We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a Home in Istanbul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dilhayat Kalfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dilhayat Kalfa Hotel
Ranked #61 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Truly a Home in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I am truly grateful to the staff of Dilhayat Kalfa for making my stay in Istanbul wonderful. I planned on staying at the Dilhayat Kalfa when I realized I would have a full-day layover in Istanbul. I knew from the map it had a great location, and from the reviews that the rooms and the staff are excellent. What I experienced firsthand was how exceptional this hotel truly is. And it could not have come at a better time for me: I arrived into Istanbul only to learn my luggage never boarded my flight way back in Johannesburg! The airlines informed me it would take days for the bag to be reunited with me. This is where the staff of Dilhayat Kalfa really came through. First, they had their driver wait for me at arrivals clear until I finished sorting out the paperwork with the airlines. Even though I didn't have the bag, my hotel was still waiting for me. That was a huge relief. Then when I arrived, Ilham, who works the front desk, welcomed me with a smile and offered to help. He prepared me breakfast on the beautiful rootop veranda when I was ready, and he helped me plan out how I could get everything into the day I had. He told me to see this as my home in Istanbul, and went out of his way to make me feel welcome there. The rooms are excellent, so you can truly see it as being as good as your home! And when it came time for me to vacate the room, they generously offered to let me stay until I returned to the airport for my onward flight. I thank Dilhayat Kalfa for everything they did to make my stay in Istanbul a wonderful experience. I believe that there is no finer group of hosts you could have for your stay in Istanbul than the staff here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mezzofanti Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    23
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
60
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Following a two-week small-group OAT tour, my wife and I stayed here for six nights. It was perfect. Hami, the desk clerk, said we should regard it as our home while we were in Istanbul, and that it was just how we felt about it. He told us that we had been given the best room, and indeed it was from what we could see of the other rooms. It was the most spacious room we had during our three-week visit to Turkey which included more expensive hotels. This hotel is perfectly situated on a quiet street between the Blue Mosque and the Bosporous. It is close to the tram station at Sultanahmet and a short walk to many sites. The breakfasts were excellent, the bed was comfortable, the shower and AC were first-rate and the staff friendly, helpful and English-speaking. We arranged through the hotel to be met at the airport by a transfer service which was well worth the cost. We recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Room 15 was in the front of the hotel and most spacious. Other rooms we saw were smaller but are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happilyretired02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I want to thank Dilhayat Kalfa Hotel for a great few days in Istanbul. We enjoyed the personalized service that was provided by this boutique hotel. We arrived late in the evening after having some communication issues regarding our hotel transfer. The hotel manager took care of this issue immediately. We knew after this experience we would be well cared for. We were unexpectedly upgraded to the suite room for part of our stay which was a very nice treat. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast on the terrace is charming and relaxing. There was a nice range of traditional Turkish breakfast cold dishes. We enjoyed the close location to the Blue Mosque/Hagia Sophia/tram stop. It is a very easy walk (though partially uphill if that is an issue). This location made it very easy and relaxing for us to walk around the mosque area at night (a must do!). Overall a great choice for a more personalized experience in a very bustling city!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vacationdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel 22-25 April this year, excellent choice close to the Blue Mosque. The hotel has only been open for a few months,so the rooms and public areas are in superb condition. We stayed in room 17 located at rear of hotel small but very comfortable,this was a standard room but the facilities were of an high standard,excellent shower/bathroom clean and fluffy towels changed every day including bath robes, very comfortable bed and quality bedding. breakfast was on top terrace giving nice views over rooftops to the Blue Mosque and the Bosporus, Turkish breakfast and efficient staff. The hotel public rooms had great decor,paintings, Turkish furniture very impressive. The hotel managers, day/night were very helpful and friendly. This quiet location is walking distance, 5 mins to Mosque etc to the tourist attractions in the Sultanhamet area, some steep streets, not good for disabled. Many eating places around the hotel including a bazaar. We enjoyed our short visit and the metro/tram from/to Ataturk airport was cheap and efficient.We would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting this busy vibrant city.
This small boutique has only six rooms, the suites look good too, so booking is essential. Great place.

Room Tip: Book early, depending on your budget standard double excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights per previous reviews and wouldn't regret a thing. The 6-room hotel is a little difficult to find, but once you've found it, you're good to go. We stayed in Room 15 which was nicely setup, spacious and with modern decoration and air-conditioning. Breakfast was served on the upper floor with access to the rooftop terrace, which was a pleasant escape from the hustle and bustle of a busy day. The views from the roof are pretty amazing - the Bosphorus to one side and a bit of the blue mosque on the other. The hotel is located in the old city and is about a 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace and Gardens. The price is a bit expensive, but you are getting what you pay for - the breakfast is cold, but well stocked and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malkotigarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a brief stopover in Istanbul. We found the hotel to be clean tidy and welcoming. We stayed in the suit although this was not what we booked we were given this on arrival. Unfortunately if we wanted to to stay In this room we had to pay extra and on seeing the size of the the room we would be moving to decided to pay the extra.

Having said that it was lovely and would probably book this if we returned . The staff were very helpful telling us about trips etc. we did not book any as we were only there for a couple of days decided to our own thing.

Breakfast was good the morning I we had it unfortunately we left early on the last morning before breakfast. It would have been nice to be offered at least some toast or pastry before leaving like a previous guest who was offered breakfast. Consistency would be good for all guests.

The city is easy to get around and the trams are reasonable and are every few minutes .


We would really recommend this hotel and thank you for our stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay over Easter 2013. Very friendly service, in a wonderful location so close to the major sites. Sure its 20-25 mins walking and on the tram to Galata Bridge and the sites on that side of the water but when you see the traffic in Istanbul you'll realise that is no time at all!

We had room 16 which was amazing. Great nights sleep, modern facilities. Rooftop breakfast also a highlight. The nearby restaurant is 'interesting' but the food is worth the effort.

All in all very pleased. Dilhayat really made our stay in Istanbul that much more special.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
#208 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#104 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dilhayat Kalfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dilhayat Kalfa Hotel

Property: Dilhayat Kalfa Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Caddesi Tomurcuk Sokak No: 1, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dilhayat Kalfa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
our hotel is special class.location is old city in istanbul sultanahmet.there is 5 delux rooms and 1 suit rooms.there is all rooms lcd tv ,safe deposit box,hairdry,minibar,direct telephone and of high quality rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Dilhayat Kalfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing