We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good shirt stay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Istanbul Gonen Hotel
Ranked #333 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Algiers, Algeria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good shirt stay hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

the hotel is a couple a minute from the airport.its good good for a short stay or a business travellers in the European side of Istanbul.except the shopping centre in the opposite side of the hotel there is nothing to do around it.the breakfast is excellent and its apear to have both indoor and outdoor pool but I didn't visited them because of my short stay.the city centre is too far and there is no public transportation around the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mido2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    131
    36
    14
    14
See reviews for
41
66
32
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a 5 start hotel. It is beautiful and the lobby is spectacular. The breakfast is awesome consisting a variety of local and international cuisines, especially fresh fruit. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The internet connection was consistent and strong. The gym was really excellent; had everything you can think of.

One advantage is that it is located opposite from a shopping mall which is very good, called Star City.

The front desk staff was good, but the rest of the staff was either uncaring or unhelpful, particularly the concierge. The shuttle service was terrible. Another problem is the staff does not speak very good English and does not seem interested in helping their guests or solve any problems.

It is about 10 minutes from the airport but not near metro or public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Good for those that need to be close to the airport. Free shuttle offered every hour. Outlet center nearby. Staff looks a bit too rigid, but they will deliver what you ask. Very good breakfast, but I enjoyed the most the fantastic gym, very well equipped. Pool was also available, as well as a very nice range of other spa services.
The rooms are very nice, beds very comfortable. Too bad the noise on the floor can get to high levels, but I guess it's also down to the education of the other guests...

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Radu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My parents stayed here for 3 nights. The rating is not for the hotel itself. My dad told me the room and the breakfast were pretty good and he would perhpas give 4 stars. The problem was the hotel staff, particularly the guy who was in charge for city tours. My parents took old city tour from which turned out to be Bosphorous tour. He basically lied and denied about it. The tour company was not able to change the tour and the whole day was wasted for my parents. They were able to take the old city tour next day. However, they found that the price of the tour was 35 euros while they were charged 50 euros. Also they were not given the ride back to hotel. Overall, this was a very bad experience for them and they felt hotel was being dishonest with them.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Writer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urumqi, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Good things first: wonderful breakfast, clean rooms, nice pools and recreational areas.
Not so good: the service at the front desk. We arrived at 4 am with two children after a long flight. It took us almost 20 minutes to get our room, and when we finally got the room the extra bed was not made. When we checked out at 5.30 the next day there was no breakfast (they were out of everything - bread, juice, water....). After 25 minutes they managed to get new things out, but then we had only 2 minutes before the shuttle was about to leave for the airport.
The hotel was very nice, but to have an airport hotel with no shuttle between 22-06, which does not have prepaid rooms ready for tired travellers and not can put forward breakfast at 5.30 - that is frankly not an airport hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laowai830000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Good points - Very well maintained , spacious rooms. Breakfast selections were really good.

Location - 40 minutes from city centre by taxi . Staff were not very friendly, they all were very straight faced and impolite . Poor time keeping and concierge services appalling . Despite letting them know my flight timings , there was no shuttle at the airport to pick me and for the return trip they promised that there is a free shuttle every hour to the airport and we waited for 10 minutes more than the scheduled time with no sign of the bus . The concierge ket repeating that the bus would arrive in 10 mins and did not even bother to apologise for the inconvenience. We had to catch a cab finally and made it just in time. Do not advertise that you have a free shuttle service . Never gave me the receipts for the minibar bill . The receptionist just mentioned the amount and took the money . When I asked for the receipt, I was given the hotel booking receipt and not the minibar bill receipt . Wonder who pocketed them and what the true cost was.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadierodeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Impossible to sleep there. Rooms are very poorly isolated. I could here everything from my neighbour, including his crying. Could here at least 3 different tv's.

I keep wondering why hotels dont invest in proper isolation. Their main goal should be to offer a good night of rest to their guests, right?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.6 mi away
Gorrion Hotel Istanbul
Gorrion Hotel Istanbul
#311 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
#444 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#261 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Istanbul
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Istanbul Ataturk Airport
0.3 mi away
Pullman Istanbul Airport Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Gonen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Gonen Hotel

Property: Istanbul Gonen Hotel
Address: Degirmenbahce Avenue No.15, Yenibosna, Istanbul 34197, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Istanbul Gonen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Istanbul Gonen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing