We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hodjapasha Cultural Center
Istanbul Hodjapasha Rhythm of The Dance Show
209

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Hodjapasha Cultural Center
Reviews (2,149)
Filter reviews
2,149 results
Traveller rating
1,139
511
221
124
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,139
511
221
124
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dance show religious ceremony cultural experience dervish rumi tickets prayer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 2,149 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We attended the RHYTM OF THE DANCE show which is usually only once a week – on Saturday at 21:00. It is really something what must be seen in Istanbul and worth its price (110 TKL – the most expensive show in Hodjapasha). The show lasts about 65 minutes but no one second is lost. It is dynamic, with very professional dancers and very interesting scenography.
There are probably about 120-150 seats. The allocation of seats is based on the order of booking (first booked – better seats). We booked seats about to weeks before and have got the best seats (first row, in the middle). The seats are round the scene in a few rows (three sides of the scene) – the dancers are just 1-2 meters in front of the audience). Before the show some hot and cold drinks are offered free of charge.
The show RHYTM OF THE DANCE includes Otomani Palace dances, Zaybek dances from Eagean Region, Roman Gypsy dances, Shamna dance in darkness, dances from Eastern part of Turkey, from Balkan region, dances from Black Sea region and some other dances / solo or group shows. The short video presented on the official web site doesn't reflect the reality which is much more interesting and fascinating. It is allowed to make photos – without flash lamp.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank kkkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Be prepared to be over whelmed by how history practically echoes through the walls of HodjaPasha Cultural Center. The Sufi souls that walked through these halls and the Dervish that rekindle them as they spin is nothing short of being magical. It is elevating and serene.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank kanzulf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2017

It was utterly mesmerising an experience out of this world... I just loved every minute of it.. It is heavenly..

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank SZA1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Do you like Medieval Times restaurant in the US? Then you might like the dervish show at hodjapasha.

When I decided to come to Turkey, I wanted to do three things: to see the Hagia Sophia, to see the Blue Mosque, and to see Whirling Dervishes.

So when my hotel recommended the whirling dervishes at hodjapasha, I leapt at the opportunity and booked right away. I went, and it felt like such a tourist trap. It was a theater performance, not a real dervish ceremony. I think it was the lack of sincerity that made it dull. Like sitting through a lecture by a teacher who doesn't want to be there.

I left feeling ripped off, and sad. So, in short, if you REALLLY want to see the dervishes, like I did, don't go here. Go instead to the monastery in Fatih. They are actual practicing dervishes with an imam and a congregation and they would whirl even if no one was watching.

Date of experience: August 2017
5  Thank SusanGYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

It's a bit of a conflicting experience. On one hand this is a religious ceremony not a show. On the other hand it's a bit hard to believe that 5 men on a stage surrounded by hundreds sitting tourists are actually into it truly and religiously. For it was so so, neither falling under well made show nor really an authentic religious ceremony. But for the price perhaps worth seeing once.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Giedre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews