We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff!”
Review of SuB Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SuB Karakoy
Ranked #34 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed for a long weekend, first time in Istanbul. The hotel has a very convenient location as it is just a minute walk to the tram station which takes you to the main sightseeing spots within 10-15 mins. Breakfast is lovely with made to order eggs and pancakes, etc. I am so impressed with all the hotel staff, all really friendly throughout our stay, helpful, offered good advice and gave us a homely feel. Very happy stay.

Room Tip: Our "twin room" had a double bed and a small single bed by the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    103
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
255
52
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was very lucky to stay at this beautiful hotel that is both luxuries and hype. Rooms are very comfortable and very silent (we stayed on the first floor), we slept like a baby. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. No need to mention its location.. You will not regret.. I am already telling everyone to go to Istanbul and stay at SuB Karakoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pelin_ersavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I can't so enough positive things about the SuB in Karakoy. Amazing breakfasts, incredibly kind and thoughtful staff, help with everything from umbrellas to recommendations for food and sights in Istanbul and even elsewhere in Turkey. The hotel is beautifully designed, the location is great (easy access to the old city, as well as great local restaurants and Itzlikal)...I never write reviews, but the staff was so great I felt compelled to gush.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First of all the check in process was so fast, the room was ready before we arrive.All the staff was so polite and friendly.The most beautiful parts of the hotel the bed was so comfortable as they mention it near to the bed ,secondly the breakfast was amazing, everything was home made. The coffee that they were using julius meinl which is one of my favorite coffee. Also the hotel's location is great. You arrive to the quay by 5 minute walking. The guest profile was also great, most of the guest were foreign and polite. The most impressive part of this short vacation is while we were leaving they gave us little present which was small peanut butter bottles. I mentioned that I love their peanut while we were making breakfast. But I did not expect them to give us as a complimentary gift.They were just amazing, I would recommend this super hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugur2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

... and it's the staff. Yes, it's a great location in a hot neighborhood. Yes, the design is great. Yes, the breakfast is outstanding. But all of that pales in comparison to the people. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in the area, and many were nice, but this is the one that I keep coming back to time after time. They were great to me the first time and they've been great to me every time since. If you're coming into Istanbul for pleasure and want to be a part of the hottest neighborhood revival with a friendly and knowledgeable staff, this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Amazing hotel with ecellent staff... Very friendly and helpfull staff... The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed it every day.. If we come back to Turkey we will come back there for sure.. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I am a cruise visitor and this hotel is very close to the port. As i was finding somewhere to exchange money and I went to this hotel. Even I am not a real custom there. The reception staff was very helpful and kind to us. He provided us free map and best route to visit Istanbul and invited us to drink something there . And I felt very touching . The hotel is small but warm and homely.I saw the breakfast there are nice. Its located at a new aera but it's close to the metro.Very silence but covinence place .If I have chance to visit Istanbul. I must be there again . Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Lam D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#32 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#74 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#166 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#49 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuB Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuB Karakoy

Property: SuB Karakoy
Address: Necatibey Cad. No: 91 | Karakoy, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Formerly Portus Hotel Karakoy)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SuB Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the boggling variety of architectural and design styles that crowd the eye in Istanbul, perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised to find the industrial-chic SuB Hotel in Karaköy (née Galata), the ancient commercial and cultural core of the city. And yet, let’s be honest: it is a bit of a surprise. SuB Hotel, quirky capitalization and all, looks more like a place you’d find in Greenpoint (Brooklyn) or Neukölnn (Berlin) than in the oldest part of one of history’s great crossroads of civilizations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SuB Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing