We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay - great staff”
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #35 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Led by manager Efe SuB Hotel is doing something special. They have a very modern property in a really great location. However what made the stay was the recommendations the staff was able to make for cafes, restaurants, bars and shopping in Istanbul. Istanbul is a big city and with only 4 days to explore we felt we got the most out of the city due primarily to the great opinionated advice we got from SuB Hotel. Breakfast was superb. We will highly recommend this property to anyone we know who visits.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

We loved the location in the not so touristic neighbourhood. Every day we would walk the galatabridge to Sultanameht and back late in the afternoon to have diner in really wonderful restaurants in Karakoy, recommented by the staf of the hotel. We also went to an excellent hamam: 5 minutes from the hotel and to Istanbul Modern en walked from our hotel into the European neighbourhood. The staff of the hotel is very hospitable and helpful, the breakfast delicious and the rooms very good. The only negative point would be the noise from the street, if you are sensitive to that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We were choosing hotel for a long time with great care, because we are experienced travelers and also our stay in Istanbul coincided with the birthday of my daughter Diana. From the first moment of arrive to this hotel, we realized that we were not mistaken in the choice. We were greeted very friendly, they offered us to have a break after the flight with a tea / coffee, and explained in details where it is located and presented a map showing all locations. Our room was on the fifth floor with a view on the courtyard, but it was good, because the street is a bit noisy. When we came in to the room, we saw a fruit plate "for special guests", it was very cute and nice :) The room was perfectly clean, although it was not large, but very nice and comfortable. It is felt that the owners know their job and pay attention and love to their guests. There is a friendly atmosphere and feeling that you are at home. As for staff, they are young and very friendly people, who are kind and polite to guests. We were surprised because we have been in many hotels in different countries and never met such a relationship. On my daughter's birthday they presented a magnificent and very delicious cake, which was decorated with a greeting in Russian (it was very nice and administrator also tried to speak in Russian with us :)). In the evening they gave us free tea and coffee for a few times, and nut cream of own production which we loved having breakfast in the day of departure :) Everything was very nice, helpful! Special attention should be pay to breakfasts – everything was delicious, different special dishes every day. This hotel has stylish design of interior, it is felt very comfortable, hotel is a 2-minute walk from the tram stop, from which you can get anywhere in the city. Nearby is an old mosque, the muezzin sings very nicely, and it does not prevent to sleep:)) In general, we were in full delight and would definitely stay again in SuB hotel! If you value quality, style and great service, we strongly recommend it.
P.S. Special thanks to receptionist Dovlet Myrat and bartender Yunus Emre, very attentive and polite guys! Respect for a great selection of personnel to owner of this hotel :))

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Just enjoyed an all too brief stay at this delightful small hotel close to everything in dynamic Istanbul. From the moment I came through the door and was warmly greeted upon my arrival to the time I was assisted into my taxi upon departure for the airport...I experienced a genuine Turkish hospitality at this stylishly contemporary (yet also warmly intimate) establishment. The rooms and the ensuite bathrooms, although on the smaller side, are cleverly designed yet very comfortable and come with all you may need. The handsome light-filled lobby (actually more like a casual living/dining room) functions during the morning as your venue for a liberal breakfast buffet with a made to order warm main dish being offered. The location is very close to the T1 tram stop (Tophane) which directly takes you to the majority of the main historic sites on the opposite side of the Bosphorus as well as is within easy walking distance to all the best restaurants and shops that this (the Beyoglu) side of the river is so well known for. Most importantly, a big BRAVO to all the very helpful and enthusiastic staff at the hotel...with special recognition to Mohammed...who was so attentive in his kind yet understated way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goesbyeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The location is perfect; less than 5 minutes to major sites, beautiful view of Sultanameht and the Bosphorous sea yet very quiet. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Bedrooms are quite spacious, beds are very comfortable, room was clean and shower pressure was great. It is an excellent base from which to visit all of Istanbul as getting around is very easy. Great breakfast spread in a comfortable dining environment. Overall a very comfortable stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Sub Hotel was our highlight in Istanbul (a town with to many peoples trying hard to get money)...staff amazing, very helpfull ...rooms good size...hotel perfect designed...we loved the design of the harbour beds...hotel well located. 6 out of 5 points...very high recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The hotel is conveniently located, only a short walk to nearest tram stop and within walkable distance from the central of new Istanbul. Staff is extremely helpful. Nice lounge, chic design. Room is tiny though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,054 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#21 of 1,176 in Istanbul
266 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#32 of 1,176 in Istanbul
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#106 of 1,176 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#158 of 1,176 in Istanbul
183 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#73 of 1,176 in Istanbul
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £41 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing