We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view on the Bosphorous”
Review of The Grand Tarabya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Tarabya
Ranked #91 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel and can highly recommend the rooms, food and service. The view of the Bosporus is incredible. The laundry cost however is astronomical and to be honest an absolute ripoff!! This needs to change and even my friends from Europe thought it was outrageous.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AKSAOPM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms, our cuisine and our service. Thank you for your valuable constructive feedback about the Laundry pricing. We would like to inform you that related department has been informed to take the issue under consideration and to take the necessary actions.
We value your opinion to improve our ever developping personalized service and hope to welcome you again at The Grand Tarabya.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A business convention brought me here, but the location, views and service make me want to return again with my family. This hotel, nestled in the small seaside part of town, was worlds away from Istanbul's City Center. With stunning views of the Bosphorus from your room - allowing you to see the bridge that connects this bi-continental city between Europe to Asia. The service is impeccable! The staff friendly and professional. There are multiple restaurants on the property in addition to conference and meeting rooms. Shopping in the hotel as well as a fabulous spa. Try the Hunan (traditional Turkish bath) This is a must see if you're in Istanbul.

Room Tip: As for a view of the Bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celeste G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable comments about The Grand Tarabya.
It's our pleasure and the biggest motivation to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, especially mentioning the friendliness and professionalism of our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

beautiful rooms and view from the room
good breakfast though a bit expensive 30euro pp
nice bar
tarabya is a nice little sea port town north of istanbul...
if u r visiting istanbul for tourism this hotel is a bit far for you..it takes around 30-45mn to reach the center..

Room Tip: bosphorous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, mentioning the rooms, the view and the location .
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel was at the north of Istanbul and a bit far away from all tourism attractions, but I enjoyed the tranquil neighborhood very much. We stayed at a junior suite and the room was fantastic with a nice view.

The only star missing was due to the room service who didn't replenish vanity kits and bottled water...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, mentioning the tranquility and the view. Kindly be informed that we have informed the related department to take necessary actions regarding your constructive feedback about the replenishment of the vanity kits and bottled water.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have just returned form a three day business trip to Istanbul. I stayed at the Grand Tarabya at Tarabya, which is a 30 km, taxi ride from the main airport, costing apprx 80 Turkish lire.
On arrival the hotel looks amazing, first class, you are met by suited consierge who take your bags and escort you to reception. From there on , its all iuxury, the lobby, the lifts , the hallways are furnished in the best quality materials.
My room on the seventh floor was overlooking the Bosphorus, and the marina at Tarabya, absolutely stunning.
The room was amazing , king size bed, desk area, patio and the best air con i have experienced, it actualy does what you ask it to do !
The bathroom is top quality with bath , shower room, wdc compartment, and a sliding electric window panel which if you wish, you can operate to watch tv from the bath ! or retain for privacy.
Everything workls perfect, the water is controlable by temperature, the drench shower unbelievable in its power and control. Perhaps the best room i have had in 25 years in business.
Breakfast is held on the first floor, in a glass window panarama designed room, again overlooking the sea, the service is good, the selection, well, just about all tastes are offered.
I really canot find any issues , any areas of improvement, this hotel is terrific in all accounts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STEVE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your valuable opinions about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, mentioning the location, the room facilities and most importantly our service, room facilities . Our team is working ceaselessly to exceed expectations of our guests and put a smile on their faces, and it's our best motivation to hear that we could do so.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed in Grand Tarabya during my birthday. It was a surprise arrangement of my husband. Rooms are great with fantastic Bosphorus view. You would not know that this same building was one of the oldest hotels in Istanbul. All is great.. Service is fantastic. Except for the massage service. We booked for a couples massage (as part of birthday surprise). Later on we were told that the lady who was supposed to be a masseuse, can not give massage to my husband (male to female issue) which was surprising in a 5 star hotel. Her answer was even more surprising when she told us that it wasn't an issue until then because they mainly had Arab tourist. Hotel lost its charm immediately after this. Yet, I must also say that the management did their best to make it up to us and we were still happy when we left the hotel/

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gulay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and chose our hotel to celebrate your husband's birthday. Your comments about the Spa has been forwarded already to the Spa Management to take necessary actions.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future

Yours sincerely,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The perfect spot after exploring the rest of sleepless Istanbul. What is missing is also a plus….it is away from all places like sultanhamam, topkapi sarayi, grand bazaar. istiklal caddis etc..but that is the best thing about the place. Fantastic view, great rooms, courteous, professional services by all staff. Great high tea.We will definitely return.

Room Tip: bosphorus view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank echappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about The Grand Tarabya.
It's our pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, mentioning the view, the service and the high tea.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#99 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,262 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#55 of 1,163 in Istanbul
794 reviews
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
564 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#12 of 1,163 in Istanbul
562 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Tarabya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Tarabya

Address: Haydar Aliyev Caddesi No 154 | Tarabya, Sariyer, Istanbul 34457, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £121 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Tarabya 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Tarabya is one of the very first five star hotels of Turkey and a true landmark of genuine traditional Turkish hospitality. Combining Turkish hospitality with high standards service and architecture, The Grand Tarabya is a classic in local collective memory as well as a great memory for international guests. With all its glory and glamour, The Grand Tarabya is now entirely renovated, has modernized its tradition and ready to endure its very special place in the hearts and minds.Overview, After an extensive restoration and renovation period, legendary The Grand Tarabya is ready to welcome its guests in 2013. A new member of the Leading Hotels of the World, the luxurious five-star, The Grand Tarabya is located within the Tarabya Bay on the European shores of the Bosphorus. The hotel is 30 kilometres away from Istanbul Ataturk International Airport.Tarabya is a unique spot in Istanbul, with a picturesque view of the harbour and the beautiful landscape.Guest Rooms & Suites168 deluxe guest rooms, 79 Suites, 1 presidential suite, 30 luxury fully serviced apartments. High speed wireless LAN, Safety deposit box, Self-controlled air-conditioning, Bathtub and shower, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV, Data port and international direct telephone line with voice mail service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Tarabya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing