We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Ranked #160 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Would return”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a very good five night stay recently. As other reviews point out it is some distance from the old town, but the area is not without its attractions and the views from the higher rooms are as good as any in the city. From our room the view stretched across the Bosphorus, with the bridge, wonderfully illuminated at night, to the left and both glorious mosques to the right. The best way into town is to take one of the frequent buses from outside the hotel to the Kabatas waterfront tram stop. It's then an easy ride into the old town. There are some good local restaurants a short walk from the hotel and I would recommend Kebabi (see separate review).

We found the service friendly and efficient. There is a small executive lounge on the third floor for evening drinks and snacks. The excellent buffet breakfast is taken in the main dining room.

One of the highlights of the hotel is the wonderful spa. It's not cheap, but it's good. Would stay again when next in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. We are delighted to hear that our staff service exceeded your expectations.

We always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to discover something wonderfully new.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    145
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
55
96
22
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel so we could get a taste of Istanbul before a cruise. It was a little disconcerting to have to go through a security scan every time we entered, but I guess that is a sign of the times. Everyone at the hotel was welcoming and friendly. We were given a room with a great view over the Bosphorus, but I should say this was an upgrade due to my status as a regular stayer at Marriott hotels. The room was clean and comfortable and had decent desk and sitting space. Wifi was available (not free except for certain guests) and was reasonably fast.

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice. We did eat one dinner in the hotel after one taxi driver had failed to find the restaurant we had booked and left us almost 1 hour's walk (according to Google Maps) from where we should have been. We gave up trying and returned the hotel instead. Dinner was OK, but the fact that there were no more than 3/4 tables occupied indicates that they could do better.

We had access to the Executive Lounge, which served tasty little Turkish snacks and drinks in the evenings, even on Saturday and Sunday, which isn't always the case in Marriott lounges.

We used the concierge (Navigator) to book tours and restaurants, which worked well apart from the aborted dinner attempt, which wasn't his fault. If you have limited time, the tours are a good option. Several times our guides were able to jump the queue, which saved time that private tourists would have lost queuing.

As we had booked tours that picked us up and returned us the the hotel, we didn't have time to adventure on our own, I'm not too certain whether the location was convenient for transport other than taxis. Taxis are reasonably cheap, but our experience was that drivers don't know their way around very well. My advice would be to have the full address and telephone number for your intended destination (I only had the address for that restaurant).

I sort of agree with the reviewer who said he could have been anywhere, but that consistency is part of the Marriott experience. I would generally sacrifice character for civilised plumbing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. It is great to hear that our hotel and staff exceed your expectations.

For your next trip our Navigator team would be more than happy to prepare a City Discovery tour program in order to exceed your expectations. As Renaissance Brand we believe; “no matter where or why you travel, there is always something wonderfully new to discover”.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel sits on a hill from where you can see the Bosphorus bridge. I found the room really spectacular, one side is all glass and you can look down on the bridge, even while taking a shower (there's a glass window between the shower and the bedroom and the window (you can pull a blind if you prefer).

Really enjeoyed my room, not very large but felt just great and spacious. Food in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner) was very nice and huge choice).

Rather pricey, though...

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bridge; it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallisellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. We are delighted to read that the Hotel amenities, especially our guest rooms exceeded your expectations.

We always look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to discover something wonderfully new.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stay in hotels all throughout the year - the service at this hotel was actually bad! I stayed here for 11 nights

- Every morning I had to call the laundry to request for laundry bags and on most of the mornings they never showed up or came without the laundry slip. They never kept the bags when refreshing the room.
- The floors had a strange smell in the corridors.
- Day-1 Checkin - Internet in the room didnt work and technician kept telling me that my iPad is faulted and then instead of fixing the issue, called someone to bring his iPad to prove his point, which ofcourse didnt work either. The internet connection was poor all across my stay and I had to stand next to the door to do FaceTime.
- The staff at reception was just too slow. On the day of my check-out only 1 person was available at the desk and there was a long queue and the lady in-front of me was checking-in and due to some reason offered her to place an order for breakfast for the next morning and it took forever to finalize the type of eggs she would like for the morning.
- Breakfast started at 6:30 but the people were kind of lost usually until 7. Specially the egg counter.

The only good thing is the location, as it is 8TL ride away from Besiktas Ferry Station and 10TL from Kabastas Train Station (starting point of train to go to SultanAhmed Area).

There are no good dining options nearby and you have to go to either Metro City Shopping Mall or Besiktas to get any decent options.

There is no way, I am going to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus experience with us.

We regret to see that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Your valuable feedbacks shared with the related department managers in order to prevent similar problems from reoccurring.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, during which we will have the chance to convince you to score higher by offering you our improved service quality and hospitality.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a very modern, comfortable an efficient hotel that seems to cater primarily to business travelers. The rooms are clean and well equipped, with a rather odd glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom area. Following a good nights sleep you will enjoy a hearty breakfast with a spread to satisfy almost every taste. Later in the day you can also enjoy the glorious views from the sky bar. And all for a reasonable price (except for the wi-fi, get real guys it really should be foc).
But even though I really like the place and was not too fussed about the location (you will need a taxi to get anywhere of interest, but they are cheap and always on standby) It left almost no impression on me, it could have been anywhere. Admittedly I had a room on the second floor so I could see diddly squat but even when seated in the sky bar it did not have the same character as other places I have stayed in Istanbul.
Maybe you have to pay extra for soul.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view, ideally a view of Istanbul otherwise you might be anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel experience with us.

We appreciate your valuable comments about our hotel and amenities. I am delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general. We are also happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed your time at our 212 Bar with beautiful Bosphorus view.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Renaissance and have a wonderful stay! The staff was friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The Navigator Ari was top-notch, he even found us a pub that showed American football in a soccer crazed country! Fabulous view from our glass shower, great food and the club lounge had great snacks. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Bosphorous River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel.

It is great to receive such positive comments which motivate us to go above and beyond. Our Navigators are the micro local experts and they will always be delighted to help you, to discover the hidden gems of the City.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed staying at the hotel. The service is very good all across except with house keeping staff. They are either untrained or unmotivated. This my third night at a seven nights stay and they almost daily miss something. The level of cleaning is not that of a 5star hotel. The tv stand and the tv is dusty since I checked in. I think management ,if they want guests to come back to the property ,should personally set a five stars standards and check out their rooms . Although I liked the staff ,service ,and attitude through out, I care a lot about the upkeep of the room I am staying at.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaherAujan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance Ist... B, General Manager at Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your experiences in our Hotel. We will take immediate actions in order to enhance guest experiences in terms of housekeeping services you mentioned.

In your next visit, We would be delighted to create experiences that will exceed your expectations.

Once again, we highly appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel.

Kind regards,
Anıl Boydas Tınaz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
#250 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#143 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#85 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#233 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#122 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel

Property: Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Address: Barbaros Bulvari No: 145 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey (Formerly Renaissance Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to welcome you here at stylish Renaissance Polat Istanbul Bosphorus Hotel. Discover international excellence blended with local passion.''No matter where or why you travel, there's always something wonderfully new to be found.'' Is the integrated philosophy of Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel. Offering stunning views over the Bosphorus, the magnificent towering Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel is reflecting the modern life style norms with its architectural design. The hotel is located on the European side of Istanbul, in Besiktas, midway between the areas of Taksim and Levent, and in a walking distance to key shopping malls and Bosphorus' main boat harbor. This luxury newest addition to Istanbul hotels is designed to meet most demanding requirements of today's modern traveler, whether the trip is for business or holiday in Istanbul, Turkey. Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel offers you a comfortable accommodation with its 213 rooms accompanied by a breathtaking Bosphorus view. You can organize your successful and unforgettable events with the hotel's 11 meeting rooms which are mostly daylighted and a unique Ballroom.You can enjoy extensive food and beverage alternatives of our hotel such as Arts Restaurant with its modern cuisine and stunning design, Bar 212 where international excellence meets local passion accompanied by spectacular Bosphorus view and Living Room&Terrace with its pop in atmosphere and smells of coffee. Both fitness and spa are together at R Fitness & Spa. You can refresh your body as well as your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing