We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place”
Review of The Grand Tarabya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Tarabya
Ranked #95 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at Grand Tarabya for business in January 2013 for a week. The view to the Bosphorus was stunning. Rooms were great and service was really good.

If I ever come back to Istanbul, this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulum_Bas, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,

It is great to hear your positive feedback about our hotel.

We are looking forward to host you again at The Grand Tarabya, next time you visit Istanbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Grand Tarabya had gone through a major renovation and end result seems great. The hotel used to be a favorite spot to shoot Turkish movies during the 1970s. The location is great. You can have fish in Garaj Restaurant or have a stylish lunch in Big Chefs Cafe or take walk on the board walk in Tarabya. Nearby villages are also great. Yeniköy is famous with its fish restaurants and Mua Ice Cream. My favorite village is Emirgan which is 30 min walk from the hotel where you can find Sabanci Museum, Sütiş Cafe and other tea houses. The hotel looks far away from city center but indeed you can take subway from the station nearby and reach to Kanyon, Istinye Park, Taksim from where you can take funicular to Kabataş and tram to old town. Not so bad.

Room Tip: Choose Bosphorus view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiddlingTravelNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulum_Bas, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the very special location that offers a brand new alternative way to discover this beautiful city. It is great to read that you have also taken advantage of subway transportation that connects you directly to the hottest spots of Istanbul without any traffic jam.
We are looking forward to have you again at The Grand Tarabya next time you visit Istanbul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed in this building in 1975 - when it was also an hotel - then it disappeared from view for a good long time. Now it's back - with a bang. A very impressive newcomer to the Istanbul scene. It's got one of the best locations on the whole of the Bosphorus, though it is something of a trek back into business districts like Galata. Charming staff, amazing spa (very under-used at the moment) - best hamam I've ever had (and I've had a few) - smart, efficient rooms with good business facilities and a wide range of eateries. A lovely, comforting place to retire to after a tiring day in what is almost always an exhausting metropolis.

Room Tip: Marina view is almost nicer than the full Bosphorus view
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jaypearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulum_Bas, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the very special location that The Grand Tarabya is based in. It is exciting to hear valuable opinions that a guest who has visited the former Tarabya Hotel. Our team is working ceaselessly to exceed expectations of our guests and to crown special memories about Tarabya Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is simply good for business travellers. The room is large, fantastic view of the Bosporus from a panoramic window, wifi is fairly fast and free, meeting facilities are very good and service is excellent. The hotel has a large and very well equipped gym that is open 24/7 which is very good. Design is overall modern and up to the Hyatt/Intercon standards they obviously strive for. If you switched the name of the hotel, you could have stayed at a Hyatt anywhere except the lobby.
It almost seem the lobby was designed by a lower class interior designer vs the rest of the hotel. Its tacky and seems taken totally out of context. Fix this and the hotel will be upgraded compared to other peers in Istanbul. The last item that would lift this hotel to another level is the language capabilities of most of the staff. While very helpfull and attentive, very few understand any English at all.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Bosporus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bulgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulum_Bas, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and your business at our hotel. We would actually like to share some recent good news, our latest award from European Hotel Awards - Best Hotel Interior Turkey.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Grand Tarabya is an absolutely lovely hotel and experience. We have stayed at a number of five star hotels and the best experiences we have ever had pales in comparison to this establishment. This is the first time I have ever been in a hotel and thought that I would like to remodel our home bedroom on its layout and facilities. Our room was absolutely immaculate and daily service was impeccable. The furnishing was superior and the bathroom was pure luxury. The rooms are modern and work quite well with the theme of extravagant comfort; however I would suggest they change the modern carpet that sits on the wood floor to a Turkish carpet design, simply to pay homage to the rich heritage of the region. Our room had a breathtaking view of the Bosphorus, and we recommend you spend some time on the balcony and soak in the amazing scenery.
We did not get a chance to use the spas or pool, and instead opted to take long walks along the scenic Bosphorus. However, we did eat at the many restaurants at The Grand Tarabya and were very happy with the hospitality of the staff and the quality of the food. One of the wonderful qualities of the staff is their appreciation of the region and their confidence in recommending guests to try restaurants outside of the hotel. We did this a couple of times and although we were always impressed with the food, found ourselves returning to the restaurants of The Grand Tarabya. We loved going to the Diba Bar just before dinner and watching the sun set and listen to the beautiful call to prayers coming from the Mosque on the top of the little mountain beyond the yacht club. Try the Turkish wine, it is fantastic! Look for Yusuf, Sonnur and especially Oguz at the Diba Bar; they will take great care of you! We ate at Limani a number of times and were impressed with the food and appreciative of the knowledge Zafer, the sommelier, provided in pairing wine with meals.
I have noticed a number of comments on this website indicate that the price of The Grand Tarabya is too high and can’t agree. We found the prices comparable to Canada or the USA, but you get better quality at The Grand Tarabya. In short, I can’t say enough good things about this hotel and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prof_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulum_Bas, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and our restaurants at the hotel. Our team is working ceaselessly to exceed expectations of our guests and put a smile on their faces. Therefore, such feedback prove us that we are on the right track.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

great modern rooms.. the breakfast is OK but its location has a romantic view on the marina and sea...it has a good facilites..
if you will book a marina view, make sure they give you in the 7th floor and above, else you will not have a full view of the marina and it will face the garden(artifical!!!)

Room Tip: 5th and 6th floors dont have a marina view.. becareful!.. and the concerge i belive he takes a commi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EngEssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulum_Bas, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
Our team tries the best to recommend guests with satisfactory recommendations and our guests are always welcome to go with their own preferences. We have taken notice about your feedback to inform related departments accordingly.

We are looking forward to see you again at The Grand Tarabya to provide you with our most personalized service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After spent 6 nights in downtown Istanbul, we stayed at this hotel which is quite far from the city. We took around 30 minute by taxi on sunday. There were a bit problem with our room reservation caused by one of the provider the online hotel booking,but we still get the room that we want, thanks to the manager of the hotel. We stayed in deluxe room with Bosphorus view, and the room is wonderful, clean and spacious, very different than Hotel in downtown area. The hotel is quiet and very good for relaxing, very near to Bosphorus strait, there are some cafe and restaurant along the way. We had a good time there, took alot of picture of Bosphorus view, had a good quality of sleep...awesome..:)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Margareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulum_Bas, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed our unique location in Istanbul as well as your stay at our hotel. We are a city resort that embraces peace and true vacation for leisure lovers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#66 of 1,159 in Istanbul
505 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#61 of 1,159 in Istanbul
777 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#16 of 1,159 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuat Pasa Yalisi
#611 of 1,159 in Istanbul
85 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,362 reviews
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#99 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Tarabya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Tarabya

Address: Haydar Aliyev Caddesi No 154 | Tarabya, Sariyer, Istanbul 34457, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £96 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Tarabya 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Tarabya is one of the very first five star hotels of Turkey and a true landmark of genuine traditional Turkish hospitality. Combining Turkish hospitality with high standards service and architecture, The Grand Tarabya is a classic in local collective memory as well as a great memory for international guests. With all its glory and glamour, The Grand Tarabya is now entirely renovated, has modernized its tradition and ready to endure its very special place in the hearts and minds.Overview, After an extensive restoration and renovation period, legendary The Grand Tarabya is ready to welcome its guests in 2013. A new member of the Leading Hotels of the World, the luxurious five-star, The Grand Tarabya is located within the Tarabya Bay on the European shores of the Bosphorus. The hotel is 30 kilometres away from Istanbul Ataturk International Airport.Tarabya is a unique spot in Istanbul, with a picturesque view of the harbour and the beautiful landscape.Guest Rooms & Suites168 deluxe guest rooms, 79 Suites, 1 presidential suite, 30 luxury fully serviced apartments. High speed wireless LAN, Safety deposit box, Self-controlled air-conditioning, Bathtub and shower, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV, Data port and international direct telephone line with voice mail service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Tarabya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing