We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The legend is back!”
Review of The Grand Tarabya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Tarabya
Ranked #100 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is nice to see that the recently renovated Grand Hotel Tarabya has still the vibrating atmosphere as back in 1970s. The only critic goes to the staff selection. 80 & of the staff at the reception are trainees. You would expect a more experienced staff from such high potential hotel.

Room Tip: of course, Bosphorus (sea) view rooms offer more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank FoodDetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We would like to assure that we value your opinion to improve our ever developping personalized service.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Profitional staff and great people .. The service was spot on. Room cleaning was only held at afternoon i guess though its not that big of a deal . the viwe is nice and the room feel all in all is one of a kind.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaber a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinions about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, mentioning our staff, service provided and the facilities.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand Tarabya for about a week last August. Honestly, it was just simply amazing. The service was top-notch. The staff of the hotel really went out of their way to make us pleased, and made sure we were satisfied. The rooms are very luxurious and modern. I do recommend reserving a room with the Bosphorus view. I mean, that view was just so breathtaking and beautiful! I really enjoyed the breakfast of the hotel. Everything was gourmet and fresh, which is a very important factor. The spa was also good. The location was absolutely great for me because I travel to Istanbul every summer. I loved the fact that it was away from all the busy parts, and hustle & bustle of the city. The hotel was also secluded and away from all the touristic attractions/areas. Tarabya is also a very beautiful neighborhood in Istanbul. Therefore, if it's your first time visiting the city, I do recommend staying at a hotel, which is closer to the touristic areas. One last recommendation: if you are staying at the Grand Tarabya, it's very close to Istinye Park, which is a great shopping center. Overall, a great hotel with great service! Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the rooms with a view of the Bosphorus...absolutely beautiful and breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about The Grand Tarabya.
It's our pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our team is working ceaselessly to exceed expectations of our guests and put a smile on their faces and it's our biggest motivation to see we could do so.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a luxury hotel set in a wonderful setting on the bosphorus. I stayed on business. It could be used as a vacation base. It's a great place to wake up, feeling a little like a Swiss spa town. And a great place to return to for sunsets and dinner in one of the restaurants by the shore. For a vacation stay, you would need to be prepared for up to a one hour taxi each way to see the sights. But it would work.

Views from the rooms are fantastic. I was initially put in a low room facing the garden and that view was poor. But on request I was moved. Make sure you have a bosphorus view, or at least a marina view.

The spa is excellent with a well appointed gym and lovely indoor and outdoor pools.

2 quibbles. The breakfast is average and in my view too expensive. I didn't try the hotel restaurants as I prefer to eat out in the lovely seafront restaurants. Secondly, the hotel decor is very spartan. Not the rooms, which are fine, but the common areas - reception, corridors, areas surrounding the spa. They are dark and totally devoid of soft furnishings - no pitcures on the walls, no ornaments, no lights on the walls. Just masses of bare walls. It's like the construction has been designed by someone who understands luxury, but the soft furnishing has been done by a Soviet depressive. Shame really.

But do not let this put you off. It's great overall.

Room Tip: absolutely insist on a bosphorus view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your opinions about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel, mentioning the facilities, the view and a nice vacation place.
We also do thank you for your valuable constructive feedback and would like to assure you that we value your opinions to improve our service.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed as a family in July and what can I say very luxurious but very relaxed at the same time. The location is fabulous. The Bosporus view rooms are a delight. The spa is very big and offers many treatments. The staff are all very helpful and polite at all times especially the two guys at concierge omer and sahan. We had a lot of problems with the airline and they spent so much time trying to sort this situation out. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Bosporus view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonTij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, especially mentioning the attentiveness of our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.
Yours sincerely,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the grand tarabya for 4 nights. Had a car pick us up at the airport. Our flight was delayed and the driver waited there without question. Check in was more then easy. The ladies at the front desk spoke very good English and our bags were in our room before we even got there. Rooms are very very modern and very clean. House keeping was amazing. They even folded our clothes!!! Organized our toiletries and even left extra water bottles. There are speakers in the bathroom and the granite work is perfect. The shower is great and the bathtub is basically brand new. Very comfortable beds and sheets. The restaurant is very good and service is top notch.

I recommend everyone use the spa. It was probably one of the nicest spas i have ever been in. Up there with fountain blue Miami. And definitely get a Turkish bath. Top notch.

If your wondering where to stay in Istanbul stay at the grand tarabya. Concierge can also set up everything you would like to do.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, mentioning every single step . Our team is working ceaselessly to exceed expectations of our guests and put a smile on their faces and it's our pleasure to see we could manage so.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to provide you with our personalized service at its best.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I travel for business and this was one of the best experiences I had. Classy, lovely quite. I was alone and had a wonderful two nights. The breakfast was amazing and the view was just stunning in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sharmeen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz O, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Tarabya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear The Grand Tarabya Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinions about The Grand Tarabya.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel mentioning the view and the breakfast. It's our pleasure to hear that we could manage to provide you one of your best experiences in a business trip.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Deniz Ozdol
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#420 of 1,175 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#60 of 1,175 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#67 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
#95 of 1,175 in Istanbul
641 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#16 of 1,175 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Tarabya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Tarabya

Address: Haydar Aliyev Caddesi No 154 | Tarabya, Sariyer, Istanbul 34457, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £124 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Tarabya 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Tarabya is one of the very first five star hotels of Turkey and a true landmark of genuine traditional Turkish hospitality. Combining Turkish hospitality with high standards service and architecture, The Grand Tarabya is a classic in local collective memory as well as a great memory for international guests. With all its glory and glamour, The Grand Tarabya is now entirely renovated, has modernized its tradition and ready to endure its very special place in the hearts and minds.Overview, After an extensive restoration and renovation period, legendary The Grand Tarabya is ready to welcome its guests in 2013. A new member of the Leading Hotels of the World, the luxurious five-star, The Grand Tarabya is located within the Tarabya Bay on the European shores of the Bosphorus. The hotel is 30 kilometres away from Istanbul Ataturk International Airport.Tarabya is a unique spot in Istanbul, with a picturesque view of the harbour and the beautiful landscape.Guest Rooms & Suites168 deluxe guest rooms, 79 Suites, 1 presidential suite, 30 luxury fully serviced apartments. High speed wireless LAN, Safety deposit box, Self-controlled air-conditioning, Bathtub and shower, Minibar, Tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV, Data port and international direct telephone line with voice mail service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Tarabya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing