We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place for the price - very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hippodrome Apartment
Ranked #96 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is very basic, it more a place where you can be in a centralize location with a clean place to eat and sleep.

We got a share bathroom, that is not a problem. The bathroom is very clean.
There is no AC in the room, but there is in the common room. However this is not a problem since Istanbul is not that hot (even when in July and the locals said they can't sleep). Room 4 has 3 single beds. It the least expensive room. There is a window, pretty decent, but one of the bed has dust on it as the ceiling is chipping.

Room 5 has only 1 bed, but bigger. The view is much better and there are two huge windows and the air flow is excellent. They even have a fan. However there is practically no space to get from one side of the bed to the other, so you have to get on the bed when you want to go to the other side.

bring your own shampoo and soap.

The common bathroom was clean, but had a weird sulphur smell (typical of Turkey bathrooms I think) and there was no where to place your toiletries, so you have to put all your stuffs on the floor which was inconvenient. However this could easily be fixed if the owner put a small metal rack in.

The house keeper is very sweet, she is old and plunge, but very sweet and like to say "I love you". Murat, the owner is nice and soft spoken. He has 2 helpers, a old one who is also very nice and a young one who is also nice, but for some reasons joked to much for my liking.

The room provides a small towel for each person. The common has a tea kettle, but it has so much deposit on in it that we were grossed out and had to throw out the water we cooked.

There is a mini-market right benefit the apartment (water can be purchase for 0.5 small, 1 TL - 1 litter, and 2.5 TL for biggest)

The hippodrome also have a restaurant. Food was pretty good, slight pricer than some and slight americanized but good. The chicken wings are excellent.

Overall I would recommend this place. It was a little hard to find at first, but once you figure out the right route, it is so close to all the attractions.

Room Tip: Room facing the main street has nicer windows, I think higher floor has better views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CloverIsSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Hippodrome Apartment
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great location in Sultanmhet, this hotel gives exceptional value for money. The room was a good size and spotlessly clean, free wifi and a good tv selection.

The location is just yards from the blue mosque so you can beat the crowds and not get up too early to do so as you are already in the heart of the action.

The owner was really friendly and the restaurant below it is very good quality as well. We went for the room only option so cannot comment on the breakfast but I would definitely stay here again. For the price it is unbeatable.

remember though.. the mosques do call to prayer at sunrise

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The wife and I enjoyed our time in this hotel; so much so it compelled us to write our first TripAdvisor review. For those without the time to read further, suffice it to say, the Hippodrome Apartments, not to be confused with the Hippodrome Hotel, is a wonderful option in a crowded and expensive market. We judged our travel accommodations using cost, location, service & facilities; the Hippodrome Apartments scores high all around.

COST:
Istanbul hotels as a general statement are expensive, which may reflect the nation's European roots over its Asian heritage. The Hippodrome Apartments were less expensive than nearly all other options, while providing what we believed to be superior accommodations.

LOCATION:
In the heart of Sultanahmet in between the Blue Mosque and Sea of Marmara. You are a five minute walk from the Blue Mosque, six minutes from the Hippodrome, seven minutes from the Haga Sophia, eight minutes from the Topkapi Palace & Basilica Cisterna, ten minutes from the coast where you can sit on a bench and enjoy the breeze and fifteen minutes from the Grand Bazaar. From our room, we could look out our window and see two of the minarets of the Blue Mosque down the road, which was quite nice.
The area of the hotel is defined by its cobblestone streets, short buildings and many shops. There is a baker across the street that serves local bread while down the street another merchant sold Borek, the phyllo pastries filled with either cheese, vegetables or lamb that are popular for breakfast. Travel agents abound, though many try to up-sell you so do your research before committing to anything. The street is filled with shops & restaurants while the smaller roads on the side are mostly residential with apartment buildings and hotels providing a pleasant reprieve from feeling as a tourist. A fifteen minute walk away towards the bridge that connects the old and new cities is Sirkeci, where locals eat and buy baklava...worth a visit if only to sample the wares.

SERVICE:
The owner Murat, he owns and runs the restaurant downstairs, is tremendous. He treats you as his personal guests and makes sure you are settled in while leaving you alone to explore and enjoy the city. He has one gentleman who works for him who speaks very limited English but is very sweet.

At one point the Mrs had food poisoning, which can and does happen anywhere in the world. It occurred before we returned to Istanbul so she suffered during our journey. Because we arrived several hours early for check-in we thought we would not be able to procure the room right away. As soon as Murat heard that my wife was sick he made sure our room was ready and allowed us access. He provided extra blankets, she was cold, and offered information on a local hospital that was nearby in case needed. In many respects, his service lifted our experience from good to excellent.

FACILITIES:
The buildings are broadly defined by which part of town you are residing. In the old city, the buildings are usually older and the facilities reflect this fact, though you are close to all the sites. In the new city, hotels are newer and offer more services, though you are in a more commercial area further away from the historical sites that define Istanbul. The Hippodrome Apartments are converted from an existing residential building. Expect basic yet clean and functional with Ikea furniture, A/C & heating. The shower had good water pressure, the water was hot and the tv offered cable channels with a few English language options. The towels are clean though you need to bring your own soap and shampoo, which can easily be purchased locally if one forgets them at home.
There are three units that offer different levels of comfort. The smallest room, 'C' I believe has no bathroom though may have a window overlooking the street. 'B' has a bathroom and is a good size but has a window that opens onto a brick wall. 'A' is a good size room, with a bathroom and large windows that open up to the street that flood the room with light. We stayed in both B & A and while the window is nice, we were rarely in our rooms during the day to take advantage.

In summary, if you are traveling to Istanbul and are looking for a casual, clean and affordable option, the Hippodrome Apartments is a wonderful choice.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get Room 'A' as it provides a large room with own bath and large light fi...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We were vising for about 10 days to attend a conference and to see the sights. What a great, comfortable place in a safe, beautiful location! We initially booked it for only a few nights to get situated in the city, but then just decided to stay the whole time because it was so excellent! The owner is the kindest man. He actually walked me around the city at night when I thought I had lost my travelling companion. Couldn't be more gracious. Also, he owns and operates the restaurant downstairs, which is lovely. Definitely, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mcgheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed a total of nine nights at the Hippodrome Apts. The location couldn't be better for visiting the historic sites in Sultanahmet and there are lots of great restaurants nearby. The staff were extremely accommodating despite our showing up without a reservation and constantly changing our minds about our departure date. This meant changing rooms often and allowed us to sample all three rooms. Each room has its own feel and room 1 is definitely the best: it has a private bathroom and looks out on the street so there's a lot of natural light. Room 3 is as dark as a cave because it faces a brick wall and light doesn't get in. Room 3 has a bathroom in it, though; room 2 also faces the street but uses a tiny shared bathroom out in the hall. All three rooms were luxuriously appointed with soft, comfy beds, overstuffed pillows, 42" flat screen tv's with Western stations available, hot water heaters, mini fridges, thick sound-blocking windows, closets, free wifi with a great signal, and large radiators that heat the rooms well. All rooms have AC as well. Our only gripes were small ones: there are weird motion sensor lights that would constantly turn on and off in each room's doorway and the aforementioned tiny shared bathroom that was all but impossible to shower in (and after you did it was soaking wet til the next day). The staff are great (they run the bar and grille next door), the rooms are spotless, and the room is one of the best bargains in the whole area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room one is the nicest.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed at this apartment for 5D/4N trip at Istanbul on October 2012.
This apartment has a good location at Sultanahmet.. It really close to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum, Topkapi Palace, and Arista Bazaar area.. and around 10min walk to the Grand Bazaar. You could easily found restaurant or cafe around this area, and shops which open till late.

Although they don't put some sign which describe it as an inn.. (which on some conditions can makes you confuse on finding the address).. You can easily found it in front of the five star hotel : Eresin Crown Hotel. The owner of this apartment also own a bar which located next to the apartment building, named Hippodrome Bar.

The owner, Mr. Murat, was helpful during our stay.. On the morning where we should check-in at Hippodrome Apartment, someone named Mr. Bahattin from Indo Hotel has scammed us, he claimed himself to be the owner of Hippodrome Apartment and drag us to an empty creepy old apartment building.. and Mr. Murat helped us talk to the guy and his boss and get our money back..

For the room.. It's adequate, not a big one but it's simple, modern, and comfortable. You are advised to ask for some cleaning service for the room when needed..
For the shared bathroom, it's so small.. All the toilet, shower, and handwash was in 1 small room. And on the floor which I stayed, there're only 1 bathroom to share. Fortunately, during our stay it's not a crowded one.. Well, I think there're only us there.. So the bathroom is not a problem to us.. :)

Room Tip: Ask room with a view.. Or a room with private bathroom probably would be better.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folletto_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#413 of 1,159 in Istanbul
334 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#496 of 1,159 in Istanbul
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Buhara
Hotel Buhara
#116 of 1,236 in Istanbul
61 reviews
Sultanahmet
Vizyon City Hotel
Vizyon City Hotel
#500 of 1,236 in Istanbul
47 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,236 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippodrome Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippodrome Apartment

Address: Kucukayasofya Cad 41/A, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £20 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippodrome Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hippodrome Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing