We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel experience in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Ranked #127 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This hotel was surprisingly extremely upscale and fancy. Other reviews show that rooms are small, but we didn't seem to feel that way at all. You probably won't be spending that much time in the hotel anyway. Taxis are easy to find off of the street to take you to the Old Town and so this hotel location is great. Staff was extremely friendly and spoke English. The view from the hotel is great. The pool area and Turkish hamam were pleasant surprises - very clean as well. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

The Renaissance Bosphorus is a new hotel located in the Beskitas neighborhood. It is located near trendy restaurants and clubs. However, if you're looking to be closer to the historic areas of Istanbul you're better off staying elsewhere. Rooms are generally smaller than similarly priced rooms in other Renaissance properties. The hotel's executive lounge has fabulous views of the city and Bosphorus.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidWanderer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at the Istanbul Hotel Renaissance Bosphorus on the 8th n 9th January 2013. I must admit I found this hotel to be very comfortable. Its ideal for business travellers. Excellent location and meets all requirements of a Business traveller. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would certainly keep this hotel on my first priority whenever I plan to visit Istanbul again. Both airprorts are equidistant ( appro. 50 min in normal traffic). Excellent Rooftop Bar with an exotic view of the Marmara. Value for money.

Room Tip: To enjoy more of Istanbul Hotel Renaissance Bosphorus pls request for a room on the higher floor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pramod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over new year and this hotel was great. We were allowed to check in at 10am which was a real bonus and we had a lovely view of the bosphorus bridge.

Room quality is excellent with great modern decor and design. We used the pool area and this was fabulous with heated floors and lovely seating areas and sunbeds to lounge around on.

The roof top bar has amazing views and is reasonable for this type of hotel. The hotel appeared really well run and all the staff were very efficient and friendly.

I`ve stayed in many hotels in Istanbul and each one has its own benefits of location. We walked to Ortakoy in 30 mins and also to Taksim in 45 mins using my phone GPS.

Would definately return again as it was so good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel was wonderful. Our room had a great view of the Bosphorus Bridge going over to the Asia side.
The room was very nice, lots of neat features, very high tech. very comfortable bed. Bathroom was awesome, granite vanity top, huge shower, just really nice. The location was fine, you can hop on the bus right down from the hotel, get off and take the tram to the Old City, very easy. Purchase an Istanbul card for transportation from little stands around the train routes the card is $7.00, we put 20.00 on it and reloaded it at the train station when we needed more funds. Comes out cheaper buying the card, we were in Istanbul for a week. Executive Lounge was very nice, great view of Istanbul. The food was really good and the staff in the Lounge was exceptional, had dinner their every night, nice variety, no charge for liquor. We took a cab to and from the airport, in USD it was 35.00 which was a good rate. Istanbul is a HUGE city. We had a wonderful trip and the Renaissance was a big part of it!

Room Tip: Ask for a Bosphorus view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tagent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I would first of all say that this hotel and staff are excellent, the only reason I gave it a lower rating was because of its location. If the purpose of your trip is to see the tourist sites in Istanbul and stay close to the tourist sites, restaurants and shops the location is not good.
The hotel itself is new, clean and has a very friendly and helpful staff. Many of the rooms have a water view. We got lucky and were upgraded to a Junior suite which was very nice with a bedroom, living area, microwave and refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom good size. Our room also had a view of the Bosphorus Straits. Staff were very friendly and always greeted you with a smile and many spoke excellent English and others enough to answer any questions you may have. I did notice that if they did not understand you, they would always get someone who could. Staff was very helpful in figuring out the transportation to the historic center.
If you have access to the executive lounge on the top floor, it has a great view, Wi-Fi and at set times breakfast, tea, hot appetizers and beverages. There are two outside balconies, one on each side of the building. If you do not have access to the executive lounge there is a bar across the hall with even a better view with two balconies also.
On our first trip to the historic area we took the taxi (about 10TL each way) to the Kabatas T1 tram station and then the tram from there (1.95TL with Istanbulcard each way) to the historic district (Sultanahmet) and the major tourist sites. Kabatas was the end/start of that tram line so it was easy to return, just stay on until the end, which was always announced in English. We took a taxi back to the hotel. The traffic congestion was the worst I have ever seen on a daily basis (in any city including Cairo), it took about an hour and quarter for a one way trip to the historic district and the same on the return. Taxi's as mentioned earlier are plentiful and reasonable, we had no trouble with taxi scams but they still have to deal with the traffic unlike the trams. As mentioned elsewhere it is a must to keep the address of the hotel on a piece of paper in Turkish to show the taxi driver, I also had the phone number. This proved very helpful as the driver from the airport was still unsure of the address and had to call the hotel for directions. I was impressed that he did that rather than just drive me around looking for the place and running up the meter, cost from the airport was just under 50TL.
After our first trip to the historic district we had a better idea of the transportation system and our Istanbulcard so we took the bus (1.95TL) to and from the tram. The bus stop was just out the hotel to the right about 1/2 a block and any bus that had Kabatas on it would work, drops you right at the tram. On the return trip you exit the tram and walk across the street to the bus station and almost any bus that says Besiktas will take you back, exit at Darphane stop across from hotel. Most of the buses had an overhead monitor with the stops. Each time you take public transportation there is a charge (no transfers, that we could figure out) but each time you pay a lower fare if you have the Istanbulcard. You need a token or fare card for public transportation, you cannot pay cash. You can get them from vending machines or commercial kiosks (little stands that sell newspapers, snacks, cigarettes, chewing gum, etc.) near major transit stops.
We did not use the restaurant or any of the fitness or pool facilities, this was totally a sightseeing trip. It was a great hotel to get back to after full days of sightseeing and relax enjoying the view, abit it was not a quick commute.
I would highly recommend this hotel if your main purpose is not sightseeing of if you don't mind a lengthy commute to and from the sights.

Room Tip: High floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WiMadcitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here six nights on a holiday and were very happy with it in every way. We are platinum members so had access to the executive lounge.

EXECUTIVE LOUNGE AND ROOM

The executive lounge was excellent and so much better than what you get in the US. The breakfast buffet had everything you want - eggs, borek/pita, sausages, potatoes, cold meats, cereal, yogurt, cheese, fruits, breads etc. The staff in the executive lounge, and in the hotel in general were extremely obliging.

The canapes at night are more like dinner - meat balls, drumsticks, rice etc.

Müge was extremely helpful and gave us lots of useful advice and tips about getting around.

We requested a room with a view of the Bosphorus which we got. The view was amazing and we are so glad we asked for it. The room in general was lovely and had everything we needed. It even had two powerpoint plugs that accept any international plugs. This was so handy given that we arrived at midnight and without converters and flat phone batteries.

LOCATION

As many have mentioned, this hotel is slightly off-center HOWEVER that ended up being a really good thing. You feel you are in more of a local area yet still close to most things. Traffic is bad in Istanbul so it will take you longer to get home (and cost a bit more) but we preferred the location to Old Istanbul and Takism which are full of tourists and crowded.

TRANSPORTATION

Taxis are cheap. The taxis that are outside the hotel are the best ones to take (they have the Renaissance hotel logo on them). One night we took a random taxi outside the grand bazaar and he overcharged us by quite a lot. We were told by the hotel that we should always take a cab that has a logo on it. The one we took didn't have a logo on it and therefore not accountable to anyone. Other than that we had no issues.

We took a taxi from Ataturk airport and it cost around 45-50TL. There is no need to pre-arrange airport transfers unless it is cheaper than that.

A taxi from the hotel to Old town Istanbul (Sultan Ahmet Mosque) is around 25TL and 10TL to Taksim.

The mini buses, trams and metro are cheaper and quicker to get through traffic.

SIGHTS

There are so many things to see in Istanbul and it really is a beautiful city to visit. All the main sights are worth visiting especially the mosques, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus cruise. Grand Bazaar is worth a look but i wouldn't necessarily say that it is cheaper than outside places. If you find what you are looking for in other shops at the price you want - just get it. The grand bazaar is stressful and very crowded.

We took a ferry (only 3TL) all the way to Eyup camii (mosque) from Kabatas. It is definitely worth the trip even for the ferry trip alone.

We also enjoyed our walk up Fevzi Pasa Cd towards Fatih mosque. It is more of a conservative, local area which we loved.

One night we took a mini bus to Istinye Park shopping Mall. The mini bus is across the street from the hotel and only costs around 2TL. It was worth the visit.

MOSQUES

All of the mosques are absolutely beautiful in Istanbul. Remember to be respectful and cover your hair and body appropriately before entering.

FURTHER DETAILS

We didn't go on any tours, other than one, so we pretty much figured out how to get around quite quickly and saw most things in Istanbul. If you want anymore tips or advice just message me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Bosphorus river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonestAndFair11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Mercure Istanbul City Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#67 of 1,176 in Istanbul
2,378 reviews
Besiktas
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
#583 of 1,176 in Istanbul
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Point Hotel Barbaros
Point Hotel Barbaros
#269 of 1,176 in Istanbul
460 reviews
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#95 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,306 reviews
Besiktas
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
#99 of 1,176 in Istanbul
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel

Address: Barbaros Bulvari No: 145, Istanbul 34349, Turkey (Formerly Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £63 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to welcome you here at stylish Renaissance Polat Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. Discover international excellence blended with local passion.''No matter where or why you travel, there's always something wonderfully new to be found.'' Is the integrated philosophy of Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel. Offering stunning views over the Bosphorus, the magnificent towering Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel is reflecting the modern life style norms with its architectural design. The hotel is located on the European side of Istanbul, in Besiktas, midway between the areas of Taksim and Levent, and in a walking distance to key shopping malls and Bosphorus' main boat harbor. This luxury newest addition to Istanbul hotels is designed to meet most demanding requirements of today's modern traveler, whether the trip is for business or holiday in Istanbul, Turkey. Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel offers you a comfortable accommodation with its 213 rooms accompanied by a breathtaking Bosphorus view. You can organize your successful and unforgettable events with the hotel's 11 meeting rooms which are mostly daylighted and a unique Ballroom.You can enjoy extensive food and beverage alternatives of our hotel such as Arts Restaurant with its modern cuisine and stunning design, Bar 212 where international excellence meets local passion accompanied by spectacular Bosphorus view and Living Room&Terrace with its pop in atmosphere and smells of coffee. Both fitness and spa are together at R Fitness & Spa. You can refresh your body as well as your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing