We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but unhelpful and impolite staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Istanbul Gonen Hotel
Ranked #340 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Good points - Very well maintained , spacious rooms. Breakfast selections were really good.

Location - 40 minutes from city centre by taxi . Staff were not very friendly, they all were very straight faced and impolite . Poor time keeping and concierge services appalling . Despite letting them know my flight timings , there was no shuttle at the airport to pick me and for the return trip they promised that there is a free shuttle every hour to the airport and we waited for 10 minutes more than the scheduled time with no sign of the bus . The concierge ket repeating that the bus would arrive in 10 mins and did not even bother to apologise for the inconvenience. We had to catch a cab finally and made it just in time. Do not advertise that you have a free shuttle service . Never gave me the receipts for the minibar bill . The receptionist just mentioned the amount and took the money . When I asked for the receipt, I was given the hotel booking receipt and not the minibar bill receipt . Wonder who pocketed them and what the true cost was.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadierodeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Impossible to sleep there. Rooms are very poorly isolated. I could here everything from my neighbour, including his crying. Could here at least 3 different tv's.

I keep wondering why hotels dont invest in proper isolation. Their main goal should be to offer a good night of rest to their guests, right?

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Japie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A very nice hotel, with staff wish you the best. Large rooms and comfortable beds. Very good breakfast. Shuttle service from the airport to Gonen did not work. Told to wait 30 minutes. We then took a taxi. The same when we were going out to Ataturk Airport the following day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norwegian38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent one night at this lovely hotel after arriving in Istanbul, before departing to Kusadasi, early the next morning. This hotel was clean, the rooms were beautiful, spacious and extremely quiet.The service was brilliant both in the bar and the restaurant in which we dined that night. This is the perfect spot for a night close to the airport. An added bonus is the outlet mall opposite the hotel. This is the perfect stopover and only a 5-10 minute taxi ride from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GouFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed for on night at Gonen Hotel, as we were travelling back home from Capadoccia. The hotel is a mere 10 Turkish Lira taxi trip from Ataturk Airport and it´s located by a big shopping mall, so it is a good alternative for a sleepover and some last hour shopping. It´s a big building, with plenty of staff and obviously it is impersonal, but delivers what is needed for the situation: rooms are clean and well equipped, breakfast is very good and it has a free shuttle back for the airport that makes the round trip every hour. The surrounding are not much of interest, apart from the mall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Close to the airport, it is the best solution for late arrivals or early departures. Quick check in, confortable and spacious rooms. Breakfast very good. Everything at a good price for the value. To try again next time I am in Istanbul

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I loved staying here - but I wouldn't spend my entire trip at this hotel. It suited me for one night before a morning flight the following day, where I could enjoy their amazing complimentary buffet breakfast and mini-bus airport transfer. The lobby is gorgeous, the rooms beautifully kept and the marble shower was beautiful too. Very posh, I had no idea given that the room rate was so reasonable - around a third of their standard rates - which I luckily found online. If you can get a good rate of around 100 euro or thereabouts, it's a bargain for all it offers, especially if you don't want to spend time in the city but just want to be near the airport. Otherwise, I'd recommend staying in Sultanahmet or Sirkeci for Old City charm, or Beyoglu - Taksim for modern Istanbul with all it's energy and colour.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor, which I liked a lot - but it faced the street and the windows had to be clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingRed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.6 mi away
Gorrion Hotel Istanbul
Gorrion Hotel Istanbul
#266 of 1,163 in Istanbul
168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
#407 of 1,163 in Istanbul
125 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Istanbul Tekstilkent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Elite World Business
Elite World Business
#116 of 1,163 in Istanbul
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Istanbul Ataturk Airport
14.8 mi away
Byotell Hotel Istanbul
Byotell Hotel Istanbul
#299 of 1,163 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Gonen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Gonen Hotel

Address: Degirmenbahce Avenue No.15, Yenibosna, Istanbul 34197, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £37 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Istanbul Gonen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Istanbul Gonen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing