We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel worth five star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Retaj Royale Istanbul
Ranked #444 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Iskenderun, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel worth five star”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have come to the royal hotel for a conference ritage rooms were wonderful, and the service is excellent, the staff is respectful , and a spacious lounge suitable for holding large conferences , thank them , and hope we come next time (;

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    57
    23
    16
    7
See reviews for
44
51
12
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean, rooms are big and very well furnitured, very comfortable, food is very delicious and very freindly staff.
This was very beautifull experiance which I would come back again for sure and also recomend Retaj hotel to everybody.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 258samars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahrain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I choose the Retaj Royale Istanbul hotel for my knowledge that it was built by a Qatari investors for the Arabs visiting Istanbul.
Some of the front desk staff speaks Arabic beside English and Turkish making things easier.

Hotel Location:
The hotel is big, with around 11 storey and you can see it from the main highway. It is 15 minutes drive from Ataturk airport and very near to many attractions.

View:
The hotel has no view and surrounded by low rise buildings, warehouses and workshops.

Security:
The hotel has a hydraulic barriers to allow car flowing from oneside but they neglected the exit where anyone can drive directly and many taxi drivers had taken me through from the exit because it was easier to enter and much more logical than the entry side.
Once inside the hotel you may pass through a metal detector and working fine. Of course these are in most hotels nowadays but it depends on how it's being used.
Unattended entrance from the "Zone Café" at the hotel front side allow people in and out of the hotel without being noticed. The cafe is frequently not-staffed and there are no cameras even on the cafe's cash teller.

Rooms:
Well equipped, theres a 50" HD TV with a variety of channels some of them are Arabic including the MBC package.
Minibar is there, fridge and water kettle, but be ready for daily visits from the person monitoring it, around the afternoon time, he will come knocking every door saying "Minibar" and if you don't open he'll go to the next room but you will continue hearing him in the corridor knocking the doors. I tried pressing the do not disturb button but he still came and tried opening the door with his key (incident happened on Sunday December 8th 2013 at around 1100 pm).
Lighting in the rooms are very low and inconvenient, and there are many switches to control the few lights.
Prayer qibla direction is clearly identified on a sticker on the ceiling. Prayer mat and Quran is available in the room.
There is a problem with the room door as it close very hard and I feel so embarrased when it bangs so hard behind me, people must be cursing me for that.

Facilities:
They have a swimming pool, gym and Spa but I wasn't able to check them out during this trip.

Shuttle service:
This is where the hotel fail to utilise their services. There is a large TV screen by the elevator showing the shuttle timing leaving to certain areas taking hotel residents free of charge, however, the guests are not encouraged to use it. I asked for a shuttle on (Friday December 6, 2013 at 0900 am) to go to the airport but seemed like i was not taken seriously when I informed the receptionist, the concierge and the watchman then I went to sit on the sofa opposite the entrance, by 9 the shuttle was waiting across the road ready to move with two staff I called the watchman and told him if this was the shuttle to the airport and he said "maybe" and went to call him outside the hotel and the driver came back. This happened to me three times during my stay.

Restaurant:
Part of the hotel package was the breakfast. Food was the same everyday except you the scrambled eggs is swapped with shakshoka (eggs + tomatoes). No Arabic bread in here so get used to eat the European style.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bofris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irbil, Arbil, Iraq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It was excelent overall great service and the hotel is very close to Ataturk airport, that's why we picked it as we had an overnight layover,very nice breakfast nice and cooperate staff free shuttle buses to airport and to city cente

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Hussein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jordan
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

i recommend retaj hotel .for any one who is looking for the comfort and for the quality of stay.
hospitality of the crew .thank you so much MR. golchen .for your help and advises .
the transportations was a lot of fun .and easy .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jehad o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huffof
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I am in love with turkey in genaral and this hotel add more love very good clean large and well furnish room , very nice breakfast nice and cooperate staff free shuttle buses to airport and to city center .while I was checking out I start thinking to come back and I am coming back In shaAllAH in march

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1948A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Wonderful hotel! It looks very new, beautiful decor inside and out; the room and bathroom are very clean, comfortable, everything is very well-thought to make your stay enjoyable. The staff is very polite. The hotel is very close to Ataturk airport, that's why we picked it as we had an overnight layover. But if you want to do some shopping and sightseeing, it is better to stay in the Old Town or other area, as there is nothing around this hotel (it is in textile district). Overall, I think it was a great value - we paid about $120/ night, breakfast for 2 included plus free WiFi. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.5 mi away
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
#446 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Europe
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Europe
#137 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Istanbul Mahmutbey
Clarion Hotel Istanbul Mahmutbey
#414 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Istanbul
3.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Istanbul Tekstilkent
0.5 mi away
Elite World Europe Hotel
Elite World Europe Hotel
#579 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retaj Royale Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retaj Royale Istanbul

Property: Retaj Royale Istanbul
Address: Evren Mahallesi Cami Yolu Caddesi No:1/A | Gunesli, Istanbul 34212 , Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #444 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Retaj Royale Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retaj Royale is conveniently located in the heart of Istanbul Business District of Güneşli area and major entertainment and shopping malls, 5 minutes’ drive from Atatürk international Airport and 5 minutes away from CNR Expo center. The air-conditioned modern spacious rooms at Retaj Istanbul offers satellite LED TV, mini bar, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Each has a work desk and a private bath with bath tub. Retaj Royale offers ZamZam restaurant covering both national and international cuisine. A state of art Ballroom and intimate boardrooms that cater for both different size of meetings, making this hotel the ideal Istanbul venue for business and personal events The hotel offers an array of Leisure facilities. Guests can enjoy work outs at the fully equipped modern health club, sauna, Turkish bath (Hammam) and indoor swimming pool. A scheduled free shuttle bus arranged by the hotel providing easy access to Istanbul’s historic sites, airport and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retaj Royale Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing