We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I ever seen!!!”
Review of Bestur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bestur Hotel
Ranked #499 of 1,051 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“The worst hotel I ever seen!!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Only if you are a cockroaches lover you can stay at this hotel. Hundreds of cockroaches. Smell awful. Misery as in the Middle Ages. Whe I asked for my refund they start to yell and they kick us out in the street!

No money back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Perfect location, close to Grand bazaar-Sultanahmet all stations 'tramvay just 2 min. and bus 3 min'. Also breakfast is open buffet with so many kinds. The staff was very helpful and friendly specially (Farhat)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorgis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

In order to best describe my experience at the Bestur hotel I will break up the review into sections. I love Istanbul and the Bestur hotel helped me get the most out of my experience there.

THE EXCELLENT:

Location - Bestur hotel is ideally located near the Byazid tram station. About a 3 minute walk. This also means that you are within a maximum 5 minute walk from the Grand Bazaar & The University, 10 Minute walk to Suleymani Mosque, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and 15 minutes from the Topkapi Palace, Archeological Museum, Mosaic Museum. There are a number of convenience stores around with normal prices for everyday items. This hotel is also smack middle of the purse district, meaning every store within 100meters specializes in womens purses.

Safety - My wife and I felt very safe. At no point in time did we even see a shifty character in the neighborhood yet alone anything that would raise concerns. The way that the entrance is designed is that there are several doors and there is always someone at the main entry to hold the elevator door for you. Since this is a boutique hotel, unless you belong, you will be spotted immediately.

Personnel - Staff at the Bestur are kind, polite, courteous and very helpful. Everyday we were asked if we were happy and if there is anything that can be done to enhance our stay. The warmth of the staff was definitely felt. All staff spoke sufficient English. A number of times we were surprised with hot beverages and cake. All around one couldn't ask for more attentive and nicer people.

Clean - Rooms and the hotel are clean and sanitary. The staff were constantly cleaning something

Pricing - Bestur is very affordable

Other guests - Other guests were mostly of non western origin. They all behaved conservatively and non imposing to other guests. There were no loud guests and certainly no one partying it up. This further boulstered our feeling of safety and added to the overall quietness of the place.

THE GOOD:

Neutral colours - The room is non imposing and pleasant.

Huge glass door instead of window allowed for easy ventilation. The airconditioner compressor is visible once the door is opened which takes away from the view.

TV - although small, it features a number of channels (mostly non English).

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT:

Bed comfort - This is not unique to Bestur, most hotels have firm mattresses. While my wife liked the bed, I am heavy set and need more plushness. My suggestion is that the hotel stock foam pads for people like me, alternatively bring a foam topper with you.

Bathroom - The bathroom is very small but functional. Due to its size (this is typical for many places in old Europe), there isn't a defined shower tub, rather the whole floor is the shower tub. You wont get the toilet or the sink wet as there is a shower curtain its just setup in a way most westerners are not used to and it can be a bit of a surprise. It would be nice if the shower tub was defined. The soap and shampoo are liquid dispenser based which is very helpful given the size of the space.

Power plugs - there was only one in the room. Luckily I brought a three way splitter so that I could charge my many devices at once. There is a plug in the bathroom but it is only suitable for a shaver as there is no place to store something like a phone.

Décor - Again, the room is HIGHLY functional, but the décor is very basic.

Growing families - While there is no reason why you couldn't bring a kid with you - I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have a small baby requiring a basinet or a stroller. There is simply no room for the gear. While the hotel would happily supply you with boiled water, it isn't really practical if you need to prepare formula etc.

Breakfast - While there were about 15 or so different items, I didn't find the breakfast to be ideal. I would have liked to see more fresh fruit selections, pastries, individually package items such as fruit yoghurt etc.

Final Impressions:

The hotel is due for a renovation at the end of this tourist season and in speaking with the owner, I am definitely excited about it. I think that with some non drastic changes the hotel can realize its true potential.

As is I would definitely come back to this hotel. When choosing a place to stay consider if you are going to Istanbul for the city or for the hotel. if you are going for the city, then Bestur will definitely satisfy, if however you are going to Istanbul to be wowed by your hotel room then likely you should pick the Four Seasons!

Room Tip: Fifth floor - least noisy and great view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleks-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My friends went to Istanbul in the August 2013 and spent only one night because they were very terrifing from the staff and the dirty rooms of the hotel. When they call me I advice them to use the tripadvisor to see all reviews of differnet hotels in Istanbul. So they assumed that there choice of Bestur hotel is a bad decision and they went to an other hotel which is very close to all the famous places to be visited in Istanbul just by wallking without using tram or buses.
Personally, I advice the users of tripadvisor to think a lot before choosing a hotel.
Thanks.

Room Tip: No good rooms in any sides of the hotel and it is very noisy hotel, you could not sleep without hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hayet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The manager is a polite person, and the location of the hotel is interesting.
In April 2013,my friend and I spent 5 nights at that hotel and there was unpleasant servant who stay in the reception at night. So the service was good in the day and very bad at the morning and at night. No one can believe that, this servant was working as a controller at the reception during the breakfast time even they called self service breakfast.
Personnally, I will not come back to this hotel and I will not recommand it to another person.
There is alot of others hotel in Istanbul and in Bayazit which are very nice and with the same price or lower.
That's it

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hayet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Location is close to all major tourist attractions and 5 minutes to tram/bus.
Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Rooms clean and tidy
Chef serves a great Breakfastani
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013.

Fareed Rabbani

Room Tip: Stay on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#89 of 1,149 in Istanbul
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#155 of 1,149 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#209 of 1,149 in Istanbul
118 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#274 of 1,149 in Istanbul
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bestur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bestur Hotel

Property: Bestur Hotel
Address: Mimar Kemalettin Mah. | Kucuk Haydar Efendi Sok. No: 6 Beyazit,Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #499 of 1,051 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bestur Hotel which is located in the Fatih covered the entire Historical Peninsula is designed for the most of tourists all around the world.The hotel is in walking distance to historical and cultural centers such as Topkapi Palace, Ayasofya Museum, Sultanahmet Mosque, Islamıc Art of Museum and Grand Bazaar. It offers comfortable and cozy accomodation for an advantageous price. Bestur Hotel is established in 2011 as a with 15 rooms, restaurant in the heart of the historical old city on the Basilica Cistern street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bestur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing