We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money and” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #36 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money and”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed for 4 days in the SUB Hotel and enjoyed it very much. Location is central, you can have a short walk to Bosporus which very comfortable and pleasant. There is station near the hotel so you can go to another part of the city as well. We do recommend that one should have breakfast at the hotel – it was very nice and tasty. The hotel is new, so the rooms are comfortable and clean. The service is also at a high level. So if you a looking for a great value for money but not the 5* hotel, definitely you should go for SUB Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Command9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    103
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
254
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sachseln, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

For a short getaway in a group of friends, we choose SubHotel as our base in the Megacity of Istanbul. We can confirm all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. It's location close to historic hot spots and less touristic places is just perfect.

The transfer from the airport to the hotel was organised by the hotel and worked absolutely fine. At our arrival at the hotel we were overwhelmed by an authentic hospitable welcoming. We received real valuable tips (city plan, how to move ... and more).

Minimalistic yet carefully furnished rooms match our taste. Local delicacies waiting for us in the morning for breakfast supplied the needed energy for our scouting expeditions.

Heartfelt thanks for all your care. Keep up your high level motivation.
ALL OF YOU really made and make a difference!
Peace and lots of success!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice_PasserBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This hotel is unique with lots of appeal. Additionally the staff are very friendly and helpful. BUT I couldn't get one decent night's rest because of the construction going on outside my window in the middle of the night. Ask for a room away from the street and you will enjoy your experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HassaniT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We knew we wanted to stay in Beyoglu, close to restaurants and bars, as opposed to the heart of the old district where the major sights are. This hotel was the perfect balance. It was walkable from Sultanhamet just across the bridge. It was also a short walk from the train station and funiculars that went up the hill farther into Beyoglu. We could go touring during the day, return back to the hotel to freshen up, and head back out for dinner and drinks very easily. There was even a cute nearby bar (Unter) and packed coffee shop just down the street, so we needn't travel far. The breakfast buffet had many traditional elements and left nothing to be desired. Everyone at this hotel went out of their way to make our stay incredible, offering directions, a welcome drink & orientation, and answering every question we had. The rooms were small but perfect, with great modern decor & an excellent shower. Beds were comfy too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseyAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

SuB Hotel was amazing from start to finish. We arrived to delicious chocolate pots in our gorgeous room, slept like babies on the anti-stress bed, and awoke to friendly, attentive staff and a great breakfast. I love the decor, and the area (if you go exploring) is full of great bars and restaurants. Seriously though, the bed is something else....If you've had a hard few months at work, sleep a few nights on this bed and you'll feel like a new person.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

First, let me thank Sukru, Murat, Can, Ugur, and Nil for being totally delightful front desk hosts. (I hope I haven't left anyone out!) The dining room staff is also young, polite, and anxious to please.
As multiple others have commented, the location is pretty perfect. We walked EVERYWHERE and loved being able to do so. Within a two to five minute walk are new shops, galleries, and restaurants, though you need to persist in finding some among the old winding streets. (Even though this is the new part of the city, that's a term relative to the old part of the city. Certainly for Americans, this new part is pretty old, though it's being rebuilt everywhere. The Sub itself is a good example of an old building that's been transformed into a high-style contemporary setting.) Also very nearby is the Istanbul Modern, a lovely new contemporary art museum featuring primarily Turkish artists.
Though modern in aspect, the rooms lack nothing for comfort; yes, earplugs are a good idea, but I'd bet that's true of many hotels in Istanbul. The beds and bedding are very comfortable--plenty of classic bourgeois comfort here! Breakfast is great, with a wide assortment of fresh foods.
One other thing that had been of particular concern to me when I expected to be traveling alone (though in the end a friend joined me for half the trip) and was reading mixed things about the Karakoy district: safety. Absolutely not to worry (excluding of course the current political unrest). Never felt remotely uneasy anywhere near the hotel or anywhere else in the city. Carry with you the card the staff will give you as well as the map on which they mark the location of the hotel so that Turks who don't know the hotel will still be able to help you find it until you're well-oriented.
Thanks again to all the staff who helped make this such a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chayabayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Sub shines because of it's attention to decor detail and it's convenient location within striking distance of both Taksim and Sultanahmet. It feels every bit the boutique hotel it is. The staff are helpful and friendly and the breakfasts are great.

It is, however, pretty noisy. It's located next to a busy road and therefore the sound of traffic is perpetual. I can only imagine on the busiest nights in Istanbul it would be even worse. So earplugs and the ability to accept some noise are advisable.

But definitely a cut above at the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the highest floor in the hotel you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarred_Cinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#27 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#45 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#144 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#41 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#49 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Property: SuB Karakoy
Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing