We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute rip off. I regret going. £55 for a cheap small mixed grill and £20 for water and one diet Pepsi and yoghurt”

The Han Kebap House
Ranked #5,767 of 13,539 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An absolute rip off. I regret going. £55 for a cheap small mixed grill and £20 for water and one diet Pepsi and yoghurt”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Goodness me I'm not tight fisted but this place is really something else. The waiters are passive aggressive the food mediocre and tasted worse than your average UK takeaway. The price for what you get is ridiculous. People who have rated it well God knows they must be gullible. I have dined in places all around the world and even been to turkey before and now am kicking myself for falling into the ultimate tourist trap.

Helpful?
Thank amnahussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    28
    23
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toa Payoh, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor Communication and Expensive”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

When i asked about some menu items, they dont know how to explain and they just say something.
They dont have spicy salad(which i found in other restaurants, when i asked for that the reply was "we can make normal salad as spicy".

Only restaurant which charged me with 12.5% service tax, I didn't see like this in any other places where I eat.
Pan cakes are just OK, not that good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vijaya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Only place in Istanbul I didn't like”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped at this place for lunch and ordered a stuffed pancake and a mixed grill platter for 2 and our bill was over 200£! On top of that the waiter "reminded" us to leave him a tip when handing us the bill, which was very tacky. The food was bland and meat was dry. This is a total tourist trap. Avoid it and get a better and cheaper meal elsewhere!

Helpful?
Thank bhatnaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Expensive, but original”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The lady in the window working the dough is quite an attraction. Also the interior is tastefully decorated in traditional Anatoli an style. The menu is very limited and fast-food-ish, but we tried three different dishes and they were all fine. And, of course, we tried the house-made pancakes.

Of course, being at the foot of Topkapi Palace (just follow a narrow stone-paved lane to your right after you exit Topkapi for 7-8min.) it IS an overpriced turist trap. But then, they managed to add some value to that, and make an authentic experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hier0nimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“cheats”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The restaurant looks good from outside and it attracts people by seeing the cusion's and lady doing the nan's. But the prices very too high. we were fooled by bringing the same dish in a pot with double charge.

There are much better restaurants out there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manoj Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Han Kebap House also viewed

 

Been to The Han Kebap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing