We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #39 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had an extremely good weekend stay at Sub Hotel. Three of us booked one of their Family rooms - basically adjoining rooms, which was great so we had two bathrooms for our group. While the rooms are cozy, the decor is very stylish.

Location was quite good - very close to the tram which takes you across the Galata bridge and into the Sultanahmet area for sightseeing. It's also walkable (though uphill) to Beyoglu for shops and restaurants.

Breakfast was a great inclusion - good food and coffee.

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful in providing guidance for getting around the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for SuB Karakoy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

What a surprise Sub hotel!
I found it casually but i think to reload this
great experience early.
On our arrival a person behind the reception offers us (very gently man)
an exquisite breakfast.
This is a modern boutique hotel but with
an old soul of hospitality.
I recommend this location to all Istanbul's visitors like the best accomodation for room's beauty and easyway hotel's staff.
Sub hotel please don't change mood of life ad..price
Patrizio 23/02/13

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattigovai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

At first, decoration was very design, which isn't the case int he others hotel i have been in Istanbul. Really a charming and lovely well designed place.
Then, you are very welcomed. People are very kindly and helpful.
At last, breakfast are very nice : a typical turkish one very well displayed and delicious.
Location is also very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very cosy small desgin hotel in a centrally location. The tram way steps from the hotel gives you easy access either to Taksim Square (actually you can walk!) and to the sites in the old city.
Staff is extremely friendly, the cosy cafe served New York style dishes along good jazz music :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

far away from major hotels. family atmosphere. it is not hospitable one of hundreds, it felt like a family member. with the ground you came anywhere quickly. so I'll post again when I'm in istanbul.
you should not say it is noisy. you hear the preacher call for prayer. you are in istanbul. not in Jamaica. recommended for an urban tripp only. best to be picked up from the airport from. hotel offers transfer.

Room Tip: we were in the 5th Floor. it makes no beach holidays in istanbul. According to it's everywhere...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttgs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

I went there for my birthday. One of the best hotels I have ever been. You feel home, the staff is friendly and helpful. I appreciate the suggestions for restaurants & places to visit.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and of design. The breakfast is great: try the walnut cream or the fig jam.
The entire experience was delightful. I will definitely be back here next time in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlenia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

First of all the location of the hotel is perfect-2 miniutes from the trum line that can take you to the main destinations. The hotel itself is renovated with a chick style and with all the small necessary items.The staff is very friendly and ready to assist you in any question or problem especially Efe Ozkil the front office manager.
On my next visit to Istanbl I"ll certainy will retrean to this hotel and meanwhile I'll recomend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zvikaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#37 of 1,159 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#44 of 1,159 in Istanbul
343 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#15 of 1,159 in Istanbul
256 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#10 of 1,159 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £53 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing