We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, food and ambience”

Varka Antakya Lezzetleri
Ranked #115 of 13,715 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
Description: Antakya is a capital of culture with it's unique nature , historical texture , human and dishes at the end of the Eastern Mediterranean It is estimated that the first settlement was approximately about 300 BC in Antakya which was the fourth metropolis of the era with 100,000 population. Antakya contains a blend of cultures all over from past to present. As a result of this blend French , Ottoman , Greek and Middle Eastern Arabic Cuisine culture has been the inspiration of Antakya Cuisine.We are proud of carrying the unique flavors and cultural texture of Antakya, the cradle of civilizations.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Service, food and ambience”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our group of sixteen employees from a small firm in London has spent two days in Istanbul. Tonight we went to the Varka Anttakya Lezzetleri in the Asian part of Istanbul. I really did not expect to equal our experience of last night in the old town but it certainly was equal or better. The title of this review says it all. Service was great, the food was very good and we had a private dining area upstairs. I do not know how much the bill was but the individual main courses were all around 20-25 Turkish Lira. The wine bill probably exceeded the food bill.

The area in which the restaurant is located is worth the trip so give it a try. I do not think you will be disappointed. As a matter of interest I had the marinated chicken thighs. Yummy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    59
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic and very friendly”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant through TripAdvisor. It was everything that was promised. Wonderful, authentic food and extremely friendly staff. If you like good food, love Varka.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hole in the wall that is worth your time”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four (children 9 & 11 yrs old). We were looking for a nice Turkish dinner and we found it at Varka. It was extremely affordable and the food was delicious. The Sampler platter was excellent and our children enjoyed experimenting with the tastes. The stuffed eggplant was fantastic and our kebabs were extremely tasty. It was a pleasant treat on our second night in Istanbul. We'd definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank TheMacs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had this place recommended by the guest relations lady at Sutania hotel. We said we wanted great Turkish food rather than atmosphere. This place absolutely fitted the bill. Took us to an area we perhaps wouldn't have visited, quite the Oxford St of Istanbul. But, off a side street was this great find. Simple menu but with clearly some choice, superb versions of Turkish cuisine. My only Advice would be pace youSelves. We possibly over ordered, and the food is filing. Great service and next door the best Turkish coffee and shisha joint we found. For foodies, definitely worth a visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agscamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A foodie "insider" place to eat in Istanbul”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went on a day-long culinary tour of Istanbul and Varka was one of the places we stopped at for Turkish salads. We liked it so much that we came back here for our last dinner in Istanbul.

We asked our friendly waitress to order for us and had a superb, parting meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DogenJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varka Antakya Lezzetleri also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Varka Antakya Lezzetleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing