We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meroddi Galata Mansion

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Ranked #290 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights last April. The location is great, a 2 minute walk from the Galata Tower and 20 minute walk to the Blue Mosque, etc. The staff was brilliant. The breakfast included in our rate was fresh and delicious. Three of us shared a triple room which was adequate but it would've been better if it had air conditioning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marivic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    62
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
97
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We (mum, older brother and I) absolutely loved our stay at Nar Galata hotel. We stayed there for 17 days, so it truly became our home and it was a great hotel. The staff were wonderful and SO helpful. The rooms were perfect size and able to fit all our stuff and we had HEAPS of stuff. The breakfast was amazing - SO much variety! The hotel is located very close to Galata tower where there are heaps of people always visiting but we heard absolutely no noise - ever. It was perfect. The tram/metro was also very close and a 5 minute walk and your on the Galata bridge crossing over to Sultanahmet! We all agreed it was the best location and best value. A friend of mine was staying in Sultanahmet at the same time at Adora hotel and was telling me of how much noise there was ALL the time up till 5am in the morning so we were glad to be staying at Nar Galata. The facilities in the rooms were all very good and very new. It felt like we were the first people to stay there. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay somewhere in walking distance to all the touristic sites yet avoid all the noise and crowds. We will definitely be returning. Thank you Nar Galata hotel for making our stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanaa1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I had a single room - it was small but nicely furnished. It had a "window" facing what must have been a courtyard but now is part of the hotel, i.e. breakfastroom and reception area including a phone which started to ring at about 6.30 am(?) every morning.
If you are anything like a light sleeper forget this place. As some other reviewers have indicated the partition walls are perhaps made of cardboard or some similar material. And if you face the reception there is the additional problem of noise from the reception/breakfast room. Pity about such a nicelooking but shoddy renovation. The area around the hotel is quiet enough but all the sounds from the structure itself makes this pretty irrelevant. The overall poor rating is due to the noise, otherwise this place would deserve a (slightly) better rating.

Room Tip: Another hotel would probably be the best choice unless you can cope with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbeteofritid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. The location of the hotel was very central only 5 minutes to Taksim (square) and also in close proximity to the other attractions. The breakfast was good. I can suggest this hotel everyone

Lack of storage for clothing and toiletries. Rooms are tiny.

Room Tip: No lift. Down room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oanaeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Being a hotel director I appreciate good hotels and pay attention to location, practicality and service. At first we were happy to find this hotel - The location was great, rates seemed good, rooms seemed clean (although basic Ikea style) but the longer we were there the less comfortable we felt. The rooms are actually quite small. You have a cupboard but it is blocked by a bed side table, so we lived out of the suitcase. The room also turned out to be noisy as you could hear the guests speaking next door. Our window was not outward facing but towards a tiny inner courtyard that is next to reception so you could hear chit chat from reception and the set up of the breakfast in the morning. Staff did not seem to be aware (or care?). We moved across to Suite Home Galata (diagonally across the road) after a few days where the rate was the same and service + room quality of double the standard. That made us realize how poor the quality of Nar Galata actually was in relation to it's price.

Room Tip: Choose a street facing room. It is actually more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabeyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ufa, Bashkortostan, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Pretty cozy hotel, right in the historical center of Istanbul. Free wifi (although can be slow). Staff speaks good english and will help you to find the nearest club / mall, so that you're not lost. Take a look at their offers to take you from the airport for free, or for a boat trip ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

A nice small hotel situated in a great location, next to Galata tower, very well renovated. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is very clean, the rooms comfortable despite the fact that there should be more space for luggages and clothes.

Room Tip: It is not recommended for persons with disabilities as there is now elevator (the building is an old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyriakos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#194 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#574 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Antique Hotel
Galata Antique Hotel
#470 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Nidya Hotel Galataport
Nidya Hotel Galataport
#323 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#84 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Beyoglu
Gumusyan Hotel
Gumusyan Hotel
#710 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meroddi Galata Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meroddi Galata Mansion

Property: Meroddi Galata Mansion
Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Cad. No:29 | Galata, Istanbul 34420, Turkey (Formerly Nar Galata Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meroddi Galata Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a narrow, cobbled street leading to the Galata Tower, Nar Galata Hotel is in a traditional wooden building. With free-Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, it offers simple, air-conditioned rooms.Decorated mainly in white, each room includes a TV, minibar and private bathroom.A buffet breakfast is served daily and there are lots of bars, shops and restaurants on Istiklal Caddesi, a 5-minute walk away. There are also cafes on the street that the hotel is located on.The property is 5 minutes’ walk from a tram stop to Taksim Square, 1.5 km away. Trams also go to Sultanahmet and Dolmabahce Palace, both reached in a journey of less than 10 minutes. The Bosphorus River is a 10-minute walk away.A shuttle is available to Ataturk International Airport, 19 km away. Sabiha Gokcen Airport is 42 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Meroddi Galata Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing