We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ottoman Tulip Hotel
Ranked #721 of 1,114 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It is Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaad
I will never come back again even if they give it to me free.
The worst hotel
No lefts.
Old
unhelpful
bad location
no bus stops
noisy
verrrrrrry small rooms
TV dose not work
Unclear

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I have recently stayed here and on arrival were met with helpful and friendly service. Our room on the 3rd floor had a view over the rooftops to the Marmara Sea and we could drift off to sleep hearing the call to prayer. Breakfast was lovely and relaxed on the leafy terrace and we always felt welcome. The hotel is slightly outside the main tourist area, which we liked, however a short walk takes you to the beautiful 'Little' Ayasofya Mosque and a further 5 minutes takes you to the main Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque etc. Close to the hotel there are plenty of local restaurants offering a wide variety of fresh seafood, if you ask at Reception they will offer advice on good restaurants and anything else you require. We would happily recommend this small, comfortable hotel. Apparently the Ottoman Tulip is under relatively new management - thank you to the staff for making our stay so pleasant..

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We went together with my husband. The room was quiet on the third floor with a view of the old houses and the Marmara Sea. A 10-minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Ataturk. Pleasant service, good guys. On the first day of arrival, had a small problem with the shower, no problem to change to another room. Price hotel is small, so to detail, I do not find fault. Thanks for the hospitality!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Akuvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hello, I would never recommend anybody to book a room in this hotel! I booked double plus room few month in advance to be sure to get top floor room with nice view, what was confirmed. But when we arrived at midnight with my husband they said that this night they do not have the room for us at top floor and they offered us very small room on ground floor without window. When we refused to stay in this room they offered us to spend 1 night in another hotel and to come back in the morning promising top floor room. As we were tired we accepted this and we stayed in that hotel even worse category hoping we will get the room next day. But when we return next days, obviously, they did not give us nice room, but again the same room at the ground floor. I tried to meet manager of the hotel, but he was not willing to come, and just said me on the phone that if I don't like the room, its my problem and they do not have another room available.
And one more remark, all the pictures they have on the website are not at all from this hotel, none of them, they are cheating completely.
So please, never go to this hotel! People like these do not deserve to have hotel business!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Emilia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and it is well located in Sultanahmet and close walk to light rail and Bazaar. We were looking for a 3 star standard but this fell short. the carpets are old and the general cleaning and linen is in poor condition. The shower does not drain but this may be an area problem. Service and consideration was lacking with staff disinterested in reports or maintenance requests. Our toilet would not flush for 2 days and each successive shift stated they had no report. It was a shame since Istanbul is a great vibe. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SparkyRomulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were a young couple and stayed there for three nights - the room was not cleaned, insetcs in the toiltes and towele was not chenged (only one towel was provided for two). Signs of seagulls faeces were in all the window. The view was very nice but that's it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluevilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

It was an terrible holiday here, i stayed here only 2 nights and it was enough. Small beds, uncomfortable rooms and and infect breakfast, i would better eat cardboard(only if it wasnt cardboard). The staff was unfriendly, the reception slow and the tea and coffe was mostly water. I reccomend you any other hotel except this one. Also the TV didnt work and the bathroom smelled.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandru168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#875 of 1,178 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#71 of 1,178 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,178 in Istanbul
667 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#104 of 1,178 in Istanbul
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Tulip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Tulip Hotel

Address: Sehsuvar Bey Dist. Duzgun St. No.13 , Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #721 of 1,114 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Hotel Class:3 star — Ottoman Tulip Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Tulip Hotel attracts peoples attention not only with its close location to historical and touristic places, also with is proximity to Istanbul's essentical trade centers.Our Hotel has 16 rooms and 34 beds, the rooms are spacious comfortable and perfect to relax after along day of sightseeing, shopping or business. Each of them is equipped with the modern amenities today’s travelers have come to expect and provides our guests with all requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Southall Travel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ottoman Tulip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing