We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turkish hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #280 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turkish hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Vural ( owner) and his staff are honest and trustworthy people. We felt like we are his guests in his house. He did everything for us even loaned us Turkish Liras to buy a few things when we arrived late at night. He was our guide and helped us plan our daily sightings. We felt safe the whole time and didn't have any trouble with transportation to the downtown area. Taxis were available as soon as you got out of the hotel or you can have a nice walk 35 min to Eminonu. The rooms were clean and have all the basic things (hot shower, air conditioning, towels, safe, fridge, coffee and tea etc...
Our kids loved eating breakfast and playing with the bird in the lobby. Fresh bread, cake, tea and coffee, jam, chocolate spread, omelette, milk, juice etc were offered daily. There are some nearby restaurants that you can go to or you can take the bus 99A to Eminonu and you will find even more choices. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood away from flocks of tourists and close to small shops and a bakery where you can buy snacks, bread and water bottles. We loved Turkey and had a wonderful time in Istanbul!
Tip: there is a nearby university that you can show to taxi drivers to know where the hotel is. Most drivers are not very familiar with the narrow streets there and might have to call Vural ( owner ) for directions! But when we start telling them about the university it was a breeze after that!
Family staying in room 303 from Tunisia

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Afek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    32
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
37
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morwell, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

As the title suggests the Lotus Staff welcome you like you're in their home. The location is a typical turkish residential street with lots of little shops that were very cheap, definitely not tourist prices. Just a slow 20 minute walk to the main action of the spice market. The breakfast in the front room is delicious and made fresh for you and the host of the hotel speaks great English and is more than happy to give you guidance on prices to expect (so you don't get ripped off) and where to go and how to get there. The host really treats you like family and is very hospitable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_A_Team_85_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Clean, comfortable, well-equipped rooms, and the most hospitable host you could hope for anywhere. The area is perfect for escaping the madness of the city too, with a lovely, peaceful and homelike atmosphere. Thank you Vural, you made our stay in Istanbul so pleasant, and our transition into the crazy hubbub so much easier, by helping us out in so many ways! Maps, a public transport card, countless explanations and directions, recommendations and overall advice and assistance whenever we needed it. We hope to see you again, and wish you and the rest of the Lotus staff all the very best!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a wonderful holiday in Istanbul.
They have great staff, correct price, wifi everywhere...
The mosque that is near to hotel was little noisy in the mornings but we forgot it after first night. You can feel there the real flavor of Istanbul.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank manuel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Like many have mentioned before me, Vural and his staff were friendly and accommodating to all of his guests. In my opinion, he shows more concern for his customers than any other large or small chain hotel located in the tourist district.
With respect to location, it's not the most convenient hotel. However, I really liked the feeling of living in a non-touristy area, where you see kids playing in the streets and old men sitting around on the sidewalks in the evening. It's a nice break from the pack of tourists that swarm around the Sultanahmet district. That said, it's easy to take the bus to Eminonu and from there walk to the main markets (spice, Grand Bazaar) within 10-15 minutes. If you're fond of walking, it's a lovely 30-40 min walk by the water to the main attractions.

I would definitely stay at Lotus hotel again if I ever were to visit Istanbul again. The rooms are basic and clean, and that's all you ever need in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family of 4 (including our two sons who are 20 and 22) thoroughly enjoyed our 8 nights. Vural and Ahmet, the owners were super helpful and available to answer every question and offer advice when solicited. If we encountered a problem with the room, Vural attended to it immediately. We asked about washing our clothers and Vural said "we do it for free" and they did. We had several loads, too! We loved the European "pensione" feel of the Lotus and the opportunity to meet and talk with other guests in the living area on the first floor. The guests are from all over the world so we learned a lot in our dialogues with them. Breakfast was more than ample. Coffee and tea were offered anytime of the day. We had the room for 4 people...a bit snug but the price was right - approximately $708 for 8 nights (now that's a deal considering the location -close to everything - the service - excellent), The hardest adjustment initially was the "call to prayer" (loudspeaker outside our window) at 4:30 AM most morning. We would suggest varying the breakfast menu and investing in bigger sheets so they don't pull out so easily. Pick up from the airport took longer than it should have. Higher wattage lamps next to the bed would have made reading at night easier.

Room Tip: Corner room for 4 people on the 3rd floor is a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

As seen in previous reviews, the facade and surroundings of this hotel might deceive you when you arrive but wait until you meet the owner. Vural, which is the hotel owner makes all the difference in this property, keeping remodelled and clean rooms. He is always friendly to give you all the important information with a cup of coffee. The rooms also have new air conditioner splitters and complimentary water to keep you cool. Breakfast was included, delicious and enough to keep you up and running at noon.
This neighbourhood is not downtown however buses are available a couple of blocks away. You get used to the suburban feel of the neighbours and with that in mind, we ended up having dinner in a small eatery just a few meters away from the hotel - cheap and delicious.
If good service is what matters instead of a lot of amenities that you don't end up using, this hotel will surprise you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#530 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#654 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#208 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#454 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#314 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#394 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hotel Istanbul

Property: Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Address: Vakif Mektebi St. No.1 | Yavuz Sultan Selim Dist, Fatih, Istanbul 34086, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Fener & Balat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Hotel Istanbul is the perfect choice for you. We are located center of the oldcity. It is as convenient as you can explore Istanbul without worrying about the distance Blue Mosque, St.Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Galata Tower, Taksim Square, Ortakoy. The bus stop Eminonu/Sirkeci is just 10 minutes walk from our hotel. Therefore going to or coming from the tourist areas is extremely easy. Shopping, eating, sightseeing etc. can all be done nearby our Hotel. The Rooms of our Hotel are newly built and very clean with air-conditioning. Our place is in the resident area so you can assure for the safety. You can relax as much as you want after the long adventure day at your room. ***As we are family guest Hotel, guests are not allowed to bring any outsider to stay in the room, if we find out, a host will ask you to check out immediately.*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing