We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, friendly staff, a hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Horn Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Horn Guesthouse
Ranked #245 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, friendly staff, a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed in a spotlessly clean and well furnished 3 bed apartment/suite here in May 2013, with very comfortable beds and the owners/staff were wonderful. The standout feature is the view, which is enjoyed by most (if not all) of the rooms as well as the excellent restaurant - panoramic across the city and the Bosphorus including the Galata tower and Bosphorus Bridge (see photos).

Location was also excellent - close to the centre of the Old City very near the Grand Bazaar (~10 mins walk) and within strolling distance of the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Cisterns, etc. (all ~15-20 mins walk). Whenever we ordered a cab it turned up within 5-10 mins and being located close to the main bridges it was very easy to get into Beyoglu where some of the better restaurants are located (the owner even gave us a lift a couple of times).

WiFi internet was free and fast with a decent signal all through the hotel allowing glitch free Skype calls. Breakfast was also excellent with a whole table full of local breads, cheeses, butters and omelettes etc. and they make it specially for you - no queuing for a stale buffet.

We had considered staying in a hotel but were lucky to find this place which is ideally positioned yet on a quite street - would definitely recommend. Perfect base from which to explore the city, and to relax in between while looking across the river with a beer/glass of wine. Thank you very much to the owners for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafehalic, Yönetici at Golden Horn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 18 December 2015
we are very happy for your nice comments. we hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Called here quite by accident and found a very clean guest house and cafe just by the Sulimanye mosque. It has remarkable views over the Golden Horn and looked very smart and clean, in a quiet neighbourhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat_cliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafehalic, Yönetici at Golden Horn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 18 December 2015
we are very happy for your nice comments. we hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Café Halic is an unpolished gem. It is in a great location on the southwest side of the famed Halic (Golden Horn), the maritime economic engine around which Istanbul was built for the past 12,000 years. It is within about 200m meters of the Sulimanye (Solomon) Mosque and an easy walk to all of the major historical sites – Haiga Sofia (5th Century) , Topokapi Place, SultanAhment Mosque (Blue Mosque), Hippodrome from Roman times, the Grand Bazaar, the Spice Bazaar and right across the bridge the Galata Tower. Slighty farther way, perhaps 2 km, is Taxim Square shopping/dining district. We are not Muslim, but the mosques, mostly built by the famed Sunan in the 16th century, are absolutely lovely.
The inn is on a side street with a direct northerly view from large windows of the Galata tower, the Golden Horn and the Bospurus. The Inn is bout two side streets in from the Golden Horn (which is a bay where ships rested awaiting favorable winds to transit North through the south flowing Bosporus) and the Bospurus itself across to Asia. Ferries, fishing boats and large freighters are in motion all the time. The Inn is simple but nice. We choose it for a three bedroom with a sitting room for our traveling family, and it worked great. A man across the street raises chickens which roam freely on this quiet side street; I assume our eggs came from this fresh source.
The Café breakfast is outstanding, pic attached, and made available to us at different times as our schedule demanded. Cheeses, dried meat, olives, dried fruits, breads, spreads for the breads (my favorite was a butter-like cream with honey), fresh tomatoes and cucumbers, olives, and a different egg dish all four mornings made for a very filling meal. Interestingly to us, Turkish Tea is the common drink at all times of the day; I had expected coffee, but in Rome, well… and the Turkish tea as great.
The beds were comfortable, linens about average, nice comforters. The furnishings felt a bit “grandma” to us with lace doilies and padded furniture. The rooms all had an opaque window in them, including the single bathroom we shared as a family. Sleep was quiet and comfortable, but be aware that the call to prayers is at dawn – and four more times each day. A minaret is nearby. One oddity is housekeeping is only on request, happily supplied, but only if we asked. Laundry was turned around that day if we got it to them at breakfast.
Public transport is easy and close. Sirkeci Train Station, Trams and public ferries are all within sight of the Inn and about ½ KM away. We did not use a Taxi and so can’t comment. Money changing among USD/Euro/Turkish Lira is cheapest and easy at the Spice Bazaar. Street food from small stalls or small restaurants is safe, good, cheap and ubuiquitous.
Café Halic is also a 24 seat restaurant. We ate there our first night and found them to be as good as the other restaurants we tried. The local Anatolian wine was good and served with flair.
The place has a B&B feel to it with a warm welcome. If you want fancy lodging or a fancy street, pick another place. For a good value, warm hosts, great location, super food and a more local feel, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJKoglCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafehalic, Yönetici at Golden Horn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 18 December 2015
we are very happy for your nice comments. we hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
Hayriye Hanim Konagi Hotel
#49 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#350 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#156 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#231 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Horn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Horn Guesthouse

Property: Golden Horn Guesthouse
Address: Demirtas Mah.Ayranci Sok.No:9, Istanbul 34134, Turkey (Formerly Cafe Halic & V.I.P. Guesthouse)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar , Golden Horn
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk to Spice Bazaar, Cafe Halic & V.I.P. Guesthouse is in the heart of historical Sultanahmet area. It offers free Wi-Fi, free on-site parking and air-conditioned accommodation with a seating area. The suites and apartments at Cafe Halic & V.I.P. Guesthouse come with modern decoration. The suite has a terrace with panoramic sea and city views. You can enjoy your daily breakfast in the restaurant. The guest house also has an a la carte restaurant for lunch and dinner. You can enjoy a cup of Turkish coffee while reading your daily newspaper. Airport shuttle service can be provided at a surcharge. The front desk is available 24/7. Only a 10-minute walk to the Grand Bazaar, Cafe Halic & V.I.P. Guesthouse is less than 2 km to Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace. Ataturk Airport is 17 km away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Horn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing