicious! staff at the restaurant was super attentive and friendly. Everybody at front desk went beyond to grant even our smallest request. The room is indeed small, bathroom is small also but after 3 days of being here we didn't mind that anymore. Bed was comfortable and everything was impeccable. So we came to the conclusion that bigger isn't always better. Love the SUB! People really made the difference here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karla014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Beautiful touches all around. Breakfast - divine!

Not close to the buzz of the 'city' - however closely located to train station. Not ideal for exploring the city at night if you'd like to walk. Other than that - perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

"As we had 5 days in Istanbul we decided to go for something other than the usual hotel room. How lucky we were to find ourselves this fantasic little venue with a great atmosphere - as well as the usual comfy bed and bathroom in the most amazing area of Istanbul.


We booked a double room and in my eyes it was worth every extra penny. We were welcomed with a smile and complimentary drinks while our check-in was completed in a breeze. Up in the room, the manager's letter, some Turkish delights, art work, the so called "harbor bed" and a very unique view from our window greeted us. Nr. 42 was our room where we could see cats playing on the roof tops of the buildings across, underneath from us, we could also see a beautiful mosques (later we found out the late Mimar Sinan was the architect).

Every day after our return, the staff greeted us friendly, always open for a chat, willing to please. Our room was immaculate with high quality shampoos and soapsY day. Some days with little surprises which added a nice touch also.

We also really liked being away from the central tourist hub of Sultanahmet. Karakoyis still a central area but a little less overtly touristy, with a good mix of local and foreign residents and less persitant hassling from merchants and restauranteurs than we found on our trips to Sultanahmet and the surrounding area. It's easy to get around on the public transport and within walking distance of most major tourist sights. Five minutes down the road and you are at the beautiful Bosphorus having some tea, watching the cruise port or enjoying the delicious fish&bread from street vendors all over.


Altogether, this place met all our expectations and lived up to the reviews of the previous guests. Try it yourself."

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

It was a fantastic stay at the hotel SUB.it has wonderful design.the service of the staff was excellent especially the reception.especially the employee NIL was friendly and helpful giving information for the town
We recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSIOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We are working aboard a cruise ship as guest entertainers and happened across this quaint hotel very close to the port where the ship was docked. We, as most people working onboard a ship do, were looking for a place with coffee and wi-fi and found the sub hotel, we decided to go in and ask if they had wifi, the girl on the front desk spoke excellent English and was very friendly and welcoming as we're all the staff who work there. We intended to stay for 1 hour and ended up staying for 3, all the time we felt safe, we were not hounded to buy more drinks, the background music is very laid back, great American songbook music (Ella Fitzgerald, Sinatra etc) creating a relaxing atmosphere. We happened to be there as they were celebrating a step up on their rating on trip advisor and they had a mini celebration with a cake that they shared with us. We obviously can't comment on the rooms (so disregard the rating) as we didn't stay here but if it is the same quality of the cafe and lobby they should be very nice. We returned the next day for more wifi and coffee and were provided once again with excellent service, we mentioned we hadn't eaten breakfast yet and they brought us 4 large pastries and cheese & salsa filled tortillas, completely free of charge! The reason for the 4 rating on location is that it is situated on a street that is a little bleak which makes this hotel front stand out like a diamond, its a little out of the way of the main hustle and bustle of the city centre so, to go sight seeing etc requires a taxi or public transport, but, it is the perfect location for boarding a cruise ship as it is very close to the port (around 5 mins walk) assuming the cruises all dock at this same port, (unsure of this as it was our first time in Istanbul, but from experience cruises normally dock at the same port every time as the berth is designed for them). To conclude, this hotel provided everything we required and more if we happen to dock in the port of Istanbul on another occasion, our return to this establishment will be a certainty.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamjames21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
745 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#88 of 1,159 in Istanbul
209 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#48 of 1,159 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,033 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#19 of 1,159 in Istanbul
261 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#53 of 1,159 in Istanbul
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £52 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing