We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High pressure selling”
Review of Karina Fish House

Karina Fish House
Ranked #1,310 of 13,715 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: US$18 - US$55
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High pressure selling”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Overpriced fish made to look fancy with tinfoil and flame. We were continually hassled at our table by the waiter to buy more expensive fish. Avoid!

Helpful?
3 Thank Discerned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    57
    29
    22
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food but they 'up-sell'”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a cute restaurant in Sultanahmet not far from the Blue Mosque and away from the crowds of people. But we were very disappointed that when we got the bill they had included all the things they had said were 'on the house' such as a plate of fruit and breads. Also they say the service is not on the bill so you are expected to pay over and above the prices on the menu. All in all, nice food, but more expensive than you first think.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimNic-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gananoque, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible wine- lying waiter”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A wonderful fish dinner was spoiled by the wine. The wine card offered showed expensive wine with pictures of the bottles. 80 TL which is more than we usually spend but we decided to splurge. When I tasted it, I gagged because it was so bad. When I checked the bottle, it was not what we had ordered, although the waiter insisted that it was. Card advertised Mavros but we got Kutman different bottle. They took it back when I asked for a bottle of what we had ordered, By the time it arrived, we had finished our dinner (which was good). I didn't like the 2 nd bottle either, so we didn't drink it. We were charged for 1 bottle and given a free dessert but the waiter even lied, saying it was a Cappadocian wine when it was from Thrace. I checked out Kutman later and they are cheap and got poor reviews-- 2 out 5 or less! Why would a decent restaurant not have a good wine? At the end, the cashier argued with me that we had to leave a tip???

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food & Excellent Service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Good Fresh Fish,
You are offered a selection based on your Taste.
You choose the fish, It is weighed and then cooked for you.
Not enough wine choice but it is Fish you go to eat in Fish restaurant & they will not let you down on that.
Very helpful head waiter(could have been owner), very alert and also threw in complementary fruit and Baklava.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AKesh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It s a nice back street fish restaurant in blue mosque area. Reasonable price and fresh fish. Especially if you know how touristic area it is this restaurant quite good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Moimomoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karina Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Karina Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing