We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #37 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Truly enjoyed this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff; clean, quiet, secure. Despite the busy street, the location was very convenient to everything we wanted to do and see. Regardless of the direction you're headed, it's a nice walk and/or tram ride. Nice breakfast every morning, small terrace on the side. About two blocks away, toward the water/cruise ship dock, is a very sweet corner of cafes, small shops - this is a gem in a once-gritty but up-and-coming area.

Room Tip: Probably don't want to be on the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

The rooms are clean, beds very comfortable, and decor colorful, hip and modern. The breakfasts were terrific, with a large spread. The staff were all helpful, had great suggestions, and were fun to talk to (we explored downtown with them one evening, which was great!). Karakoy is a fantastic place to be - close to the historic part of town, but near to Galata Tower and all the boutiques, restaurants, and bars. The hotel is a convenient two minute walk from the tram.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Small hotel, we arrive really late from the airport, the night receptionist was really helpful with us and make a fast check-in! The lobby was really nice decorated with beautiful picture. The room was the same, good taste nice concrete wall with metal bed and the all bathroom part was as well in metal! The breakfast was amazing, the service shiny but with a real good attention. The receptionists were a bit cold at the start but really nice after the first day and make a really good job!
The hotel has a good location, close to the tram (2mn) and close to animate part of Istanbul.
I want go there back!!!! Thanks guy good job!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrifost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband, sister and I stayed in a Family Room (two adjoining rooms) for six days in June 2013 for a business-meets-leisure holiday. We were well impressed! The hotel staff are young, professional, convivial, gracious and accommodating. Hotel decor is hipster and urban chic. Our rooms were good sizes, impeccably clean, well-stocked (mini-bar and toiletries), ventilated and the beds and linens were new and comfortable. The showers were lovely and the water was always hot.

Breakfast was scruptious and served on the main level in their bright, artsy cafe. It was buffet with an excellent variety, and each morning we were brought something local and homemade to sample. Yum! Try a proper Turksih coffee with your breakfast. It goes down like velvet. I regret not trying the lunch or supper.

The hotel is centrally located so exploring new and old parts of the city on foot is easy for those who enjoy a walk. We were there during the Taksim Square/Gezi Park demonstrations and never felt in danger, although we kept a distance from police in riot gear who appeared on the nightly news brutalizing peaceful protestors. There are several remarkable restaurants close to Sub Hotel, but do avoid those along the waterfront, including under the Galata Bridge, because the restauranteurs are pushy, bordering on aggressive. It's alright though; the other possibilities are endless.

We were sorry when it was time to leave, but I know where I'm staying should I ever find myself back in Istanbul.


NB: There is an airport shuttle for your convenience, but we found it to be quite expensive (35 euros) compared to a cab (45-55 lira).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natali3lgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

From the outside this hotel does not look like much. But when you enter you are greeted by a friendly staff and a cosy atmosphere. We spent a great extended weekend here. The rooms are nice and modern and the breakfast is delicious. The hotel is a very short distance from the tourist sites in the center. If you take the tram from around the corner you can be there in about 10 minutes.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Sub Hotel is a great place to stay in Istanbul, on the uprising location of Karakoy, nearby attractions during the day and trendy bars and restaurant during the night.
The rooms are not so big (but it's normal for capital cities) and well decorated with typical paints and haut-deco objects as beds, chairs etc.
Breakfast is ok, but the staff is simply fantastic...and they have suggested some of the best spots in the city..thanks guys!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rey979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

As per the below, charming little hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very comfortable - we had a room at the front of the building and were not troubled by any noise as we kept the windows shut and the air con on during the nights. If anything, the calls to prayer, when we did hear them, rather added to the experience! Breakfast was more than adequate - delicious home-made lemonade and a very good fried egg each morning.

Perfectly positioned for city-breakers; five minute walk to the nearest tram stop, ten/fifteen minute walk up the hill to lots of lovely restaurants/bars, 30 minute walk to Topkapi/Aya Sophya/Blue Mosque, and five minutes to the nearest ferry terminal.

Could benefit from the addition of a roof top bar if at all possible (where wouldn't?!), and a license to sell alcohol other than from the mini-bars.

Good value for money and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#4 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,054 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#20 of 1,175 in Istanbul
266 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#33 of 1,175 in Istanbul
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#112 of 1,175 in Istanbul
506 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#153 of 1,175 in Istanbul
182 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#73 of 1,175 in Istanbul
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £42 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing