We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Others have said it all - worthy of visit”

Museum of Innocence
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.14*
and up
Private Tour: Istanbul Sightseeing Including Museum of Innocence, Pera Museum...
Ranked #38 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Orhan Pamuk tarafından yaratılan Masumiyet Müzesi yazarın aynı adlı romanında anlatılan günlük hayat eşyalarının hatıra ve anlamlarını gösteren titizlikle hazırlanmış enstalasyonlardan oluşan küçük bir İstanbul müzesidir.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Others have said it all - worthy of visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We were watching BBC World News in the morning and this museum featured, next minute we were in a taxi (driver had some trouble finding), then we were enthralled by museum for a couple of hours. A story of love and perhaps, obsession.

And whatever you do, rent the audio for 5€. It will be meaningless without, even if you have read THE book.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    102
    37
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A brilliant concept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Orhan Pamuk did a wonderful job in putting together this museum. The novel comes alive across floors is very eloquently executed. A must see novel and a must visit museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sterling2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Museum of innocence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had just finished reading the novel and being able to visit the museum the day after finishing the story was amazing..I was entranced and seduced by the story and the idea of the museum..to the pint where reality and fiction got very muddled in my mind. I feel so privileged to have been able to visit this attraction. Wonderful. Read the novel first or it won't have as much significance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecily134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this museum with my friend; i am citizen öf Turkey and my friend was foreighner tourist and they charged high price to ticket för my friend.i didn't like this.i read this book and museum is attractive för you ÍF you read Thé book.you can feel to living in Thé novel's story during your Visiting. An advice to management öf to museum:this is cultural activity and People feel how you care to make money there.its wrong.anyway i suggest to visit this museum ÍF you read Thé book

Helpful?
2 Thank uğur k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“IA museum for the well read”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The museum turns the concept of museums on its head. The singular and grand national narrative(s) of large state/privately sponsored museum is replaced with the bric a brac of daily life such as train tickets, cigarette butts, and other detritus of human life. These provide a rich panorama of daily life for most middle class and westernized citizens of Istanbul.
Most who will be drawn to the museum will have read Orhan Pamuk. For some, it may make more sense for visitors to have read the book "Museum of Innocence" to fully take in the artefacts so methodically curated (and fetishized) in the museum. Others may be inspired to purchase the book in the gift shop in the basement.
As for myself, I was drawn to Istanbul after reading Memories and the City. This book in covering aspects of his life, while growing up in Istanbul, evokes a strong sense of place in 1950s Istanbul.
The museum is located off a steep street next to a Hammam. The neighborhood has many excellent restaurants and hotels. We stayed at the Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel just around the corner. The location of the hotel, its amenities, including a rooftop bar/dining room made for a perfect place to stay in Istanbul.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Raja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Innocence also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Innocence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing