We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent modern hotel, top class service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ottopera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ottopera Hotel
Ranked #6 of 1,014 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent modern hotel, top class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot yet Ottopera was probably my best hotel stay ever. The room was spacious, light, well-equipped, and modern with new top quality bed, wooden floors, all new bathroom, everything super clean. Room had flat screen TV, fast free WIFI everywhere, free safety box, and a working table with a very nice view to the street. The breakfast was included and it was really top quality and plentiful, including e.g. fresh fruits, freshly made omelets and cappuccino. Every day 2 bottles of drinking water appeared in the room, for free. Excellent location with the lively Taksim Square a small walk away, yet in a nice, safe, and quiet street. All staff super nice and helpful. I will for sure try get a room at Ottopera again whenever I go to Istanbul.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    64
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
125
44
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you want to stay somewhere central, clean, cozy, with an amazing staff, look no further. In addition to the amazing prices to stay in this awesome boutique hotel, everyone that works there is incredibly accommodating. The design and aesthetic of the place is also gorgeous - a lot of attention to detail and thought went into it.
My boyfriend and I can to Istanbul for a week and this place was like home. On the first day we were there, we wanted to go to a soccer game at the stadium and were having trouble buying tickets online. The hotel manager, Mehmet, and the other hotel staff banded together, called friends, went above and beyond to get us to the game, and it was so great. Aside from that, they were great with restaurant and bar recommendations, places we never would have discovered on our own. I'll always remember how wonderful this place was, and hope I'm able to get back and visit someday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eczander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with a friend in November. We took the room with a small back garden. Staff were very professional and welcoming, the room was very clean and comfortable. I really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Will definitely use this hotel again

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deyaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here last april , I should say the room was quite clean . Small but Comfy and a walking distance from Taksim square and Istiklal where you could easiy take any type of transportation , the metro or the buses to the airport.
We stayed in a room in the basement ( the only one available ) and the bad thing about it is that it really had a bad smell all day from the bathroom, also the windows in the ceiling has to be shut completly. We had water spilt all ove rus while they were cleaning the street.
Another thing they mentioned they have laundry servcie however they dont; I spilt oil all over my jacket and could find a place to clean it .
All over it was good I will definetly go again but I will USE another room.

Room Tip: Dont choose the basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

To start with the rooms are very nice, the bed was really comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is also very well located for the busses coming and going to both airports, which is very convenient. The hotel is also within walking distance to shopping and eating districts. The breakfast was also pleasant and enjoyable, though we had better breakfasts elsewhere in Turkey. Our main issue with this hotel is that there are no fans in the bathrooms and the drains were quite smelly. We changed from our first room for this reason, but the second room was the same. I think it is a lovely hotel but it would be greatly improved if they could do something about the problem with the smelly drains.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed just one night at Ottopera before returning home. The place is very new and rooms are big. There is one desk and chair in the room but no light on the desk! Bed is not very long (190cm?) but is quite large and confortable. Internet works well in the room. We had to turn off the fridge as it was noisy (and empty). The breakfast was not as good as the rest. While they offered an omolete, there was not much other choice - no orange juice, no turkish youghurt, no variety of bread, no honey. Things we had seen everywhere else we stayed in Turkey. The price (80€) was quite good for the quality. The location in Taksim is ok, but if you plan to do more touristy things, the old town is better to stay.

Room Tip: Better to stay on first or second floor rooms (no lift, though).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NextStopWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have just returned from a week in Istanbul...we were recommended this hotel by some friends that stayed there and i must say i was very pleasantly surprised by the overall quality and cleanliness of the place. the rooms are quite spacious and nicely decorated. the staff were always helpful and at times went out of their way to accommodate our requests. The location is just perfect as its just off Taksim square. the only two hitches was the fact that the TV had only one English speaking channel and the breakfast was sparse and always the same things were offered... we actually asked for toasted bread but they didn't have a toaster! Having said that, i would definitely reccommand this place to my friends if they were to go to Istanbul

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malteseglobetotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#149 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#94 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#119 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Beyoglu
Ayramin Hotel
Ayramin Hotel
#2 of 1,014 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ottopera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ottopera Hotel

Property: ottopera Hotel
Address: Feridiye Cad. No 95, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,014 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ottopera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 300 metres from the Taksim Square and Taksim Metro Station, this classic style hotel with modern decorations features a 24-hour front desk and free Wi-Fi access in all areas.Well-decorated rooms at Otto Pera Hotel include air conditioning, wooden floors and a flat-screen TV. A safety deposit box and a minibar are also provided. Private bathroom comes with free toiletries, slippers and a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your ottopera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing