We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the perfect start to our istanbul tour”
Review of The Grand Tarabya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Tarabya
Ranked #63 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Jaipur
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just the perfect start to our istanbul tour”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Just the perfect upmarket hotel one would look on that side of Istanbul .
My room was a breath taking sea view . I Could have gazed the sea all day from the balcony.
The hotel had a very good indoor as well as outdoor pool . The spa services we very up to date and loved the hammam .
The staff at the front desk knew good English so if made things much easier .
My room was on the 9 floor just in front of the lift and once I had forgotten my key in the pool area , I requested the housekeeping lady and the guy to open the room but god knows what the said in Turkish but they never returned . I had to go to the reception to get the new key tag . That's was a bit disappointing , otherwise everything was near perfect .
Best of luck to the property !!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harshita_mayaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, mentioning our staff, the room and spa facilities.
Kindly be informed that for safety and security reasons HouseKeepers cannot open the rooms, however we do apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    102
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
78
105
12
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything about this hotel is grand. The staff is friendly and pulled out every stop to ensure that our stay was comfortable.
The hotel, which is itself a masterful architectural structure, sits with such grandiloquence on the Bosporus, giving us a breath-taking view of the 'Asian' side of the city.
It was with much sadness that we said goodbye to Istanbul. It was true to say that we left out hearts in Istanbul....

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a seaside view of the Bosphorus. You will wake up to paradise every mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your opinions about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our team is working ceaselessly to exceed expectations of our guests and put a smile on their faces and it's our best motivation to hear that we could do so.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Attended a conference at this hotel in May 2014. Everything was spectacular. The rooms well appointed, spacious, extremely comfortable beds, and I don't think it was possible to have a bad view from the balcony. Having balconies in each room a nice touch. The bathrooms had a luxury spa feel to them, it is one of the few times I have been excited by my room following check in and had it exceed my expectations so much.

The staff were helpful and professional.

My only complaint would be the cost of breakfast, perhaps even dining in the hotel in general. While I realize it was a beautiful hotel the prices at the restaurants were reasonably high.

It was also frustrating that while the rates quoted in advance were in Euros it was then converted to Turkish Lira at the hotel....and the exchange rate offered to pay in Euros was outrageous. I would have expected an unfair exchange rate for USD but not for Euros as that was the rate the room was booked in.

The hotel is close to some nice pubs and restaurants within walking distance which all had excellent service and food.

Room Tip: I think they are all fantastic- I saw three and impressed with all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilinghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, mentioning the helpfulness and professionalism of our staff, and the hotel facilities.
Thank you for your valuable constructive feedback about the pricing of the restaurants. We would like to inform you that related departments have been informed to take necessary actions and measures.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Yours sincerely,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
7,244 reviews
279 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10,738 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to this hotel on an occasion of a business dinner organized by one of our sister companies and were surprised with the excellent service and all facilities available.Amazing service and quality of the food provided,made us very happy as we found ourselves in an exciting ambiance.Thanks to all hotel staff who provided this quality service to all of us.We will now try to stay at least 1 night at this hotel to comment further as this facility deserves.Strongly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank junior1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your dinner at our hotel and the service provided.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in our rooms too in the near future, to provide you with our personalized service at its best.
Yours sincerely,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed around week in the the Grand TARABYA Hotel. That was really nice. It's really recommended. You will love it. The only disadvantage is far away from the Taksim. Meeting rooms was also nice, there is view to bosphourus.

Room Tip: see side much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilgey y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your valuable feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and meeting room facilities with the Bosphorus view.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed with my fiancee in this hotel for 3 days, the hotel is located very good area, the hotel staff is very kind and really recommended!!
The room we stayed had a bosphorus view and really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tepcbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, mentioning the staff, the room and the view.
It will be our pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed for 3 nights in Junior Suit Marina View.

Suit is big, comfortable, clean, well equipped, visually divided on living room and bed room. Balcony is narrow but long with a table and chairs (upon request) to relax or get some tan.

Partly Marina View and even some Bosphorus view but nothing special. Jacuzzi and shower, evening service – free bottle of water and locum in a small “sweet dreams” box, fresh towels evening service. Free coffe&tea maker, welcome macaroni on the table to make your visit sweet.

Big and nice fresh breakfast, huge choice of fresh fruits, but no Turkish delights at all.

Meeting rooms are good and excellent for business meeting.

The only but huge minus – the hotel is located miles away from sightseeing, night life and shopping.

I would stay there again for couple days business meeting but would never choose it for tourist vacation

Room Tip: The higher - the better veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lubitelj r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel. Especially we are happy to hear with the little touches of sweets we were able to put a smile on your face.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,149 in Istanbul
407 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#10 of 1,149 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#64 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Tarabya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Tarabya

Property: The Grand Tarabya
Address: Haydar Aliyev Caddesi No 154 | Tarabya, Sariyer, Istanbul 34457, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Tarabya 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Tarabya is one of the very first five star hotels of Turkey and a true landmark of genuine traditional Turkish hospitality. Combining Turkish hospitality with high standards service and architecture, The Grand Tarabya is a classic in local collective memory as well as a great memory for international guests. With all its glory and glamour, The Grand Tarabya is now entirely renovated, has modernized its tradition and ready to endure its very special place in the hearts and minds.Overview, After an extensive restoration and renovation period, legendary The Grand Tarabya is ready to welcome its guests in 2013. A new member of the Leading Hotels of the World, the luxurious five-star, The Grand Tarabya is located within the Tarabya Bay on the European shores of the Bosphorus. The hotel is 30 kilometres away from Istanbul Ataturk International Airport.Tarabya is a unique spot in Istanbul, with a picturesque view of the harbour and the beautiful landscape.Guest Rooms & Suites168 deluxe guest rooms, 79 Suites, 1 presidential suite, 30 luxury fully serviced apartments. High speed wireless LAN, Safety deposit box, Self-controlled air-conditioning, Bathtub and shower, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV, Data port and international direct telephone line with voice mail service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Tarabya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing