We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations - even better in reality”
Review of Istanbullux Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Istanbullux Suites
Ranked #317 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“High expectations - even better in reality”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I had high expectations according to the already excellent reviews - but reality was even better. We couldn't have wished for more - very good location, amazing suites, very good staff (taking care of reservations, giving tips where to go etc.) - a GREAT EXPERIENCE! Definitively coming back to Istanbul - and there is only one place for us to stay = Istanbullux!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If you - like me - desire to feel like a local the instant you arrive in a new city, then the Istanbullux Suites will fulfill your each and every desire, and then some.
Secreted away in a narrow cobbled artery of the Galata district the Istanbullux appears like a Taj Mahal amongst the ancient dwellings of this, the city's, hidden jewel. The building's external appearance is modern but offers hints of the palace's of the Ottoman empire, encased in cooling, slatted wooden shutters.

The building is impressive, modern, stylish, elegant - all of the things Galata is becoming famous for. Design boutiques sit neatly beside underground factories, Salep sellers adverstise their wares with shouts above the hum of music from trend-setting cafes and bars, and men in expensive suits drink tea with friends in grotty overalls.

The owners of the Istanbullux - along with many others - have recognised the future potential of the Galata district and have been quick to stamp their approval on this vision with the ultra-modern and outstandingly sophisticated design suite/hotel.

Inside the reception area, artists display their stylish wares in a building of concrete, steel, glass and wood. An uber-modern and silent lift will whisk you to your floor where your apparment's giant and modern door will hint at what lies beyond.

I was amazed - too small a word - at the sight (and size) of my suite. A kind of futuristic self-contained Sultan's palace with vast windows discretely hidden behind those wooden slats but allowing a voyeuristic view of life outside.

A small but perfectly apportioned kitchen area nests seamlessly into the design of the lounge area. Silks, satins, velvet and gold paint, neat stripes and Arabic swirls complement the building's neat lines and bare unpainted concrete. I loved this place the moment I set foot inside it doors - as if this wasn't already evident.

The bedroom is large and comfortable, the bed linens feel like the materials of a monarch, the frosted glass of the showers and toilet are discreet but still 'belong' in the architect's vision. And by the way, all of the hotel's designer fittings, linens, utensils and decor are available from the owner's nearby boutique - HIC (pronounced Hitch).

On the practical side of things, the Galata area is abuzz with activity in its tiny narrow streets. Boutiques, galleries, designers, photographers, architects, furniture makers, jewelers, kebab shops, bakeries, mini markets and carpet sellers share a space that's full of the new life of Istanbul. The Instanbullux is sited right in the heart of the area making access to public transport (the metro station at Sisane) only a short stroll and the long pedestrianised shopping street of Istiklal even closer.

Breakfast at the Istanbullux is served in a common area adjoining the hotel's reception area - or can be served in your suite should you desire. Typically Turkish the breakfast is wholesome and tasty; cheeses, olives and nuts, fresh fruits, yogurts, jams and preserves and freshly baked breads will set you up for a day's business for sight-seeing.

Whether you are in Istanbul for business or pleasure the Istanbullux Suites offer the very best, and most luxurious, of stays in the heart of the one of the world's most bustling city. If I ever have a chance again, I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The hotel is tucked away in a side street of the trendy Galata area and located in the most beautiful contemporary building in Istanbul. Both outside and inside are absolutely amazing: an elegant and robust mix of glass, steel, wood and concrete. Not only is the architect nominated for the prestigious Mies van der Rohe award, the room is wonderfully decorated by the owners. Center piece might be the in-room rain shower or maybe just the king size soft bed. And downstairs you can find all the amazing design items in the shop / hangout where a delicious breakfast is served (love the cheese!). This is also where we met with the owners who are very lovely and helpful to show you around. An absolute must for lovers of contemporary architecture and design!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jotham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

In the heart of the Galata district - where fashion houses, design stores and trendy cafes are opening every day - is the discrete and stylish Istanbullux.

I am a frequent traveller but this is without doubt my number one place to stay.

Istanbullu means resident of Istanbul and staying in these superbly designed studios with fully serviced kitchen, TV, sound systems, wifi, I can actually feel I am one ( having lived in Istanbul in the past, it's nice to still feel like a local). Istanbul - and Galata especially - boast many boutique hotels - and the owners of istabullux also own the amazing Ibrahim Pasha in Sultanahmet. What I think is unique to both hotels is the impeccable design combined with a down to earth, unfussy coolness and amazing service and standards. Difference here is the location and if, like me, you are interested in design, architecture, art - this is definitely the place for you.

The building itself is stunning - constructed out of wood and glass and already nominated for several architecture awards. I haven't seen many buildings like this one in Istanbul.

I'm in Istanbul for work but I'm already trying to figure out when I can return to stay here for a weekend break. Delicious breakfast is served in the shop store downstairs where you can also purchase some of the design ware which decorates the room.

Boutique hotels the world over should come and learn.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSAUr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#227 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,230 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#353 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbullux Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbullux Suites

Property: Istanbullux Suites
Address: Tatar Beyi Sok. 25, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idea about Istanbullux Suites came about as an inspiration from our boutique hotel of twenty years Hotel Ibrahim Pasha and our contemporary crafts shop Hic. We wanted to combine design, hospitality and luxury in this bohemian part of the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing