We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most delicious doner kebab I have ever tried”
Review of Makarna Sarayi

Makarna Sarayi
Ranked #580 of 13,493 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Grand Bazaar
Strumica, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most delicious doner kebab I have ever tried”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you go to Istanbul, you must try the kebab in this restaurant. I ate mixed chicken and beef, and the other day chicken with cheese and vegetables, soooooooooo nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I can find better Turkish Kebab in my own country”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

No worth at all. It is by far the poorest meal I have had since I arrived to Istanbul. Only positive thing is its location with good views to the Mosque and the Constantine Column which is right in front.

Helpful?
1 Thank medemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One best place to dine or grab n go in Istanbul ”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

I make sure to visit and eat here whenever I get to be in Istanbul. Just keep coming back to this place as their food are great and delicious and has the good value of money in a tourist area of Sultahnamet, along with some expensive cafes and restaurants around. It's a busy place and almost always packed but staffs attends right away. Make sure to come and eat here, near Cemberlitas tram station. I loved the best doner, lentil soup and pomegranade juice.

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Falafel, Great Doner!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Falafel is not easy to find in Istanbul, but the falafel here was outstanding. Hot and crunchy on the outside and perfectly tasty on the inside. The doner plates (porsyon) were moist and tasty as well. Service is fast and the price is right!!! I went back twice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bear_in_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect all-rounder restaurant”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This restaurant is located near the Blue Mosque and Hagia-Sophia in the Sultanahmet area. But is closer to one of the entrances of the grand bazar. To be precise, it is in the street opposite the Cemberlitas tram station. It was one of the two restaurants in Istanbul that we visited which served a variety of international dishes including pasta. The name itself (Makarna Sarayi) means Pasta Palace. The food was basic and was already prepared, however, this meant that their service was quick. The restaurant had very reasonable and clean seating and also seating on the rooftop. Prices were decent, especially concidering the large helpings. The menu includes rice, chicken, lamb/chicken kebabs, falafel rolls, etc.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danyal-1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makarna Sarayi also viewed

 

Been to Makarna Sarayi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing