We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quirky to do ......”

Museum of Innocence
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.14*
and up
Private Tour: Istanbul Sightseeing Including Museum of Innocence, Pera Museum...
Ranked #44 of 1,051 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Orhan Pamuk tarafından yaratılan Masumiyet Müzesi yazarın aynı adlı romanında anlatılan günlük hayat eşyalarının hatıra ve anlamlarını gösteren titizlikle hazırlanmış enstalasyonlardan oluşan küçük bir İstanbul müzesidir.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“a quirky to do ......”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I don't want to spoil ... but it aint so innocent !! go spend a couple of hours ... well worth it ..inventive and creative ...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    103
    38
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Honoring the Genius”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I can't express my sheer delight at stumbling on this museum while reading the book. The exhibit breathes life into the chapters (yes! rent the audio) and crept into the crevices of my mind, shedding light on the story and obsession. I love Istanbul and all it offers, but the Museum of Innocence is in my top 5 attractions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nomadicwomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Read the book first”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The entrance fee is highand if you haven't read the book it makes no sense going in. If in the contrary if you have read Pamuk's Museum of Innocence, you will enjoy the exhibit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Geniesserin-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Orhan Pamuk!!! Museum of Innocence.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very interesting idea to have a physical illustration of a novel! The history of everyday life in Turkey through daily objects is fascinating. Costs 25 Turkish Lira. Easily mixed in spite of its bright red colouring. Long narrow building. Easily accessible by tram and train from Sultanahmet. Great experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lordullinsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Others have said it all - worthy of visit”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We were watching BBC World News in the morning and this museum featured, next minute we were in a taxi (driver had some trouble finding), then we were enthralled by museum for a couple of hours. A story of love and perhaps, obsession.

And whatever you do, rent the audio for 5€. It will be meaningless without, even if you have read THE book.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Innocence also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Innocence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing